Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentils, garlic and tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentils, garlic and tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      The beauty of this recipe is in its simplicity, accompanied by the fact that it tastes absolutely fantastic!!! The garlic compliments the tang of the tomatoes perfectly. I did have to add some more water because the lentils just sucked them up, but besides that all the amounts given in the recipe are perfect! I had this in one bowl over "tortilla" chips made from chappatis for a scrumptious and satisfying dinner. Diana, thank you so much for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This was really delicious. The lemon juice is the winning ingredient in this recipe. I enjoyed this for lunch this afternoon with low-fat yogurt and bread, thanks for sharing! BTW, I followed Anu's suggestion and added more water as the lentils really soaked up the water pretty quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This was a quick and easy recipe that has a BIG flavor. I did not have any fresh tomatoes so I added a 16oz can of diced tomatoes along with the juices and it added even more flavor. I also added a little bit of basil and cumin and of course, crushed pepper but thats because I like it hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      I also had to resort to canned tomateoes, but still a great result. I served with wild rice and had a filling meal low in WW points (4). I will keep this one, and use fresh tomatoes next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      I do like lentils and tomatoes and this filled the bill. I did add some oregano and Italian seasoning and a dash of hot sauce. Good recipe to "tinker" with. Thanks Diana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      I'd never eaten or cooked lentils before. This recipe was very easy to make and had a wonderful taste and aroma. I added a little fresh oregano just because I had some. Don't skip the lemon juice. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Great recipe! This was very different from my normal choices, and I was glad I tried it! It was a very tasty lunch. I really enjoyed the smell while it was cooking. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      Yummmmm eeeee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This is a fabulous recipe. It packs an amazing amount of flavor, especially given its simplicity. It also made the entire house smell incredible while cooking! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!! I did make just a few changes...added 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1 teaspoon cumin and used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, as it's all I had. Didn't need the salt due to the canned tomatoes. PERFECTION on a plate. And it's SO HEALTHY. What more can you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I was shocked by how delicious this recipe turned out to be. I've never cooked lentils before, and I really can't say that I've ever eaten them before today, either. I reduced the garlic to three medium sized cloves, substituted a 15 oz. can of italian style diced tomatoes, and used 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock in place of the water. After reading the reviews, I decided to add a 1/2 cup of water to ensure the lentils weren't dry. Well, they were swimming, so I had to cook for an additional 10 minutes w/o the pot lid, and they became less soupy. User error. But, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This is one of my favorite, easy, healthy recipies! When we have been eating out too much, I make these as a main dish, as a break from all the junk. I make a easy variation on this. When I make these, I use a 14.5 oz can of tomatoes. So far, I have used flavored tomatoes, the garlic oregano basil, diced with garlic of the sweet onion and garlic. I do not drain the tomatoes, but I only put 1 teaspoon of olive oil in for flavoring. For the garlic, I have sometimes substituted those frozen Trader Joes Garlic cubes, and I omit the lemon juice and salt as I have used flavored tomatoes. Sometimes I add various italian spices and/or red pepper flakes to chage the flavor. This recipie gave me the basic water/tomato/lentil ratio. Thanks for posting this recipie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      very good. but to bland for me so second time i added diced red pepper and red onion at time of the tomatos. and some fennel seed with the water and lentils.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      This recipe has wonderful flavor that is very unique for lentils. I have made several times and my lentils are always a bit dry but the flavor is so good that I keep going back. It could just be me, maybe I will add a little extra water next time. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      This is the first recipe I have tried from recipezaar.It is excellent.It is simple to make with a wonderful flavour. I was out of olive oil, so I used some oil I had with chilli peppers in it. I also used canned tomatoes. It was yummy! Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      Very good! I made this for a finicky eater, who ate every bite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Fantastic! I added spinach at the end of the cooking time and it was just that much better. When I first told hubby what I was making he was all hum-ho. After he finished eating though, he informed me that I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      What a great base for a wonderful lentil recipe! I made some modifications - no lemon juice, used canned diced tomatoes and added beef base to the water. I also used curry and dill to spice it up a little. Served it over brown rice for a healthy, delicious vegetarian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and added onions since some reviews said this was a little bland. It ended up being pretty good all by itself, slightly bland still, but I tried a few things to spice it up. I added some hot sauce, corn, and fresh cilantro (at the end) and it was excellent on tortilla chips as something of a salsa. I thought it might also be good to go a different route with oregano and some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. Either way, this is a good base recipe to play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      I have never made lentils before but surprisingly, we loved them (including my teenage sons). This recipe was awesome, I did follow the advice of some others. I added 1/2 teaspoon basil, 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/2 teaspoon crushed pepper. I also used canned tomatoes, I drained them into a measuring cup then added water to that for the liquid. I found it to be very flavorful and filling. My lentils were very firm though, is that normal? They still tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      I made this for a potluck and everybody in my hiking group really liked it. I liked how easy the ingredients were...I had everything in my pantry and didn't have to make a special trip to the store for this recipe. We had bought heirloom tomatoes at the Farmer's Market and I used fresh lemon juice from my own tree. When I adjusted the temperature of the stove burner down, it accidentally turned off without me realizing it so that meant I had to add an extra 10-15 minutes since it hadn't been on simmer the full time. I just kept checking periodically until the water had fully evaporated. (Otherwise, I suspect that the 30 minute timeframe would have been just about right.) I think the green lentils may have been a bit softer because of this, but I thought it was really delicious. In fact, it tasted even better than I expected. When everybody raved, I tried a bite and my reaction was, "Wow, this is really good!"

      I will definitely make this again for myself or a future event!

      P.S. If you find it is cooking too fast, make sure you've turned your heat down to the lowest possible setting while you simmer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentils, garlic and tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.3
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    20%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites