Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil-Veggie Soup (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil-Veggie Soup (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      We really enjoyed this healthy soup! I added some zucchini and even some cauliflour left over from a veggie tray. Added just a pinch of red pepper flakes and a pinch of kosher salt too based on ideas from other reviewers. My crock pot runs really hot, so on low 6 hours was just right. Gotta know your crock pot. Perfect on a cool day with some whole grain bread from the bakery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Maybe I'm not being fair giving this 3 stars. I guess it depends on what you want. This soup tasted *exactly* like Progresso Minestrone Soup, but with lentils. So it was more of an italian flavored vegetable soup with lentils, rather than a lentil soup with vegetables. If you want a tomatoey vegetable soup, this will fit the bill, but if you are looking for a traditional lentil soup, you will be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Very good! After reading all the reviews, I increased the seasonings and added some marinara sauce. I soaked the lentils over night, cooked everything on low for three hours then on high for 6. It filled the house with a lovely smell that every one commented on. I served it with some whole wheat bread and had the perfect meal for a rainy day. I recieved many compliments on it as well. Thanks for posting an easy and nutritious meal that even my one year old enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I followed the directions exactly expect that I added in mushrooms because I had to get rid of them. Overall, I found this soup bland even though there were a lot of aromatic and spices added. My house smelled wonderful, but it smelled like I was making minestrone soup. It was a great basic recipe and I could seeing it working well with a lot of different flavors and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

    • on November 27, 2012

      Great basic recipe. Since we aren't vegetarians, I used chicken broth and then added extra garlic and a few pinches of cayenne pepper. Going to make again very soon with the addition of leftover thanksgiving turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      Excellent, flavorful. I'm not a fan of regular lentil soup, so the addition of carrots, celery, & onion make it perfect on a cold autumn evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

    • on June 06, 2012

      I thought this was good and it was certainly easy. I swapped out some of the onion and celery for other veggies, to include peas, green beans, zucchini and yellow squash. I also added about 1/2 cup of tomato sauce (it was in the fridge and needed to be used). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      An easy, comforting soup on a cool, fall day! It made my house smell so wonderful and tasted just as good. My family said it was a little bland, but I thought it was fine the way it was. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      A healthy and wholesome soup that made a filling lunch along with side salad. For our tastes, it needed a good measure of salt and I threw in a couple shakes of red pepper flakes in addition to the fresh ground black pepper. Thanks and here's to our health :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Not flash, made it as directed and found it lacking in flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This was a really yummy and basic recipe that I'm sure lends itself well to all sorts of variations. I did not presoak the lentils and they came out just fine after 5 hours on high. I added more liquid as I like a "soupier" soup, and added a hefty bunch of salt before serving. I think you can quite safely sub whatever veggies you may have on hand here; next time I will likely add some green beans and maybe even a potato to make it more of a veggie soup with lentils. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      First time making soup in the crock pot - and this came out delish!! Will be making again and again! Thanks Vino Girl! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Easy to make, my lentils came out perfect (I used the plain old brown kind) without pre-soaking suggested by other. Makes a bunch and freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on December 07, 2009

      So good! This is exactly what I wanted. My dad makes a lentil soup with kielbasa, but I am now vegetarian. Didn't think to ask him for his recipe. This reminds me of home. Didn't need to soak the lentils. Left the skins on the carrots to keep the earthy flavor. Omitted celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      The soup was a bit bland so I would recomend a few pinches of chili powder or some drops of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I used split red lentils and left he soup cooking pretty much all day on low. Ended up with a hearty and tasty soup (although I'll be taking it up a notch or two next time), which both adults and kids liked. I'll be keeping this as a good basic recipe that can take lots of variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Yum yum! This is a great cold rainy day recipe. The lentils were nice and soft but not mushy, and the flavor is outstanding! I doubled the garlic, because I like garlic, and threw in some onion and garlic salt to taste at the end to liven it up. I also tossed in a hint of cumin, just to see what would happen, and it gave it a nice smoky flavor that my spice-loving SO really enjoyed. So, it's recommended as is, or it's easy to zip up to suit everyone's tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil-Veggie Soup (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.5
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    76%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 52.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites