Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Soup (truly good and easy - eat your lentils!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Soup (truly good and easy - eat your lentils!)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2009

      This is fantastic soup (I'm eating it while I type this). I am sick right now and wanted something a little more substantial to eat after being on a liquid diet all day. I just happened to have a bag of lentils but I had never made anything with lentils before so I wanted a basic recipe to start from. I went with what I had so I cut the celery, used frozen carrots added at the same time as the lentils, two 14 oz cans of vegetable broth, a container of (probably 1.5 cups) tomato soup i had in my fridge instead of the ketchup and canned plum tomatoes. The seasonings were basically the same, I did not have cumin but added paprika and cayenne pepper, and used some old white wine and lemon juice instead of sherry. I know it's annoying when someone writes a review but they changed half of the ingredients but I have faith that the original recipe was better than what I made so it DEFINITELY gets five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This makes a huge amount of soup so off into the freezer with a couple of batches. I've found over the years lentils are relatively quick cooking and I started serving up after 40 minutes of simmering. I added a can of chick peas and 1 package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed, to the ingredients. Added a bit more curry than called for, and chose red wine over sherry (didn't have any). First class. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      Delicious and very easy to make! Upon serving, I did put hot sauce in it to give it more of a kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      I have had this recipe in my cookbook FOREVER and finally decided to make it. I'm very pleased I did. I didn't have any cooking spirits on hand so I had to omit that. I also used red curry paste instead of powder, gave it an extra kick! Very good, looking forward to leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      Very good lentil soup. A sweeter brighter taste than most lentil soup recipes. I used some of the local red wine instead of sherry. I made mine vegetarian. I doubt 99% of folks could tell the difference because the flavors added blend very well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      I found this soup to be very hearty and good. I did not have dry sherry, but I used dry red wine. The flavor was excellent. I am trying to cook more healthy foods, this one will be added to my make again list. Thank you very much for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      This was just fantastic. I used two cans of chicken broth, and one of vegetable broth. Added even MORE sherry than was called for. I also added about 4 extra cloves of garlic. A local Indian restaurant makes a similar soup, and this recipe was far, far better. I couldn't have been more pleased with this soup. It will be a staple at our house. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      This soup is absolute comfort food! Tonight I made my potato and zucchini curry with flatbreads, and I served this soup right before the meal. It was very appetizing and very tasty! It was great for tonight, because it is getting REALLY cold outside! At first the sherry seemed like it was going to be overwhelming, but after the long cook, it went away and just made for a wonderful flavor addition! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth so as to keep it a vegetarian meal. I didnt have any canned tomatoes on hand, so I just used some fresh organic tomatoes... and the soup was wonderful!!! I cant wait to have leftovers! Thanks evelyn!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

    • on November 16, 2009

      Left out the oil and the sherry, but otherwise made as stated and it's wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      wonderful soup Loved the blend of spices in it - not too much, just a wonderful rich flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I adored this soup and thought it was wonderful and very flavoursome. Unfortunately though my husband and kids did not share my enthusiasm so I had to compromise with 4 stars. A great alternative to a traditional lentil soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Very, very nice lentil soup recipe. Thank you for posting this recipe. We made it without the curry only due to personal preference but the soup was terrific and healthful. It does freeze very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I didnt like this at all. I am sorry. To me lentils should be savory, not sweet, and this turned out way too sweet for me. I will not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Absolutely freaking fantastic! My significant other in general does not care for beans or lentils, but even HE loved this! I preferred it chunky to pureed and it did need more salt by our tastes. I didn't have any brown sugar, so put in just a couple of pinches of white sugar, and I used white wine instead of sherry for the same reason. This would be fantastic with ham or sausage in it as well, but its delightful without meat as well. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I loved it... my dh said it was to strong...my ds didn't eat much and said he didn't like it. My 20 month old loved it!!!!!! SO 50/50 here. I did everything exact except: -4 cups of chicken broth and 1 -extra cup of water. -used my own tomatoes from the garden. -used red wine instead of Sherry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Evelyn - I have made a few of your recipes and all of them are great! This is now my favorite lentil soup. I also use local red wine, (whatever is on hand) and red lentils. I use veg broth and don't usually have celery on hand, (hard to find in Turkey), but this recipe stands up well to improvisation. I probably make this soup once a week, year round, served up with crusty bread. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Loved this soup and have made it a few times. Doubled the carrots and celery and left out the ketchup (and didn't miss it). Have made with both sherry and burgundy wine (in a pinch) with equally good results. Haven't had a chance to freeze this, as it goes too quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This is a recipe I need more than 5 stars for. OUTSTANDING! It was resonably easy and very satisfying to make, filling up the kitchen with wonderful smells for the afternoon. Now, here's the thing...I'm a giant lentil soup fan and I promise this is the best Lentil soup I've ever had...BUT, my husband who heretofore consider lentils poison, he loved the soup too! I have a lentil convert, thank you so much for this! (oh, and my teenage boys loved it too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Can't believe that I didn't rate and review this sooner. I have made it several times, adding meat seperately as my husband can't eat a meal without meat! I have also given some frozen to my friends and heard raves and requests for the recipe. Thank you for a great winter soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Soup (truly good and easy - eat your lentils!)

    Serving Size: 1 (565 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    33%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1059.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes