21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fantastic soup (I'm eating it while I type this). I am sick right now and wanted something a little more substantial to eat after being on a liquid diet all day. I just happened to have a bag of lentils but I had never made anything with lentils before so I wanted a basic recipe to start from. I went with what I had so I cut the celery, used frozen carrots added at the same time as the lentils, two 14 oz cans of vegetable broth, a container of (probably 1.5 cups) tomato soup i had in my fridge instead of the ketchup and canned plum tomatoes. The seasonings were basically the same, I did not have cumin but added paprika and cayenne pepper, and used some old white wine and lemon juice instead of sherry. I know it's annoying when someone writes a review but they changed half of the ingredients but I have faith that the original recipe was better than what I made so it DEFINITELY gets five stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Peaches November 22, 2009

This makes a huge amount of soup so off into the freezer with a couple of batches. I've found over the years lentils are relatively quick cooking and I started serving up after 40 minutes of simmering. I added a can of chick peas and 1 package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed, to the ingredients. Added a bit more curry than called for, and chose red wine over sherry (didn't have any). First class. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues March 13, 2008

Delicious and very easy to make! Upon serving, I did put hot sauce in it to give it more of a kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dina Korkovelos March 31, 2004

I have had this recipe in my cookbook FOREVER and finally decided to make it. I'm very pleased I did. I didn't have any cooking spirits on hand so I had to omit that. I also used red curry paste instead of powder, gave it an extra kick! Very good, looking forward to leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmbyDawn March 05, 2004

Very good lentil soup. A sweeter brighter taste than most lentil soup recipes. I used some of the local red wine instead of sherry. I made mine vegetarian. I doubt 99% of folks could tell the difference because the flavors added blend very well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valheru January 28, 2004

I found this soup to be very hearty and good. I did not have dry sherry, but I used dry red wine. The flavor was excellent. I am trying to cook more healthy foods, this one will be added to my make again list. Thank you very much for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan December 09, 2003

This was just fantastic. I used two cans of chicken broth, and one of vegetable broth. Added even MORE sherry than was called for. I also added about 4 extra cloves of garlic. A local Indian restaurant makes a similar soup, and this recipe was far, far better. I couldn't have been more pleased with this soup. It will be a staple at our house. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock October 25, 2003

This soup is absolute comfort food! Tonight I made my potato and zucchini curry with flatbreads, and I served this soup right before the meal. It was very appetizing and very tasty! It was great for tonight, because it is getting REALLY cold outside! At first the sherry seemed like it was going to be overwhelming, but after the long cook, it went away and just made for a wonderful flavor addition! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth so as to keep it a vegetarian meal. I didnt have any canned tomatoes on hand, so I just used some fresh organic tomatoes... and the soup was wonderful!!! I cant wait to have leftovers! Thanks evelyn!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary October 24, 2003

Left out the oil and the sherry, but otherwise made as stated and it's wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer November 16, 2009
Lentil Soup (truly good and easy - eat your lentils!)