Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentils and Rice (Koshary) (Egypt) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentils and Rice (Koshary) (Egypt)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2010

      I haven't made this yet, but other recipes I have seen have a spicy tomatoe sauce on top, then garnished with crisp fried onions. This seems like it would be better with the sauce. Maybe if I combined two recipes? hmmmmm....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      A nice side dish. I think it would be more traditional to include tomato sauce & pasta. It definitely needs something with a bolder flavor to go into or along with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I made this for dinner tonight. It was really good, but I had to double the water to cook the rice. I cooked the onion for much longer and because I used puy lentils, they also needed much longer cooking (than just the 5 minutes in step 3). I opted to use double the pepper and cumin and use chicken stock rather than water and salt. Don't get me wrong, the end result was excellent and I want to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is a tasty, healthy recipe. The only issue that I had is the specified amount of water was not nearly enough. I added two additional cups of water with the rice and the dish came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

    • on March 17, 2008

      Ok, but definitely not real Egyptian Koshary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I have actually used this recipe from my Fiance, and my kids really liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Really yummy! I added about 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe and it was great! It went really well with the stuffed grape leaves I made tody.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Very easy to make, and although it has a little heat it's not too spicy which is great for the kids. I served it with a side of warm tomato sauce watered down a bit to gravy consistency which could be added on top, or used to dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      This dish is great! I was a bit confused for a moment with the instructions. Step four says to add rice and salt, and continue to boil. I was not sure how long to continue boiling, before reducing the heat and covering. So, I went with about two minutes of boiling while stirring, then continued with step five. This seemed to work well for me. I also did use chicken broth, instead of water. Even with that one change, and my time "guesstimations", it came out perfect!We all LOVED this dish!I will make this again! Made for Zaar World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentils and Rice (Koshary) (Egypt)

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    73%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 151.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes