Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Chili

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2008

      This was a great lentil chili! I added in carrots and a little green onion. I also used cayenne pepper instead of the chili powder. And I also added in some cooked chicken because my boyfriend said he needed to have some kind of meat with his meal. Loved the recipe and will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      this really is great. i used black beans in place of corn (because that's what i had on hand, but i am sure corn would be good in there, too) and garam masala instead of allspice. plus, i added some cayenne pepper and picante sauce in order to liven it up. taste explosion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Wonderful recipe. My husband LOVED it. Its very hearty... and it makes a lot!!! I added some other beans to it. It was delicious. We will make it again and again. Thanks. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      This is an easy, very tasty recipe! I did make a few changes (just to use up what I had on hand). I used a can of petite diced tomatoes, one can of low sodium black beans, drained, a cup of diced carrots, one celery stalk, chopped, some mushrooms, and doubled the chicken stock. I sauteed the onion, pepper, carrots and celery in a little olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I didn't add the corn, although I think it would be really good, and I didn't use the tomato sauce. I think this would have been a very good dish even without my changes, and will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      This was an excellent lentil chili. I gave it 4 stars because I altered the recipe slightly. I saut?ed the chopped onions and green pepper in some olive oil before adding the remaining ingredients. I upped the lentils to 1 cup and used about 2 cups more chicken broth. I simmered the mixture for 25 minutes and then added the tomato sauce. I did not add corn but I think it would be good with it. I also added salt and pepper to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      easy. yummy. approved by the picky family. personally i found it very tomato-y so next time i will add some sugar to offset that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      My husband and I love lentils. This chili was very tasty and full of yummy good stuff. Had to cook longer than stated time so the lentils would get tender. Thanks for a super healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Really quick, easy, tasty and healthy: what more could you ask for! DD and I think we'll try it as a thick pasta sauce as well. I used dried red lentils, water & chicken boullion cube, diced tomatoes + yellow pepper, and I added 1 cup of chickpeas/garbanzo beans at the end with the corn and tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Great recipe! I used green lentils which took a little longer to cook, but it was well worth it. Served with light sour cream and a little light mozzerella. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Yum! Made this last night, my family LOVED it! My son ate his entire bowl, even my DD ate hers! I ended up omitting the corn, allspice and green pepper. I used dried minced onion, and I did NOT use the entire can of tomato sauce - it seemed like it would be too runny for us. One last note, I used beef flavored broth. Can't wait to have this again! Thanks Carianne!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This is just plain good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Delicious and the lentils replace the meat. I did saute the onion and peppers till soft and then added the rest of the ingredients also added a tsp of brown sugar. This in a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I used veg broth, 2 small cans tomatoes, 1/2 cup salsa, omitted tomato sauce/corn/allspice, added 1 can kidney beans and herbs de provence. This was just as good as my regular chili (and healthier because there's no red meat)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      this was pretty awesome. i used low sodium chicken broth, and added carrots instead of the green pepper. i also only used half the chili powder, though i think i'm going to use the full amount next time. the result was delicious! it did take a bit longer than the directions state.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I can't believe how great this was! I changed the recipe quite a bit because I was missing an onion and green pepper. I used a small can of green chilies and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. The spices as listed worked well. We grated pepper jack cheese on top. This was quick easy and cheap. Next time we will double it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      i added a fair bit of spice and some chickpeas to this chili. it was very tasty, but i found that it took a while longer for the lentils to soften than the recipe claims.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This is good and simple. IT has nice flavor right away! I can't wait till tomorrow to try it, I bet the flavors will be even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This is the first time I've cooked with Lentils, and I was a bit skeptical that my family would eat it and also enjoy the chili. Needless to say, my picky family ate the whole recipe, and even asked me to bookmark this page so that I can make it for dinner again. It really is fast, delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was good, especially the second day. I did feel that it needed to cook a little longer. I only added 1 tsp of chili powder, because my DD would be eating this and she does not like spicy food. Adding a dollup of sour cream for garnish was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Good taste. I only added 1/2 tablespoon of chili powder. I only had cumin seeds so I used 1/2 teaspoon of those. I also added a can of red kidney beans. Our corn comes in 12 ounce cans so I added 2 of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.2
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    15%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 728.6 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites