7 Reviews

I add cumin & allspice and we serve ours this way as well rather than a typical way with a tomato sauce. I do like to add a bit of brown sugar to the caramelized onions for the top. Reviewed for Everyday's a Holiday March 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 30, 2010

We all love this healthy and great-tasting dish! My Syrian brother-in-law first introduced it to us (I believe he called it m'jedereh) and we've been enjoying it ever since. Mike your version is just as good. I added some cumin and allspice as well, and served with greek yoghurt on the sides. For anyone who hasn't tried this recipe and is considering it - first of all, make it - it's delicious! Secondly, yes, you really need all that onion. ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 05, 2011

Delicious just the way we eat. I added some cumin and tumeric and a little butter. Thanks mike. Made for Ramadan Tag 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen August 22, 2009

Yum! Delicious and filling. Like previous reviewers, I added a little cumin, allspice, and cinnamon. I served with Greek yogurt. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 60

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 13, 2013

Loved it!!!
My Dad grew up in India and as a kid I remember him making similar dishes. As far as I can tell the only difference between his and this recipe is that he made the onions for the topping crispy. I made it as directed cutting it back to 4 servings for 2 of us. There is enough left for my lunch tomorrow and it's almost enough motivation to go to bed early so it will be tomorrow sooner. LOL. I didn't have any yougurt in the house so used Tzatziki. Scrumptious - people you have to make this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned March 11, 2012

This was super yummy. I added in cumin and turmeric, used a bit more salt and found the dish needed quite a bit more water as it cooked. I reduced the amount of oil, ao had to watch my onions quite carefully and they aybe didn't brown as much as you'd have liked, but still a fantastic side dish we both really enjoyed. I thought the tart yoghurt really worked well with the sweetness of the onion topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS June 08, 2011

This was great with collard greens and sauteed plantains! Made for ZWT 2011-Africa~! Thanks Mikekey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 27, 2011
Lentils and Rice With Caramelized Onions