37 Reviews

The beauty of this recipe is in its simplicity, accompanied by the fact that it tastes absolutely fantastic!!! The garlic compliments the tang of the tomatoes perfectly. I did have to add some more water because the lentils just sucked them up, but besides that all the amounts given in the recipe are perfect! I had this in one bowl over "tortilla" chips made from chappatis for a scrumptious and satisfying dinner. Diana, thank you so much for this!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 20, 2002

This was really delicious. The lemon juice is the winning ingredient in this recipe. I enjoyed this for lunch this afternoon with low-fat yogurt and bread, thanks for sharing! BTW, I followed Anu's suggestion and added more water as the lentils really soaked up the water pretty quick!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 23, 2002

This was a quick and easy recipe that has a BIG flavor. I did not have any fresh tomatoes so I added a 16oz can of diced tomatoes along with the juices and it added even more flavor. I also added a little bit of basil and cumin and of course, crushed pepper but thats because I like it hot!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail11 September 02, 2002

I also had to resort to canned tomateoes, but still a great result. I served with wild rice and had a filling meal low in WW points (4). I will keep this one, and use fresh tomatoes next time!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne April 08, 2003

I do like lentils and tomatoes and this filled the bill. I did add some oregano and Italian seasoning and a dash of hot sauce. Good recipe to "tinker" with. Thanks Diana

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo April 03, 2003

I'd never eaten or cooked lentils before. This recipe was very easy to make and had a wonderful taste and aroma. I added a little fresh oregano just because I had some. Don't skip the lemon juice. Excellent!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in PA January 23, 2003

Great recipe! This was very different from my normal choices, and I was glad I tried it! It was a very tasty lunch. I really enjoyed the smell while it was cooking. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S in PA August 05, 2002

Yummmmm eeeee

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri Evans March 05, 2002

This is a fabulous recipe. It packs an amazing amount of flavor, especially given its simplicity. It also made the entire house smell incredible while cooking! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!! I did make just a few changes...added 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1 teaspoon cumin and used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, as it's all I had. Didn't need the salt due to the canned tomatoes. PERFECTION on a plate. And it's SO HEALTHY. What more can you ask for?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious May 19, 2010

I was shocked by how delicious this recipe turned out to be. I've never cooked lentils before, and I really can't say that I've ever eaten them before today, either. I reduced the garlic to three medium sized cloves, substituted a 15 oz. can of italian style diced tomatoes, and used 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock in place of the water. After reading the reviews, I decided to add a 1/2 cup of water to ensure the lentils weren't dry. Well, they were swimming, so I had to cook for an additional 10 minutes w/o the pot lid, and they became less soupy. User error. But, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern December 05, 2008
Lentils, garlic and tomatoes