Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Chili

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2011

      Will definitely be in my "Best of 2011" Cookbook! Easy to make and lots of bold flavor. The only change I made was to add in some red wine :-) The leftovers are just as good or better. I buy epazote at Penzey's and thought 2 tsp. was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This was so good! They ment it when Paula said it makes quite a bit. I used an entire bag of lentils because I was lacking self control, and it turned out amazing! I froze half and were eating the other half for lunches and dinner.

      My only complaint on this recipe is the directions. Was I supposed to be sauteing the spices that weren't listed in the directions with the onions and garlic? Because of this I "free form jazzed" quite a bit of this recipe but it still turned out divine! Will not be making any other chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This is a pretty good recipe. By the looks of the spices involved, I knew I would have to add/improvise, but thats OK, everybody's taste is different. For the chili powder, I used part regular, part chipotle powder, and an extra tsp of cayenne. I also added oregano and coriander. In addition to the can of diced tomatoes, I added a can of hot jabanero rotel, some chopped mushrooms, 2 chopped jalapenos and chopped green pepper. I skipped the epazote as I don't have any. I will look into it however, next time I go to the health food store. I used a whole bag of lentils, plus added a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans. I topped it with mexi-blend cheese, lt. sr. cream, chopped green onions and cilantro. VERY YUMMY! All this barely fit in my pot - it made a ton. Plenty left over to freeze. I'll definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This was very good. I wanted to make Chili and I was out of Chili beans and Kidney beans and didn't want to run to the store because it's freezing rain out and the roads are icy. Anyway, this saved the day! I just loved the flavor and consistency. I did not have any epazote (not even sure what that is) so I didn't add that. Even so, the chili turned out very good. Thanks, PaulaG, for the great healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      OH -- this was GOOD. I have not had much experience with lentils, and thought we could be having a LARGE pot of turkey soup! Looked again after the lid had been on about 15 minutes, and saw the CHANGE in consistency ! Not having "epazote", but had store managers scratching their heads -- I used a few tsp. of Penzey's oregano. I had some of PaulaG's green chile powder,and added only a tad of salt and pepper to the bowl, topped with grated cheddar. DH and I had 2 bowls each -- lots left for another meal. Had cornbread to round out. Thanks for a scrumptious new chili recipe, Paula. The DDs will be making this soon !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      When I made it, I made the mistake of using a 28 oz can instead of a 14 1/2 oz can - so the lentil chili was more soup-thin than chili-thick, so I added a cup of barley. That was a bit too much; but it's quite filling and really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      We love lentils! This was an experiment for DH and I since we've never had lentils before. I modified the cooking method a bit, browned the turkey, garlic and onions in a dutch oven, then threw that in my crockpot. Brought the next set of ingredients to a boil in the same dutch oven, then added that to the crockpot and put on high for 2 hours. Add my seasonings, then turned on low to cool enough for us to eat. Sooo tasty and pretty darn healthy too! You weren't kidding that this makes a lot too...enough for dinner tonight, 2 lunches tomorrow and 2 more servings after that!! Will definitely make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I used ground venison instead of turkey. Also, I had no epazote, I just used more red pepper and chili powder. Garnished with a bit of cheddar and green onions. This was good initially - after an overnight stay in the refrigerator, it was truly great! This is so healthy, and so much better tasting than the traditional kidney bean based chilis. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      My husband made this today, here's his substitutions because it's what we had--2 cans vegetable broth, 1/2 of the chili powder, no epazote, no green onions or cheese! It was still fantastic!!! Served with cornbread and a salad. Will try it exactly like the recipe after a shopping trip. Thank you so much Paula. Will make this often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Thank you so much! I had never in my life made chili and I have to tell you that this was by far the best chili I have had in a LONG time! My husband and I loved it. It was a great way to use up all those lentils I had in the pantry. Instead of the canned tomatoes I used a fresh tomato and instead of the tomato sauce I used a Hispanic spicy tomato sauce called El Pato, which gave it an extra kick. We enjoyed this dish so much I’m sending the recipe to my mother, sister and mother-in-law. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Very good chili. Easy to make and mouthwatering smell when it cooked. Didn't have epazote (to be honest, I don't even know what it is or where to look for it), but I added one tablespoon hot mustard at the end of cooking. Perfect! The day I made it we had it just as it was, no toppings, no extra's, it was a good dinner! It makes a lot and it's sure good to have the rest as supply in the freezer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      We absolutely loved this! I've only been making chili for the last few months, trying out different recipes and tweaking each one here and there, but this is the first one that felt like true comfort food, like the chili I grew up eating. My husband gave it the truest compliment he could; he didn't season it at all, didn't even add shredded cheese or tortilla chips to it like he always does to chili! It was perfect just by itself. I did not put in the epazote, since I did not have time to go out and look for it, but it didn't seem to matter. This will be my new standby; thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      WOW - this will be my permanent chili recipe - thanks so much. I don't have epazote and don't know where I could get it. I left out the red pepper flakes but added 2 cans of spicy V8 I was trying to use up. I cooked it 1 hour as it didn't seem done after 30-40 minutes. Also, was better the second day. Nice and hearty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Hi Paula, this was a pretty tasty alternative your regular beef and beans chilli. I had some ground chicken to use up so subbed that in, and I'm glad I made a special trip to the Latin grocer for epazote because it really makes this something special. I've got the leftovers in the freezer for next week. Thanks for a good one Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Poultry Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.1
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    17%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 874.2 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 16.6 g
    66%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites