10 Reviews

Wow! Very good stew. I changed it bit, from vegetarian to a meat stew. Browned the beef and used beef stock instead, but as is this would still be a 5 star rating. Like another reviewer here, I did have to simmer this closer to 2 hours to soften the lentils. Love the cumin/brown sugar/cinnamon twist. I make many different lentil soups, but this is now one of our top 3. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HesterX May 04, 2009

Just made this in the pressure cooker, took only 15 minutes to cook! Tried a mouthful and it was too hot, but gooooooood. Waiting impatiently for this to cool, and might top it with some grated cheese. Everything tastes better with cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikala April 30, 2008

My husband really enjoyed this, especially because of the cinnamon! Mahalo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavagal April 11, 2008

This was very tasty indeed, but it took way longer than 45 min. for the lentils to cook properly (more like 1 hr. 15 min) and I had to keep on adding broth to keep it from burning. I left out the cinnamon and parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 305256 August 03, 2006

I decided to try this in the slowcooker,it came out very tasty-I prepared steps 1-4 and then transfered it all+the rest of ingredients to the "cooker" in the evening&stuck in fridge,started to cook on low the next morning as I left for work and in the evening it ready.Husband & I liked it, kids didn't :( Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becki in Israel December 20, 2005

Such a nice, warming dish to have on a cold winter day. And healthy too! Like Chia, I added a bit more heat, but very much enjoyed this. Thanks, BM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate December 10, 2005

I just love lentil soups and salads. This legume is so versitile but has a wonderful earthy flavor all its own. This recipe really makes the best of those qualities and takes lentil soup in a new direction. In the midst of the Zaar World Tour so I only made 1/2 a batch, quite regrettable as I would have enjoyed this again and again. I used half the suggested oil and added a pinch of cinnamon to the soup and otherwise prepared as directed. Quite a bit of liquid evaporated after 30 minutes so I added an additional 1/2 cup of vegetable stock. Sooo good and comforting. Thanks Bunny Mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 07, 2005

A hearty, nicely seasoned stew...My tomatoes were not very juicy, so I added quite a bit of water. My end result was more like a casserole than a soup, but still good. Tomatoes with cinnamon is a new combo for me, so thanks for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin October 23, 2005

this was very good, comfort food. i had a cup of mixed lentils from whole foods and some barley to use up so this was perfect. i used extra cumin and added some cayenne . the cinnamon stick was a nice addition. this is the kind of stew that tastes even better the next day, a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 18, 2005

Made this last night with homemeade buns (#71373) and what a delightful meal. I didn't add the cinnamon since I was out. I also halved the recipe and that worked well. I had to keep adding water to keep it a bit soupy as it simmered. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Star April 13, 2005
Lentil Barley Stew