Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Salad, 4 Traditional Variations Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Salad, 4 Traditional Variations

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2014

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe. It is my absolute favorite way to eat lentils and one of my favorite all time recipes. It makes a big batch and I am happy to eat lunches from it for a week. My husband likes it warmed. (I add the tomatoes right before eating since it lasts longer in the fridge without them.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Very nice! I used the Yemenite version using tahini, fresh lemons- with their zest. Delicious and filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This one is a winner I adapted as follows: No Bay leaf I used about 1/2 a cup of fresh chopped parsley and cilantro. 2 parts parsley and one part cilantro I used regular onion and not a red onion, and two tomatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I made this Ethiopian style and added shredded carrots. I found it didn't need any additional oil after the saute. We ate this on tortilla chips like a dip, yummy! Next up, tahini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Super simple, quick and delicious. I made the Ethiopian version for lunch today. Thanks so much for posting - aren't lentils great!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This was healthy, easy and super tasty. I used the cilantro with 1/4 tsp of cumin and 1/4 tsp of oregano, a 16oz box of chery tomatoes halved, fetta and kalamta olives. Sooo good! Thanks for posting, I plan on making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Super salad! It's tasty and filling and quite healthy. I cut the amount of oil in half to cut some fat. The dressing was delicious and complimented the salad well. I sort of did the Greek variation by just adding the crumbled feta. I'd like to try the Ethiopian variation next. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      I chose to make this recipe because I was having vegetarians visiting, and because it looked delicious. What I didn't expect was that the carnivores would find it equally wonderful. It makes a lot, which was a good thing because there wasn't a speck left-over. I made the Greek version, omitting the spearmint (didn't have any), and we all added some extra salt to our servings. My cheese-loving niece says that she is always up for more feta than a recipe calls for, but that can always be added as desired. My company gave this salad an enthusiastic 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      I made this the original way and enjoyed it, and then added the Greek variation, and it was good too! I did use the lemon juice and added just a little balsamic vinegar too. thanks Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This makes for some yummy salads. I made half the original way, and half the Yemenite way. Dh liked the former better, I liked the latter better. But both were very good. I used just a pinch of salt, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, and 2 large tomatoes. I did not puree the second version, so it would still be like a salad, rather than a dip. I also decided to halve the parsley in that version and not add the extra lemon. We love lemon, but it was already quite tart with the tahini. Thanks, Susiecat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      DH wants to give this a 5+. I made the Greek variation and it was lovely. The recipe was reduced by half and I got 4 nice servings. I used fresh tomatoes and mint from the garden. The lentils were cooked in about 20 to 30 minutes in the rice cooker. Made for *ZWT 4 *

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I made the salad without any of the variations. I really liked the flavour. The cumin and garlic are definitely not optional in my opinion. Very nice salad, I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I halved this and regret it! I made the Greek Variation and loved the mint in this salad. Next time, I'll make the full version and have a hard time picking a variation. Super recipe, Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Salad, 4 Traditional Variations

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    45%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 406.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 23.9 g
    95%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes