11 Reviews

I loved this salad. I made it for lunch today using green lentils. I ate half of the salad myself! It is so easy, yet so flavorful. I didn't change a thing and will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 06, 2014

this was a simple salad I liked it although I think this would be extra good with sprouted lentils to go along with the crunch from the jalapenos and bite from the vinegar. Made for ZWT 7 for Saucy Silverados

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen June 10, 2011

Very good! I used canned lentils, and added a bit of spinach and light feta for a super fast lunch to take to work. I let it sit overnight in the fridge and it was great. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO October 24, 2009

Five stars for flavor and simplicily!We eat this quite often and it is an excellent diet food! Thank you for submitting this recipe, Charlotte J!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theresa.pochatko October 14, 2008

Excellent simple recipe for lentils. I had little orange/red lentils on hand so it was a different texture than if I'd used brown (more mushy) but I really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MC Baker June 30, 2008

Delicious! My daughter and I love Ethiopian food and we loved this salad. I think that this salad is a good base for adding other Ethiopian spices (basil, cumin, coriander, etc.) as well as tomato, onion and other vegetables. I was afraid that 2 jalapenos would be too much but it was perfect. I did add a pinch of sugar to cut the tartness a little. Thank you for sharing this wonderful salad. *Made for ZWT4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 28, 2008

This was astounding! The taste was out of this world. I didn't have jalapeno peppers on hand, so I used cayenne pepper. Wow! Gave it a good taste with nice heat. I cheated and used canned lentils as its very, very hot here today and I didn't want to use the stove. We had this for supper and there was lots left over, and quite a bit of the vinigrette left. I opened a can of chick peas and added it to the lentils. That's tomorrow's supper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany June 23, 2007

This is simple, healthy, and delicious. I took the advice of a fellow reviewer and added chopped sweet onion. Also, I felt like it needed to be brightened up, so I also added lemon juice, cilantro and roasted red pepper. Maybe I changed the recipe too much to fairly review this, but for me it was a good basic recipe that I felt you can add whatever you'd like to. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight September 02, 2006

Interesting. Super fast and easy, even super cheap for a great full of fiber recipe. I think the garlic and jalapenos make it. We had it as a side to BBQ ribs with a broccoli salad. I would make it again, maybe trying different types of lentils too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 02, 2006

Great love the garlic in this simple to make and very alive with flavor salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 01, 2006
Lentil Salad (Yemiser Selatta)