8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and healthy, they only thing I changed was instead of using Saltine crackers, I ground up some Herb-flavored crackers. My husband and I made them for a church dinner and they were a hit. I give it 5 stars blessings, Linda in Mckinney,TX.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolphin7 May 02, 2008

Great when you dont have a lot in the fridge! I made it with garlic and onions to give it extra flavour (though it was still slightly bland) then had it with salad - very nice, quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckygstrings December 02, 2007

I'm a student, a rower and a vegetarian - i.e. I need lots of protein and have no scales and no money. This was a cheap protein packed recipe that was easy to make, albeit it not very flavoursome. I tried it with onion and cumin but possibly underestimated the amount of cumin needed so the next time I just ate with HP sauce hehe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo L January 29, 2007

The only thing I changed about this was to add cumin & garlic because there was no flavor as it was. I don't think it was anything like meatloaf, as another person commented, but like a black bean burger. I don't know if I would make it again. It was easy & quick to make though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mindi January 12, 2007

To add a little more flavor, saute half an onion and add salt and pepper to mix. Otherwise a simple and filling recipe. Great for a snack or a grab and go breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enolamm January 07, 2007

I thought these vegetarian patties were a lot like meatloaf. I'm not a big fan of meatloaf, so that wasn't really a selling point for me, but it might be for some people. I do think you could dress them up with any seasoning you might use for meatloaf: a bit of ketchup, garlic, or oregano, perhaps. I am not rating with stars because I used packaged dried breadcrumbs instead of the saltines: I'd give my version 4 stars, but the saltines would probably give it a more interesting texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nose July 06, 2005

I love this recipe. My mom used to make them when I was a kid. It's one of my favorites. I'm making it for my infant son to try today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goddss6 November 14, 2004

I used chick peas rather than lentils and it turned out great!! Even my boyfriend who hates anything without meat enjoyed them. Definitely a keeper, great summer recipe for vegetarians at a BBQ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey Nelson February 24, 2004
Lentil Patties