14 Reviews

Excellent. I tried the Yemenite version. I omitted the parsley/cilantro because I didn't have any and reduced the olive oil considerably, only used a couple tablespoons of tahini to further reduce calories and added a chopped carrot to the lentils as they cooked for some vitamin A. I also didn't try to mash it up (which I figured would be hard to do since the lentils weren't very soft even after 30 minutes). BF really liked it too. Leftovers were great for lunch at work the next day. I'd definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend March 20, 2015

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe. It is my absolute favorite way to eat lentils and one of my favorite all time recipes. It makes a big batch and I am happy to eat lunches from it for a week. My husband likes it warmed. (I add the tomatoes right before eating since it lasts longer in the fridge without them.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom February 13, 2014

Very nice! I used the Yemenite version using tahini, fresh lemons- with their zest. Delicious and filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) January 19, 2010

This one is a winner I adapted as follows: No Bay leaf I used about 1/2 a cup of fresh chopped parsley and cilantro. 2 parts parsley and one part cilantro I used regular onion and not a red onion, and two tomatoes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chasidar November 05, 2009

I made this Ethiopian style and added shredded carrots. I found it didn't need any additional oil after the saute. We ate this on tortilla chips like a dip, yummy! Next up, tahini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmore October 14, 2009

Super simple, quick and delicious. I made the Ethiopian version for lunch today. Thanks so much for posting - aren't lentils great!?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea July 28, 2009

This was healthy, easy and super tasty. I used the cilantro with 1/4 tsp of cumin and 1/4 tsp of oregano, a 16oz box of chery tomatoes halved, fetta and kalamta olives. Sooo good! Thanks for posting, I plan on making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan May 21, 2009

Super salad! It's tasty and filling and quite healthy. I cut the amount of oil in half to cut some fat. The dressing was delicious and complimented the salad well. I sort of did the Greek variation by just adding the crumbled feta. I'd like to try the Ethiopian variation next. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 01, 2008

I chose to make this recipe because I was having vegetarians visiting, and because it looked delicious. What I didn't expect was that the carnivores would find it equally wonderful. It makes a lot, which was a good thing because there wasn't a speck left-over. I made the Greek version, omitting the spearmint (didn't have any), and we all added some extra salt to our servings. My cheese-loving niece says that she is always up for more feta than a recipe calls for, but that can always be added as desired. My company gave this salad an enthusiastic 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 24, 2008

I made this the original way and enjoyed it, and then added the Greek variation, and it was good too! I did use the lemon juice and added just a little balsamic vinegar too. thanks Susie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 24, 2008
Lentil Salad, 4 Traditional Variations