Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil Barley Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Barley Stew

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2009

      Wow! Very good stew. I changed it bit, from vegetarian to a meat stew. Browned the beef and used beef stock instead, but as is this would still be a 5 star rating. Like another reviewer here, I did have to simmer this closer to 2 hours to soften the lentils. Love the cumin/brown sugar/cinnamon twist. I make many different lentil soups, but this is now one of our top 3. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Just made this in the pressure cooker, took only 15 minutes to cook! Tried a mouthful and it was too hot, but gooooooood. Waiting impatiently for this to cool, and might top it with some grated cheese. Everything tastes better with cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      My husband really enjoyed this, especially because of the cinnamon! Mahalo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This was very tasty indeed, but it took way longer than 45 min. for the lentils to cook properly (more like 1 hr. 15 min) and I had to keep on adding broth to keep it from burning. I left out the cinnamon and parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      I decided to try this in the slowcooker,it came out very tasty-I prepared steps 1-4 and then transfered it all+the rest of ingredients to the "cooker" in the evening&stuck in fridge,started to cook on low the next morning as I left for work and in the evening it ready.Husband & I liked it, kids didn't :( Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      Such a nice, warming dish to have on a cold winter day. And healthy too! Like Chia, I added a bit more heat, but very much enjoyed this. Thanks, BM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      I just love lentil soups and salads. This legume is so versitile but has a wonderful earthy flavor all its own. This recipe really makes the best of those qualities and takes lentil soup in a new direction. In the midst of the Zaar World Tour so I only made 1/2 a batch, quite regrettable as I would have enjoyed this again and again. I used half the suggested oil and added a pinch of cinnamon to the soup and otherwise prepared as directed. Quite a bit of liquid evaporated after 30 minutes so I added an additional 1/2 cup of vegetable stock. Sooo good and comforting. Thanks Bunny Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      A hearty, nicely seasoned stew...My tomatoes were not very juicy, so I added quite a bit of water. My end result was more like a casserole than a soup, but still good. Tomatoes with cinnamon is a new combo for me, so thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      this was very good, comfort food. i had a cup of mixed lentils from whole foods and some barley to use up so this was perfect. i used extra cumin and added some cayenne . the cinnamon stick was a nice addition. this is the kind of stew that tastes even better the next day, a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Made this last night with homemeade buns (#71373) and what a delightful meal. I didn't add the cinnamon since I was out. I also halved the recipe and that worked well. I had to keep adding water to keep it a bit soupy as it simmered. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Barley Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.8
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    18%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 41.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 15.6 g
    62%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites