12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with Mix-a-lot, this needed a little water at the end of cooking to keep it at the right consistency. I made it in the morning and reheated it for dinner and it was delicious. Also took leftovers for lunch the following day and it warmed up great (everyone was stopping by my desk to see what smelled so good)!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly.lawver January 15, 2009

Really yummy! We made it with beet greens instead of spinach, since that was what we had on hand. I probably would use a bit less cayenne next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa on Summer August 16, 2009

This is fantastic! I might have increased the cayenne a bit, and I skipped the feta. I was really nervous about this recipe, I've only had mint as tea, in desserts, gum, or toothpaste. So all the mint with what looked like a small amount of familiar seasonings intimidated me. I mean I try new stuff a lot, but the mint just made me leery. Still I wanted to fix my spinach, and I do have a surplus of potatoes and onions. So looking at the positive reviews I pressed on. I am sooo glad I didn't put off trying this one. I think it's now my favorite lentil stew (not counting Indian daals). Easier to make than I expected. (oh I used 1 1/2 knorr vegetable bouillon cubes for the broth, it makes a wonderful rich broth full of flavor)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenCoquette July 31, 2009

Great savoury stew! I used frozen chopped spinach, which probably added a bit of liquid to the stew, so I didn't need to add any water. I upped the 3/4 teaspoons of spice to 1 ts and used the cayenne. Had to use dried mint (2 ts) instead of fresh, but the dish still turned out soo flavourful - I didn't add the feta as I felt it didn't need it. Thank you for sharing the recipe - this will definitely go into my lunch rotation!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee January 19, 2009

Have just finished preparing this for a light supper- so far it tastes really good , can't wait to eat it. It would be helpful to have suggestions as to what dishes would go well this. I'm preparing a salad of fennel, orange segments and avocado with a lemon dressing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judithky January 02, 2009

My dh said this was the best dish I prepared in months...I'm sure this was a backhanded compliment, but it received rave reviews at our house. I omitted the cayenne since we are not spicy people. We also omitted the feta cheese. I'm sure it would have been great with the feta, but I didn't have any on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luci D'Amico December 06, 2008

Yummy!!! We like lentils a lot but I never think to spice them up beyond onion and garlic. I used chard (which transformed orange lentils into pink lentils!), 2 tsp cumin, 1 1/2 tsp thyme. A great side with so much flavor -- I served it with Moroccan stew, #137530 (which can be easily done vegetarian). Thank you Blucoat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avocato February 09, 2009

I made this for my vegetarian friend and she loved it. I know it must have been good because we didn't have any leftovers. The only thing is that I had to add a little bit of water while waiting for the potatos and lentils to tenderize and keep the recipe stewy. Also, I wasn't sure when to add the thyme and cumin as it doesn't say in the recipe, so I just added them with the spinach. I only used about 1/2 tspn. of cumin and thyme. I did not add cayenne. This stew is extremely flavorful. No need for salt or pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mix-a-lot December 24, 2008

This was pleasantly delicious! I made b/c I was looking for a recipe to finish up the kale I had bought and had a lot of lentils in the pantry. Will freeze this into lunch size portions to bring to work. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 June 28, 2012

The feta totally makes the soup. Love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phoenixarising04 January 31, 2012
Lentil Stew With Spinach and Potatoes