Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Stew a La Fez Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Stew a La Fez

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2013

      Pretty good! I love fennel, so I just wish I could've tasted it more in this dish. Maybe it'd be best to go and throw in the whole fennel bulb next time. I like that you don't really need rice with this, as the potatoes are enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Excellent recipe. This is a great way to try fennel for the first time. I'll admit I started at step 2 and then I just added everything to the pot and cooked it 40 minutes. I didn't have the patience to cook in stages. :) And I used red pepper flakes. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I loved this, as I do most dahl recipes - it was hearty but left me feeling like I was eating something good for me. I added the enitre bulb of fennel and a few more cloves of garlic and it was perfect. A very picky vegan friend of mine tried it and loved it, as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This was really good! I thought it had great flavor and I liked the combo of the potatoes and fennel with the lentils. I followed another reviewer and doubled the broth. I also caramelized the onions. This is a satisfying meal in itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      This was good; I wasn't overlykeen on the potatoes with the lentils but it was yummy & the kids liked it a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was a very nice and filling stew, but it was a little on the spicy side. I appreciate food because my father likes it, and this was not so bad. I love the nutmeg in it though, as I always loved nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Very healthful and I thought this tasted terrific! Not sure whether cooking the lentils ahead made a difference, but I did so as per instructions. It had a dense, meaty texture and needed no additional water. Next time I might add more carrots for a sweeter taste. Instead of harissa, which I've never gotten around to buying yet, I used red pepper flakes. Otherwise, the seasoning was the same and perfect I thought! Thanks and good luck on the contest:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I agree this stew is simple, economical and delicious. I used about 2 cups of vegetable stock instead of the 1 called for in the recipe. I did happen to have harissa and would probably add more next time around as the stew was a little mild for my taste. The recipe is well written and the directions were easy to follow. Good luck in contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Stew a La Fez

    Serving Size: 1 (607 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.4
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    10%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 336.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 22.6 g
    90%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    fennel leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites