59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was phenomenal, and got rave reviews from my boyfriend, father, and stepmom. Followed recipe exactly except for omitted celery (personal preference). Used andouille sausage and a mixture of 1/2 red lentils and 1/2 green. Completely forgot the cider vinegar at the end. Didn't need salt or anything - thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick December 31, 2012

I wasn't nearly as impressed with this soup as I had expected to be. For as much as was in it, there was surprisingly little flavor. It did get better after a full day in the fridge, but I probably will not make it again unless I add dramatically more spice to perk it up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel September 18, 2010

This was tasty, and good for you. Mine needed more liquid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom September 14, 2010

Loved this so much! It was easy and fast to make. I didn't feel like having any rice so eliminated the brown rice but it was still very yummy. I made half of the serving size and no problems at all. I got basil and pesto smoked chicken sausages from Trader Joe's. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy_Housewife July 12, 2006

Another winner, e/a! We have a dear elderly neighbor who is very ill, and about all he enjoys these days is a good bowl of soup. I'm always trying to find new recipes to vary his simple diet, and this one was a huge hit. So much nutrition packed into each bowl---very important when an invalid can't eat much! His wife said, "Mmm--make that again!" I will!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante July 09, 2014

Even though we're in the full heat of summer, I was craving a simple, healthy soup. This recipe totally fit the bill. The only changes I made was to add some chopped mushroom and had to substitute a little cilantro for the parsley. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 08, 2014

Great! I added extra water, didn't have any rice. Used venison kielbasa for the sausage. Next time I'll use rice, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky March 25, 2014

This recipe was wonderful! I did it in the crockpot, and did have to keep my eye on it and stir and add extra broth. I make homemade vegetable broth so I just kept adding as necessary. My husband love it as well. This recipe made enough to freeze a gallon ziplock full of it. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelley_hepler_7775378 January 20, 2014

A good soup. I did make a few changes, mainly just due to what I had available and to use up some frozen vegetables. No celery and only used 4 cups of vegetable broth and used water for the rest. Added some frozen peas and corn that needed used up. Also, as others have said, with the existing directions it is very thick. I ended up adding an additional 3 cups of water to thin it out for my preference.<br/><br/>It makes a larger batch than I anticipated. I'm single and cook only for myself and I ended up freezing about half the batch because I know there is no way I could finish the entire thing before I got tired of eating the same thing over and over or before it went bad. But freezing is fine, I have soup for next week or the week after

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALH December 09, 2013

I have to admit I was kinda surprised at how delicious this was! My 13 year old asked for soup with brown rice in it and so I made this. I didn't have any carrots but added in some frozen peas towards the end of cooking. I also added some extra broth towards the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW September 06, 2013
Lentil and Brown Rice Soup