17 Reviews

Very good soup. I used cumin instead of curry. Even though its been in the 90's this last week, I work in an office that is kept ice-box cold, so I enjoy soups for lunch. This soup is one that I will make often. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover August 25, 2013

This is a delightful soup; I really enjoyed all of the flavors. The curry and harissa really kicked it up a notch. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 22, 2013

This recipe is quick and easy to prepare, filling, and is full of flavor. I used part curry powder and part cumin for the spice. We like spicy food, and enjoyed it with quite a bit of hot pepper paste! Made for Mike and the Appliance Killers ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan August 19, 2013

This was a fast, tasty soup that was a change of pace from normal lentil soup. I had no idea that red lentils cook so much quicker! I used 1 large onion, and a mixture of carrots and celery. I also used the curry powder, which really gave this a nice, full flavor. It also smelled delicious while cooking. I didn't have harissa, so I used Sambal Oelek. I didn't know how much to use, so I added a teaspoon, which seemed to be enough. It really packed a lot of heat. I would say that this soup is thinner than I would have liked, and I think I would use less stock the next time. Thanks for sharing this tasty soup. Made for Spring PAC 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! April 09, 2013

I pretty much followed the recipe on down using your suggestions on the ingredients (also using vegetable stock) & the soup was wonderfully flavorful & satisfying! With ones this easy to make, I do believe that lentil soup will fit into my rotation of soups very nicely! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 04, 2012

So flavorful and simple red lentil soup! I have very hot berber harissa, so only 1 teaspoon did the trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare October 21, 2011

Mmm, this soup was so hearty, spicy and yummy! It had a lovely carrot-curry taste with lots of heat from the harissa paste (I used 1/2 ts). Just perfect on this cold autumn day! Due to WRC's comment, I only used 4 cups of stock, which made for a nice chunky soup. I think 5 would have been alright, though, too. I cant wait to make this again as it really warms you through. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this superb recipe with us, Boomie! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game Octobre 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 14, 2009

This soup was fast and simple, I'll certainly say that for it. The problems I had are that it turned out quite watery- usually lentil soups are thick and filling, but this one seemed to have too much liquid- and didn't have much flavor. Maybe it's because I didn't have Sambal Oelek, I just added tabasco. However, I had also used a lot of extra garlic and tripled the curry powder, plus some added cumin. I still had to sprinkle more curry powder into each bowlful. In short, this is not really to my taste, but lots of others obviously love it, so I'd never say it's a bad recipe! :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child June 06, 2008

Boy, is this soup good, its full of big bold flavours. Hot, spicy and fresh tasting. I used Eston lentils, thai red curry and habanaro sauce. This was quick and easy to make. It was tasty, filling and very, very satisfying. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 05, 2008

Tasty, simple and fast. Great combination. I used Garam Masala and hot pepper sauce as the seasonings and I also omitted the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 19, 2008
Lentil Soup from Ricardo