54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I,ve made this recipe several times now and its Wonderful.Its really got that wonderful Melt in the mouth Texture.For variation i,ve added some finely grated Leomon rind and sprinkled the biscuits with finely chopped pecans just presed into the tops prior to baking.

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl May 21, 2002

I had planned on making these last Christmas to put in gift baskets and never got around to it. Today I've been doing some baking and just felt like shortbread. These definitely are melt in the mouth morsels, and they will be going in this years gift baskets!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 25, 2002

Lennie, These cookies are truly the best! So easy to make...I baked up a double batch for the cookie tray, and only had about half left when I put the tray together, LOL. I dipped half the batch (half way up) in melted semi-sweet chocolate.....WOW! They looked beautiful and tasted fantastic! Thanks so much for posting it. Oh, btw, all my cookie sheets have a matte finish, so I lined the sheet with tin foil (shiny side up), and that seemed to work out just fine....and no pan to wash ;)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 December 23, 2002

Shortbread is my absolute favorite!! This was very easy to make, anything I can make completly in my food processer is an automatic 5 stars! These melt in your mouth, so good with a cup of tea. I added some finely chopped pecans to part of the batch, and loved them. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol September 17, 2002

Lennie, I can sum up this recipe in one word--WOW! The shortbread "mixed-up" and "baked-up" beautufully! The result a melt in your mouth cookie.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC December 10, 2002

Oh my! You bite into these and they just melt in your mouth. These have to be the BEST shortbread cookies ever! I made the double batch (this is a very easy recipe), and I put Christmas colored decorations on top before baking. These will make a pretty addition to the Christmas cookie platter. Thanks Lennie, this recipe will get used often!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz December 04, 2002

Excellent shortbread recipe. I also made a batch of my old whipped shortbread recipe. They are quite similar yet different -- if that makes sense! Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 November 10, 2002

Wonderful Shortbread! I couldn't use my food processor as it was not working, so I used my kitchenaid mixmaster - they turned out great! Very easy to make and the dough was very easy to roll into balls. I too added some sprinkles to the top. A delicious, soft, buttery shortbread! Thank-you for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert November 05, 2003

Perfect! Has a nice buttery flavor and sandy texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 October 13, 2003

I love this recipe. These shortbread cookies just melt in your mouth, they're fabulous. Thanks for this recipe Lennie!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CardaMom October 07, 2003
Lennie's Special Shortbread