Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2003

      This soup was home-y and delish. I didn't have any parsley on hand, but we didn't miss it one bit. I used a smoked ham hock, added more garlic and didn't put in the spinach. Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      This is a great soup. I love lentil soup and my childhood neighbor from Greece used to make the best. This is the next best thing. Next time I will add some chopped frozen spinach, (1/2 a box) like she used to do. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I've made and froze this many times. It's a family favorite. I use dried parsley, about 2 T. I've successfully used ham bones, ham hocks and smoked turkey wings for the meat. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This was a phenomenal recipe! I used a leftover ham bone from Christmas dinner. I first rinsed off all sweet glaze and then boiled the bone in water for about two hours. I then added salt, pepper, cayenne, and quite a bit of garlic powder to make a very flavorful stock that tasted great just all on its own. I then added the rest of the ingredients, an additional can of chicken stock, and then cooked everything else for another couple of hours. In the last 45 minutes, I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and a package of chopped spinach. This was BY FAR the most tasty soup that we have ever cooked or tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This is a rustic comfort soup, chock full of fiber, veggies, vitamins, and great taste. I made it pretty much as directed, although my total simmering time was about 1 hour, as opposed to the 2 hours stated. Look on your package of lentils for guidance - my package said "no soaking required and 30 minutes of cooking time". It may take longer than the package directs, but I doubt you'll need 2 hours at the stove. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I make lentils many different ways. This is one of my new favorites!!! Thanks for sharing such a great anytime recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is great even without the ham. I threw in a couple slices of canadian bacon, but I think I'll just leave those out too next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      DH really loves lentil soup and this is the only recipe that I have found that I like too. He was a happy camper when he came home last night. I made as posted except cut the recipe in half. He's having some for lunch today and the rest is frozen for later. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Wow! It was great. I used sliced ham instead of a ham hock. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of tinned. It is deffo a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wonderful! We loved this healthy, good-for-you, hearty, delicious soup!!!! It was filled with veggies and fiber; very flavorful; filling; and warm and comforting. We found this to taste great at first serving, with leftovers that were almost even better; and it freezes very well. I definitely recommened what another reviewer recommended - instead of two quarts water, make this with one quart water, and one quart vegetable broth - it really adds flavor to this soup!!! I also added about five cloves of garlic, seasoning salt, several dashes of hot sauce, and some cayanne pepper, among other additions. Adding lots of extras to this soup really heightened the flavor, so I would recommend using this recipes as a base, then experimenting and adding lots of interesting spices and additions (this is why I gave it four stars instead of five - it is a great base, but does need a little something extra!). My final product was excellent, using this recipe as a base, and then being a creative chef! This is a dish that I will be making again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This lentil soup recipe has become the base for most lentil soups made in our household. We really love it. It's nourishing and comforting, and very forgiving of any veggies I find laying in the back of the crisper and want to throw in. I always put in one quart vegetable broth and one quart water rather than two quarts water. Also, I usually add a 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of a 15-ounce can, some diced potatoes, a full handful of Italian seasoning, and a smoked ham hock for a nice, smoky flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Waste of ingredients. Not very interesting. Ended up needing to oversalt to compensate for bland tast. Better off making basic lentils with a fat balsamic. Save your fresh basil for a souffle topping and your oregano for a meat side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This is a winner! My husband begged me not to make it ("I don't like lentils!"). As usual, I wisely ignored him :) And as usual, he was glad I did. We both really enjoyed it. I used cooked diced bacon instead of ham, and I used 6 cloves of roasted garlic instead of one plain one. We love garlic! I also added a little olive oil to give it a little extra smoothness. The red wine vinegar is what makes this extra special. We served it with some crusty bread with roasted garic spread. Very hearty and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      the photo looked so enticing i couldnt wait for the colder weather, so in 80 degree temp i made a big pot of this soup. It was worth it. I had to make a few changes as I try to use organic ingredients but had no organic ham or ham bone. I am sure that changes the flavor but it is good that you can make a sub with organic chicken broth (what i used)and it was still fantastic. I was worried it wouldnt have any flavor but all I used was 1 can plus 3/4 of another can of the broth. This was so easy to put together. After adding the vinegar I was concerned it would be overpowering as there was a strong vinegar smell in the kitchen but it blended right into the other flavors of the soup very well. I love the addition of the tomatoes to this. The texture was soft and the flavor was very smooth. Added a nice piece of crusty bread; will be making this often over the winter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      This was very good, though I omitted salt and pepper completely. The fresher your lentils, the softer the skins will get. Adding salt at the beginning also makes the skins turn out tougher. The ham hock was enough salt for us. If you want additional salt, add it at the end of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This was awesome! I was a little worried at first when I tasted it before adding the vinegar and tomatos, but after adding those things it all came together beautifully. The only thing I added was about 2 cups of chopped leftover ham. My family aren't big legumes fans, but they gobbled this down! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      I made this and came to one of two conclusions- i either did it wrong or i don't like lentils. I LOVED the flavor but the lentil skins gave it an unpleasant texture for me. Everyone else seemed to like it so it must be me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      O.K. So i found this here recipe and thought what could it hurt.Instead of water i used the base from the ham i made the previous night. I didn't have parsley on hand or basil for that matter so i took a chance. I omitted the red wine vinegar but added three shakes of worcestershire sauce and 4 medium potatoes. For the sake of it i threw in about a cup of cubed ham. Wow!!! Ok so it's not exactly the recipe shown but it set the foundation for what i made. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      This was the first time I've made lentil soup BUT it certainly won't be the last as it was delish! I used a very meaty ham bone, threw in a couple of sliced leeks that I needed to use up, a bay leaf & grated in a small potato as a thickener. Thanx DDW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 63.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    11%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes