11 Reviews

This was excellent I had no savory winter herbs so I used 1/2 Tbsp of parsley and 1/2 tsp oregano. I also added 1 Tbsp minced garlic, 3 stalks of celery chopped and added an extra potato. It was my first time using my pressure cooker and it turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbruce March 25, 2011

This is a really good recipe! Delicious ! I also didn't have savory so I added the parsley and oregano as per the previous person suggested. Really good ! I even added a fresh sliced jalapeno for spice..maybe next time just 1/2 though. I also added about a cup and 1/2 of roughly chopped cabbage and should have added another cup of liquid but it was still good, like a stew. This is only my 2nd attempt with the pressure cooker and looking forward to more recipes !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vonranzau May 28, 2012

I made this soup tonight and it was delicious. I do, however think 8 cups of liquids would be better, because otherwise this would be more like a stew rather than a soup. Also for personal preference I added, after I cooled and lifted the lid, one can of rotel tomatoes and a little shredded cabbage. Enjoyed this very much. I cooked it for 6 minutes as recipe directed, more would have made it mush. Maybe thats because I have and electric stove?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roedl November 13, 2015

I stuck to the ingredients and time however the lentils stuck to the bottom of the pressure cooker and was very mushy. I have been pressure ccoking for 20 years and a better alternative would be to use 1/2 cup of red lentils and 1/2 cup of green puy or brown lentils rather than 2 cups in total.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkhederlian October 27, 2015

DE-LISH!! This was SO yummy and so easy : ) Thanks blucoat for posting it and also a big thanks to lbruce for seasoning ideas without savory!! This is definitely going on the meal "rotation".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schlo5 June 11, 2013

Loved how quick and easy this was - the texture of the soup was just fantastic for a warming winter lunch. I used dried thyme and think that for my taste 1 tsp was a bit too much. I'm on a low iodine diet at the moment so had to leave out the parmesan. I'll be making it again for sure - and having it with the cheese on next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moyni November 28, 2012

I am always on the lookout for new pressure cooker recipes and I am really glad I found this one. Delicious and so easy. And the lentils don't cook to mush! I made as written, except for using all brown lentils (my store was out of red). Very filling. We are not vegetarians, but enjoy a meatless meal now and then. I also would consider adding some ham to this. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here January 23, 2010

This is sooooooo good! I modified it to make a very hearty and thick bowl of lentils. Didn't have any savory so I used twice as much thyme. I added 2 diced celery stalks and used 2 cups of lentils instead of 1 1/2. I cooked it for about 18 minutes because I like lentils super soft. I used quick release method to let the pressure come down I wouldn't do less than 10 or 12 minutes with this recipe. However, it tasted so good that it gets 5 stars in spite of the discrepancy in cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnesideup October 29, 2009

This is a good hearty soup. The title is a bit misleading as the total time for this recipe (prep, cooking, and cooldown) took me 40-45 minutes. I used 4 sprigs of fresh thyme and did not include savory. This was only my second meal in a PC and I found it to be easy and delicious. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 20, 2009

Loved this recipie. The thyme and bay leaves really compliment lentils well. Also, I have tried this dish substituting smoked paprika for the savory with great success. All I would add is more potato and maybe a tablespoon of vinegar. This would help keep the dish looking fresh if freezing or refrigerating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yahtzee August 02, 2009
Lentil Soup in 10 Minutes (Pressure Cooker)