Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Soup from Ricardo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Soup from Ricardo

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2013

      Very good soup. I used cumin instead of curry. Even though its been in the 90's this last week, I work in an office that is kept ice-box cold, so I enjoy soups for lunch. This soup is one that I will make often. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      This is a delightful soup; I really enjoyed all of the flavors. The curry and harissa really kicked it up a notch. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      This recipe is quick and easy to prepare, filling, and is full of flavor. I used part curry powder and part cumin for the spice. We like spicy food, and enjoyed it with quite a bit of hot pepper paste! Made for Mike and the Appliance Killers ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      This was a fast, tasty soup that was a change of pace from normal lentil soup. I had no idea that red lentils cook so much quicker! I used 1 large onion, and a mixture of carrots and celery. I also used the curry powder, which really gave this a nice, full flavor. It also smelled delicious while cooking. I didn't have harissa, so I used Sambal Oelek. I didn't know how much to use, so I added a teaspoon, which seemed to be enough. It really packed a lot of heat. I would say that this soup is thinner than I would have liked, and I think I would use less stock the next time. Thanks for sharing this tasty soup. Made for Spring PAC 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I pretty much followed the recipe on down using your suggestions on the ingredients (also using vegetable stock) & the soup was wonderfully flavorful & satisfying! With ones this easy to make, I do believe that lentil soup will fit into my rotation of soups very nicely! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      So flavorful and simple red lentil soup! I have very hot berber harissa, so only 1 teaspoon did the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Mmm, this soup was so hearty, spicy and yummy! It had a lovely carrot-curry taste with lots of heat from the harissa paste (I used 1/2 ts). Just perfect on this cold autumn day! Due to WRC's comment, I only used 4 cups of stock, which made for a nice chunky soup. I think 5 would have been alright, though, too. I cant wait to make this again as it really warms you through. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this superb recipe with us, Boomie! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game Octobre 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      This soup was fast and simple, I'll certainly say that for it. The problems I had are that it turned out quite watery- usually lentil soups are thick and filling, but this one seemed to have too much liquid- and didn't have much flavor. Maybe it's because I didn't have Sambal Oelek, I just added tabasco. However, I had also used a lot of extra garlic and tripled the curry powder, plus some added cumin. I still had to sprinkle more curry powder into each bowlful. In short, this is not really to my taste, but lots of others obviously love it, so I'd never say it's a bad recipe! :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Boy, is this soup good, its full of big bold flavours. Hot, spicy and fresh tasting. I used Eston lentils, thai red curry and habanaro sauce. This was quick and easy to make. It was tasty, filling and very, very satisfying. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Tasty, simple and fast. Great combination. I used Garam Masala and hot pepper sauce as the seasonings and I also omitted the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      An easy, quick soup. I love curry! I cut it in half for myself and used roasted red chili paste (1/8 tsp - I was afraid of the heat, but next time will use 1/4 tsp.) Just a note: if you use brown or green lentils, the simmer time will be much longer, like 30-40 minutes. I usu. use red lentils anyways. Thanks, Boomette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Very good soup! I used the curry powder and I thought it had a very nice flavor. I will add more harissa next time. Hearty and healthy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is so good. I used vegetable broth and habanero hot sauce. I also used some curry powder from an Indian grocer. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      5 more stars for this grand soup. For the spices I used Ras-El-Hanout (Moroccan Spice Blend) which I love and always have on hand. I used veggie broth and got a lovely low fat, low sugar soup that was delicious and savory with a lovely Middle Eastern flavor. I red lentils pretty much dissolved into the soup. The best part is that it makes lots and I know that it will be even better tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      SIMPLE and FLAVORFUL and HEALTHY! I made 2 servings but only used 1 can of vegetable broth so it was nice and thick. My recipe for harissa has caraway, garlic, cayenne, cumin and salt so I used all of those. We enjoyed this with veggie melts for a nice Vegetarian dinner. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Smells AND tastes awesome! I used the curry powder and like the previous reviewer, I used the same spices to sub for the harissa. I let mine simmer for 20 minutes. Thanx for posting this. I love it and will make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Delicious,quick and easy lentil soup! Very flavorful. I made this today for supper and it was enjoyed by all! I used the curry powder, but did not have the harissa so I used a bit of cumin, cinnamon, and tabasco instead. I also used the vegetable stock option. Delightful -will make again! Thanks Boomette for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Soup from Ricardo

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.5
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    23%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 9.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 455.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites