Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentil and Brown Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil and Brown Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      This was phenomenal, and got rave reviews from my boyfriend, father, and stepmom. Followed recipe exactly except for omitted celery (personal preference). Used andouille sausage and a mixture of 1/2 red lentils and 1/2 green. Completely forgot the cider vinegar at the end. Didn't need salt or anything - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was tasty, and good for you. Mine needed more liquid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Loved this so much! It was easy and fast to make. I didn't feel like having any rice so eliminated the brown rice but it was still very yummy. I made half of the serving size and no problems at all. I got basil and pesto smoked chicken sausages from Trader Joe's. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Great! I added extra water, didn't have any rice. Used venison kielbasa for the sausage. Next time I'll use rice, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      This recipe was wonderful! I did it in the crockpot, and did have to keep my eye on it and stir and add extra broth. I make homemade vegetable broth so I just kept adding as necessary. My husband love it as well. This recipe made enough to freeze a gallon ziplock full of it. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      A good soup. I did make a few changes, mainly just due to what I had available and to use up some frozen vegetables. No celery and only used 4 cups of vegetable broth and used water for the rest. Added some frozen peas and corn that needed used up. Also, as others have said, with the existing directions it is very thick. I ended up adding an additional 3 cups of water to thin it out for my preference.<br/><br/>It makes a larger batch than I anticipated. I'm single and cook only for myself and I ended up freezing about half the batch because I know there is no way I could finish the entire thing before I got tired of eating the same thing over and over or before it went bad. But freezing is fine, I have soup for next week or the week after

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I have to admit I was kinda surprised at how delicious this was! My 13 year old asked for soup with brown rice in it and so I made this. I didn't have any carrots but added in some frozen peas towards the end of cooking. I also added some extra broth towards the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Made half a recipe and turned out great. Mine was much thicker than the picture and had to add more water. Did add kielbasa at the end just to warm through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This was an excellent soup and quick to make. Even my finicky kids enjoyed it. I added more liquid (water) and didn't have the cider. This will be one of our new fall/winter comfort foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Tasty soup. Was hearty and filling. I definitely recommend adding the sausage. I almost forgot the cider vinegar, added in after we had the first bowl and I think it really did contribute to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Excellent!! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe! I make it a few times a year!


      FYI the nutrition information is listing a 2 cup serving! If you're counting calories you're probably eating a one cup serving and you can cut that calorie count in half!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Excellent. Everyone in my family loved it. I was glad to get to use brown rice--I'm trying to use more of it in my family's diet. 1/2012 I had thrown half of it in the freezer--just got it out last night and it tastes great! In fact, I couldn't remember why I had frozen half of it (sometimes I throw it in the freezer if it's not being eaten quickly, as in maybe I didn't like it that much....) but this was SO good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This soup was good. I didn't add the sausage and we think it would have been better with it. It took me about an hour to prepare and an hour to cook. I also needed to add more broth/water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Delicious! I make 8 cups of chicken stock and add 3-4 more cups of water. My latest batch had andouille sausage and it rocked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      I wasn't nearly as impressed with this soup as I had expected to be. For as much as was in it, there was surprisingly little flavor. It did get better after a full day in the fridge, but I probably will not make it again unless I add dramatically more spice to perk it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I used 8 cups of chicken broth, and split red lentils. It was more of a porridge than a soup, but tasty nonetheless. Might add water to individual portions when reheating. Also added a pinch of curry and omitted the tomatoes. Very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      I thought this was okay, but the other 6 did not like it at all. I gave the leftovers to my parents (who like lentil soup) and they really enjoyed this. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      lovely hearty soup! I used chicken broth and turkey sausage and had a few frozen green peas I need to use so threw them in for the last 5 minutes. Very hearty and very filling we just need a cup for lunch!! Lovely flavours! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Hubby and I really like this recipe. It's my go to recipe when I don't have any meat on hand. It's very filling and we serve it with sweet homemade cornbread. Yum! I have tried making it with and without cider vinegar. We could not STAND the taste of the cider vinegar....we may just be really sensitive to that taste. So I omit that ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil and Brown Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.6
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    37%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 665.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 19.0 g
    76%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites