44 Reviews

We really enjoyed this healthy soup! I added some zucchini and even some cauliflour left over from a veggie tray. Added just a pinch of red pepper flakes and a pinch of kosher salt too based on ideas from other reviewers. My crock pot runs really hot, so on low 6 hours was just right. Gotta know your crock pot. Perfect on a cool day with some whole grain bread from the bakery.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely November 07, 2010

Maybe I'm not being fair giving this 3 stars. I guess it depends on what you want. This soup tasted *exactly* like Progresso Minestrone Soup, but with lentils. So it was more of an italian flavored vegetable soup with lentils, rather than a lentil soup with vegetables. If you want a tomatoey vegetable soup, this will fit the bill, but if you are looking for a traditional lentil soup, you will be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soozaler February 03, 2011

Very good! After reading all the reviews, I increased the seasonings and added some marinara sauce. I soaked the lentils over night, cooked everything on low for three hours then on high for 6. It filled the house with a lovely smell that every one commented on. I served it with some whole wheat bread and had the perfect meal for a rainy day. I recieved many compliments on it as well. Thanks for posting an easy and nutritious meal that even my one year old enjoyed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama February 17, 2009

Easy to make, my lentils came out perfect (I used the plain old brown kind) without pre-soaking suggested by other. Makes a bunch and freezes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobafemme January 13, 2010

Mmmmmm...this really hit the spot today. My only changes were to cook it on the stove and added a dash of balsamic vinegar to the soup right before serving. Loved it! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 17, 2015

DELICIOUS! Followed exactly except A) tomatoes come in 28onces can in my part of the world, so used all B) in a 4.5 quart cooker, used 2 cubes of broth and filled water up to 1/2 inch of ledge in place of cans of broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka February 16, 2015

I followed the directions exactly expect that I added in mushrooms because I had to get rid of them. Overall, I found this soup bland even though there were a lot of aromatic and spices added. My house smelled wonderful, but it smelled like I was making minestrone soup. It was a great basic recipe and I could seeing it working well with a lot of different flavors and veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 December 09, 2013

Great basic recipe. Since we aren't vegetarians, I used chicken broth and then added extra garlic and a few pinches of cayenne pepper. Going to make again very soon with the addition of leftover thanksgiving turkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK November 27, 2012

Excellent, flavorful. I'm not a fan of regular lentil soup, so the addition of carrots, celery, & onion make it perfect on a cold autumn evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nycrichards November 07, 2012
Lentil-Veggie Soup (Crock Pot)