14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Will definitely be in my "Best of 2011" Cookbook! Easy to make and lots of bold flavor. The only change I made was to add in some red wine :-) The leftovers are just as good or better. I buy epazote at Penzey's and thought 2 tsp. was plenty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen May 11, 2011

This was so good! They ment it when Paula said it makes quite a bit. I used an entire bag of lentils because I was lacking self control, and it turned out amazing! I froze half and were eating the other half for lunches and dinner.

My only complaint on this recipe is the directions. Was I supposed to be sauteing the spices that weren't listed in the directions with the onions and garlic? Because of this I "free form jazzed" quite a bit of this recipe but it still turned out divine! Will not be making any other chili!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broke student December 30, 2010

This is a pretty good recipe. By the looks of the spices involved, I knew I would have to add/improvise, but thats OK, everybody's taste is different. For the chili powder, I used part regular, part chipotle powder, and an extra tsp of cayenne. I also added oregano and coriander. In addition to the can of diced tomatoes, I added a can of hot jabanero rotel, some chopped mushrooms, 2 chopped jalapenos and chopped green pepper. I skipped the epazote as I don't have any. I will look into it however, next time I go to the health food store. I used a whole bag of lentils, plus added a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans. I topped it with mexi-blend cheese, lt. sr. cream, chopped green onions and cilantro. VERY YUMMY! All this barely fit in my pot - it made a ton. Plenty left over to freeze. I'll definately make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blissful74 March 10, 2009

This was very good. I wanted to make Chili and I was out of Chili beans and Kidney beans and didn't want to run to the store because it's freezing rain out and the roads are icy. Anyway, this saved the day! I just loved the flavor and consistency. I did not have any epazote (not even sure what that is) so I didn't add that. Even so, the chili turned out very good. Thanks, PaulaG, for the great healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook February 09, 2009

OH -- this was GOOD. I have not had much experience with lentils, and thought we could be having a LARGE pot of turkey soup! Looked again after the lid had been on about 15 minutes, and saw the CHANGE in consistency ! Not having "epazote", but had store managers scratching their heads -- I used a few tsp. of Penzey's oregano. I had some of PaulaG's green chile powder,and added only a tad of salt and pepper to the bowl, topped with grated cheddar. DH and I had 2 bowls each -- lots left for another meal. Had cornbread to round out. Thanks for a scrumptious new chili recipe, Paula. The DDs will be making this soon !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney January 28, 2008

When I made it, I made the mistake of using a 28 oz can instead of a 14 1/2 oz can - so the lentil chili was more soup-thin than chili-thick, so I added a cup of barley. That was a bit too much; but it's quite filling and really tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca Downey January 21, 2008

We love lentils! This was an experiment for DH and I since we've never had lentils before. I modified the cooking method a bit, browned the turkey, garlic and onions in a dutch oven, then threw that in my crockpot. Brought the next set of ingredients to a boil in the same dutch oven, then added that to the crockpot and put on high for 2 hours. Add my seasonings, then turned on low to cool enough for us to eat. Sooo tasty and pretty darn healthy too! You weren't kidding that this makes a lot too...enough for dinner tonight, 2 lunches tomorrow and 2 more servings after that!! Will definitely make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend January 15, 2008

I used ground venison instead of turkey. Also, I had no epazote, I just used more red pepper and chili powder. Garnished with a bit of cheddar and green onions. This was good initially - after an overnight stay in the refrigerator, it was truly great! This is so healthy, and so much better tasting than the traditional kidney bean based chilis. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen January 12, 2008

My husband made this today, here's his substitutions because it's what we had--2 cans vegetable broth, 1/2 of the chili powder, no epazote, no green onions or cheese! It was still fantastic!!! Served with cornbread and a salad. Will try it exactly like the recipe after a shopping trip. Thank you so much Paula. Will make this often!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bottlewasher December 28, 2007

Thank you so much! I had never in my life made chili and I have to tell you that this was by far the best chili I have had in a LONG time! My husband and I loved it. It was a great way to use up all those lentils I had in the pantry. Instead of the canned tomatoes I used a fresh tomato and instead of the tomato sauce I used a Hispanic spicy tomato sauce called El Pato, which gave it an extra kick. We enjoyed this dish so much I’m sending the recipe to my mother, sister and mother-in-law. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ely T September 21, 2007
Lentil Chili