Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Oat Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Oat Loaf

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2009

      This loaf is really versatile. I started by making it as written, which is good. But then instead of just onions, I added the traditional mirepoix mixture (carrots, celery & onions) and that really made the flavors pop! I also use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, and I've used many different kinds of cheeses and its always good. The other addition that I really enjoy is a big tablespoon of dijon mustard to the mix. sometimes I'll use all catsup in place of the tomato sauce - and that's good too. I've served this with brown gravy or just with catsup. Last night I made it and didn't have any oats, so substituted 1 cup cooked brown rice and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good. I had no difficulty doubling this recipe and cooking an extra 15 minutes. I also used a round casserole dish. I omitted the cheese and used only 1 egg for the double batch. The loaf was firm and easy to slice. I would probably want to add more veggies next time, definitely more onion and garlic, maybe some zucchini or carrot too. Good basic recipe though and one I'll probably make again. Thank you very much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      Delicious! I must admit that I was wary about trying this recipe but I had the staple ingredients on hand so I decided to give it a go. I'm glad I did as it turned out really well. I used ketchup but next time I think I'll do what another reviewer did and add some Dijon mustard. I also added a ketchup/balsamic vinegar/Worcestershire glaze on top. The leftovers were great in a sandwich the next day. I will make this again for sure--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      We really enjoyed this. It has lots of flavors, and with all of the suggested variations, there are a lot of options to shake things up periodically. It also did not dry out, which is the aspect of loaves that usually has me avoiding them. Mine did come out a little softer; I think I may need to mash my lentils a little bit more next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      This was a delicious meal! Having just started eating vegan, I substituted the cheese with soycheese, and didn't use an egg but instead additional tomato sauce for moisture. I used a large onion and garlic salt rather than powder, and it was really good. Next time I plan to add red and green pepper to 'bulk' it up a little, and will cook in a smaller pan (I used a round glass Pyrex rather than shorter baking pan, so it was a round quiche rather than a loaf...still delish tho!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Excellent! Added 4 cloves of minced garlic and used BBQ sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes, mushroom gravy and salad. I'm looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This turned out very well. My 2 year old loved it and so did my husband who was dreading the meal. I had made another lentil loaf a year ago that wasn't so good. I cooked green lentils and drained them well. I also didn't measure the spaghetti sauce but just spooned it in until it was wet enough. This wasn't very smart as it turned out too dry and we had to use ketchup on top as we were eating it. So, note to self: don't drain the lentils too much or at least save some of the cooking water if making from scratch or use more sauce. Getting it wet just enough to hold together wasn't smart. But that was my mistake not the recipes. Will make this recipe again. Love the fact you can vary it with different spices and different lentils. I cooked this in a glass 8x8 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This recipe must be moron proof. I used red lentils, and, of course, did not cook enough. So I pureed some canned pintos to equal 2 cups. I also forgot the cheese and used traditional meatloaf glaze (ketchup, brown sugar, worcestershire sauce) in place of the tomato sauce. I also put extra glaze on top. This makes awesome sandwiches on a baguette with American cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I've made it twice now - once as written (with the tomato sauce) and a second time with bbq sauce and brown rice (ran out of oats!). I have to say that I really enjoyed the bbq sauce version (with a dash of cayenne pepper) - it gave the recipe a little extra kick. My non-vegetarian husband is also happily munching away at this meal. A great fall meal that satisfies my nostalgic cravings for meatloaf in a vegetarian way. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

    • on February 03, 2009

      I loved this recipe because the seasonings make it very tasty. I am not a fan of bland recipes. It takes a really good recipe to please me and not cause me to tweak it to my liking. I didn't have rolled oats. So, I used cooked steel cut oats. I think the rolled would've been better to make a more firm loaf. I omitted the egg and used the full 1/2 teaspoon of seasoning salt. Awesomeness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Very good! I cooked 1 cup dry lentils and ended up with 1 full cup and 1 scant cup cooked. By the time I got to the add tomato sauce step, it was pretty much already to the form the loaf state, so I only added a couple of tablespoons of ketchup. Next time, I will cook 1 cup + 2 tablespoons of lentils, use quick oats and saute the onion and any other veggies I might add in. I can think of a lot of things that would be good in this. The old fashioned oats gave it a rougher texture. It was surprisingly very similar to regular beef meat-loaf. I did use the egg and cheese options. I just patted it into a small ceramic baking dish. Jean #7, thanks for a wonderful recipe--it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This was quite tasty! I made it with more lentils and oats than called for, and used a round casserole dish because all my bread pans were full. It was very tasty, and filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Oat Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.5
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    30%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 48.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 224.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites