14 Reviews

Due to Fijian limitations couldn't follow precisely, but it was great anyway. Used green lentils, chicken stock and 500g bacon shortcuts trimmed to slivers. Skipped the leek, subbed onion salt for onions just cos I felt too tired to deal with an onion! Skipped the ham hocks, I figured the bacon would be enough for us, as I wanted to keep the fat minimal. Threw in a heap of frozen mixed veggies plus a heap of frozen broccoli. Loved the idea of the grated potato! but had to skip the keilbasa - ridiculously expensive here, anything like that. I am simply reviewing, to record my interpretation. Just what we needed on this rainy winter day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU June 24, 2010

This was excellent. I had a mixture of red and du puys lentils on hand so I used them both. I used hamhocks and a ham bone and prepared the broth the day before so I could skim the fat. Didn't have any leeks so just used more onion and chopped it and the carrots and celery very very finely as I have eaters who don't want to see big chunks of vegetables in there soup. I did have to add more chicken broth just before reheating and serving. Served this to my Bookclub and they all wanted the recipe. This one goes into my permanent file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan2012 November 27, 2008

Where's the ten-star button? This is by far the best lentil soup I've ever eaten. In fact, I think it's perfect. It's thick and hearty, and flavored just right. I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't add the optional ingredients. It's going right into my "Perfection" cookbook. 10/30/06 Updated to add that I've made it in the pressure cooker, using the browning feature to cook the vegetables and then pressure cooking the soup for 15 minutes on high. It took me a total of 40 minutes start to finish, including prep time. WONDERFUL fall weeknight supper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 30, 2006

This Lentil Soup is absolutely delicious... it is definitely a keeper...I did not use the optional ingredients, and added the ham separately and defatted as you suggested ...thanks so much for sharing this recipe Mean Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP June 07, 2006

Yum...yum...yum! I have tried other lentil soup recipes, but this is my favorite. I did cook my hambone in the chicken broth first, then took out the bones and fat, reserving the meat pieces to put back in the soup at the end. I used red lentils. I did not use the bacon, nor have a leek, so I just threw all the chopped vegetables in the ham/ chicken stock with the lentils and spices and simmered for an hour (or maybe more since i wasn't really watching a clock). I used lemon juice for the acid and only added 1 tablespoon, because that seemed just right as i was tasting it. Thanks for a hearty, healthy dinner which I served with Dark Rye Bread (Dark Rye Bread (Dough Made in the Bread Machine)).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews April 27, 2006

I agree with PanNan- well deserving of 10 stars!! This soup is fabulous- thick and hearty. I started it the day before, making the stock with ham hocks, then refrigerating and skimming the fat off the stock. I doubled the recipe so I'd be sure to have some for the freezer.I used lemon juice as the acid and instead of the optional kielbasa and potatoes, I added a 12 oz. package of diced Hormel ham.Thanks, Mean, for another wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas January 17, 2006

This is a great lentil soup. I had a ham bone left over from Christmas dinner, so I used it in this recipe. This recipe is very tasty; it has a nice smoky, meaty flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't use the kielbasa, as my ham bone had about a pound of meat on it, which I just cut up and added to the soup. Great recipe. Thanks Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria January 04, 2006

Good lentil soup. DH will love it, it is a "guy" soup, with plenty of pork products. I used lardons, smoked side pork, smoked ham. Lots of veggies snuck in there too, but he will never see them, because he will be distracted with the pork. I would say the grated potato is optional, I used tiny dark green lentilles de Puy, which worked great and cooked fast, and homemade poultry stock. Recipe makes a ton-- but I think it will freeze well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha March 28, 2005

i had never made lentil soup before and never tasted any other than my italian grandmother's. this was very very good but i found that it tasted better the second day. the changes i had to make due to availability were sausage and veal instead of bacon and ham and i didnt have a bay leaf. it was excellent. i will make this again. thanks for the recipe. much tastier than my grandmother's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey March 23, 2005
Lentil Soup