Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2010

      Due to Fijian limitations couldn't follow precisely, but it was great anyway. Used green lentils, chicken stock and 500g bacon shortcuts trimmed to slivers. Skipped the leek, subbed onion salt for onions just cos I felt too tired to deal with an onion! Skipped the ham hocks, I figured the bacon would be enough for us, as I wanted to keep the fat minimal. Threw in a heap of frozen mixed veggies plus a heap of frozen broccoli. Loved the idea of the grated potato! but had to skip the keilbasa - ridiculously expensive here, anything like that. I am simply reviewing, to record my interpretation. Just what we needed on this rainy winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This was excellent. I had a mixture of red and du puys lentils on hand so I used them both. I used hamhocks and a ham bone and prepared the broth the day before so I could skim the fat. Didn't have any leeks so just used more onion and chopped it and the carrots and celery very very finely as I have eaters who don't want to see big chunks of vegetables in there soup. I did have to add more chicken broth just before reheating and serving. Served this to my Bookclub and they all wanted the recipe. This one goes into my permanent file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

    • on October 30, 2006

      Where's the ten-star button? This is by far the best lentil soup I've ever eaten. In fact, I think it's perfect. It's thick and hearty, and flavored just right. I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't add the optional ingredients. It's going right into my "Perfection" cookbook. 10/30/06 Updated to add that I've made it in the pressure cooker, using the browning feature to cook the vegetables and then pressure cooking the soup for 15 minutes on high. It took me a total of 40 minutes start to finish, including prep time. WONDERFUL fall weeknight supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      This Lentil Soup is absolutely delicious... it is definitely a keeper...I did not use the optional ingredients, and added the ham separately and defatted as you suggested ...thanks so much for sharing this recipe Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Yum...yum...yum! I have tried other lentil soup recipes, but this is my favorite. I did cook my hambone in the chicken broth first, then took out the bones and fat, reserving the meat pieces to put back in the soup at the end. I used red lentils. I did not use the bacon, nor have a leek, so I just threw all the chopped vegetables in the ham/ chicken stock with the lentils and spices and simmered for an hour (or maybe more since i wasn't really watching a clock). I used lemon juice for the acid and only added 1 tablespoon, because that seemed just right as i was tasting it. Thanks for a hearty, healthy dinner which I served with Dark Rye Bread (Dark Rye Bread (Dough Made in the Bread Machine)).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      I agree with PanNan- well deserving of 10 stars!! This soup is fabulous- thick and hearty. I started it the day before, making the stock with ham hocks, then refrigerating and skimming the fat off the stock. I doubled the recipe so I'd be sure to have some for the freezer.I used lemon juice as the acid and instead of the optional kielbasa and potatoes, I added a 12 oz. package of diced Hormel ham.Thanks, Mean, for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      This is a great lentil soup. I had a ham bone left over from Christmas dinner, so I used it in this recipe. This recipe is very tasty; it has a nice smoky, meaty flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't use the kielbasa, as my ham bone had about a pound of meat on it, which I just cut up and added to the soup. Great recipe. Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Good lentil soup. DH will love it, it is a "guy" soup, with plenty of pork products. I used lardons, smoked side pork, smoked ham. Lots of veggies snuck in there too, but he will never see them, because he will be distracted with the pork. I would say the grated potato is optional, I used tiny dark green lentilles de Puy, which worked great and cooked fast, and homemade poultry stock. Recipe makes a ton-- but I think it will freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      i had never made lentil soup before and never tasted any other than my italian grandmother's. this was very very good but i found that it tasted better the second day. the changes i had to make due to availability were sausage and veal instead of bacon and ham and i didnt have a bay leaf. it was excellent. i will make this again. thanks for the recipe. much tastier than my grandmother's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      To me it was pretty good. But, I took some to my wife's workplace where she shared it with a co-worker, and they found it fabulous. My 32 year old son dropped in for lunch, and had three huge bowls of it, and he is very picky, had never had lentils. He is sold on it now, as he cooks some, and wants to do it for his livein girlfriend. He always teases her saying he can cook better than she. I told him she is using reverse psychology (sp?) on him. It was good, and quite easy to make. I recommend it, especially if you have young children. I think they would like it. I forgot to put the Thyme in it, oh well. But I did add some Fideo Mediano pasta to it about 10 minutes before shutting it off. Did the soup last night, and have about 1 cup left. Need I say more? Thanks Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      Thank you MEAN CHEF for posting my all time favorite soup recipe. It is almost exactly as mine, except that I leave out the thyme (might try the next time)and sour with sherry wine vinegar. Also, because I am German and live here, I can put "original" sausage called Mettwuerstchen into it instead of kielbasa. They are uncooked lightly smoked 4oz. sausages that are heated in the soup until done and give it an additional hearty flavour. When I was a child I would never eat this soup and called it "ugly black soup", so nowadays I always make certain that it looks nicer by sprinkling some fresh finely chopped italian parsley on each serving. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      This is a great and hearty cold-weather soup. I love lentils and the addition of pork in various forms made it rich and substantial. I like that the soup doesn't rely solely on the pork products for flavor. There's tasty and healthy veggies in there too that balance it out. Definitely a meal in a bowl that will fill you up and keep you warm during the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      Terrific soup. I didn't add the ham hock (don't eat ham), used part veggie and part chicken stock, used 4-5 shallots in place of one of the onions, chose white vinegar as the acid, and omitted the carrots since I don't like them cooked. We (including my very picky younger brother who is staying with us this week) LOVED THIS! I served it with some Indian flatbread and roasted broccoli. I can't believe it was so easy (very fast with the use of my cuisinart), so fast (took about an hour, total!) and so amazing. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (4260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.8
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    41%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 21.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 601.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes