Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lennie's Special Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lennie's Special Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2002

      I,ve made this recipe several times now and its Wonderful.Its really got that wonderful Melt in the mouth Texture.For variation i,ve added some finely grated Leomon rind and sprinkled the biscuits with finely chopped pecans just presed into the tops prior to baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      I had planned on making these last Christmas to put in gift baskets and never got around to it. Today I've been doing some baking and just felt like shortbread. These definitely are melt in the mouth morsels, and they will be going in this years gift baskets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Lennie, These cookies are truly the best! So easy to make...I baked up a double batch for the cookie tray, and only had about half left when I put the tray together, LOL. I dipped half the batch (half way up) in melted semi-sweet chocolate.....WOW! They looked beautiful and tasted fantastic! Thanks so much for posting it. Oh, btw, all my cookie sheets have a matte finish, so I lined the sheet with tin foil (shiny side up), and that seemed to work out just fine....and no pan to wash ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      Shortbread is my absolute favorite!! This was very easy to make, anything I can make completly in my food processer is an automatic 5 stars! These melt in your mouth, so good with a cup of tea. I added some finely chopped pecans to part of the batch, and loved them. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      Lennie, I can sum up this recipe in one word--WOW! The shortbread "mixed-up" and "baked-up" beautufully! The result a melt in your mouth cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      Oh my! You bite into these and they just melt in your mouth. These have to be the BEST shortbread cookies ever! I made the double batch (this is a very easy recipe), and I put Christmas colored decorations on top before baking. These will make a pretty addition to the Christmas cookie platter. Thanks Lennie, this recipe will get used often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      Excellent shortbread recipe. I also made a batch of my old whipped shortbread recipe. They are quite similar yet different -- if that makes sense! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Wonderful Shortbread! I couldn't use my food processor as it was not working, so I used my kitchenaid mixmaster - they turned out great! Very easy to make and the dough was very easy to roll into balls. I too added some sprinkles to the top. A delicious, soft, buttery shortbread! Thank-you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Perfect! Has a nice buttery flavor and sandy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      I love this recipe. These shortbread cookies just melt in your mouth, they're fabulous. Thanks for this recipe Lennie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      I loveeeee these!! Shortbread is some of our favorite stuff -- so delicious with either coffee or tea. My hubby is going out of town on business so I baked these up for him to take along with him and boy, is he a happy boy! The only shiny baking sheets I have are insulated and I made the first two sheets on these and it took over 19 minutes and never really did begin to brown :( soooo... I changed over to my dark sheets and they cooked in 13 minutes and were picture perfect. The insulated cookie sheets are in our Salvation Army boxes ready to go :) Thanks again so very much for this absolutely perfect recipe!! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      A light melt-in-your-mouth cookie! Simply delectable. Not too sweet. Made several batches to give away to family and friends.

      I added chocolate chips to the first batch for a work colleague with a sweet tooth, then simply used various holiday-themed sprinkles on the other cookie batches to make them really festive and special; packaged them in clear plastic stemmed drink glasses, overwrapped with clear cling wrap for a really elegant presentation.
      Lennie, thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Lennie, these are "melt-in-your-mouth" yummy! I made the mistake of tasting the dough before baking (which didn't taste like much at all) and I worried that the cookies would be bland! Not so! I shaped the dough into 1 inch balls and then used small cookie stamps dipped in confectioners' sugar. I sprinkled most the cookies with red and green sugar....a couple I just used colored sprinkles. The ones with sugar tasted great but I really didn't care for the ones with just the sprinkles...I don't think these cookies are overly sweet and need that bit of sugar on top. I got a little over 40 cookies and needed 9-10 minutes bake time. Thanks for sharing...everyone really loved these and they will be on all future cookie trays!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Wow, melt in your mouth shortbread. I made these for a cookie exchange and they were a hit. The family was complaining I only saved a dozen for them, so ended up making another batch. Thanks for posting Lennie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Never made shortbread before, but all the great reviews convinced me to give it a try. This will be a permanent addition to my holiday recipes! Thank you, Lennie! These were so easy and so rich! just super with a cup of tea or coffee! I'm hoarding the ones that were left after the goodies were parceled out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      This has got to be the perfect shortbread cookie. The texture is unbelievable. Easy recipe too. Me and hubby were blown away by how good they were. Thank you so very much. Gibblet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Another perfect recipe by Lennie!! I have tried dozens of shortbread recipes but have not been able to find a no-fail recipe that's easy to make - until now that is! Follow this recipe exactly & you'll be so pleased with the results. Thanks, Lennie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      These are great shortbread. I made two batches, the first just as the recipe. The second I added two teaspoons of lemon extract instead of vanilla. I iced them with a lemon icing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Lennie, I made these shortbread cookies for Christmas gift baskets. Your recipe produces the most delectable shortbread I have ever eaten. Not too sweet; just perfect! They are delicious plain as well as with sprinkles or icing. When I wrapped the dough in wax paper, I made two equal logs. Later, I just sliced off 1/4-inch thick slices and baked them per your instructions. My family loved them so much that I have had to make 3 batches to get my gift baskets finished. Thanks for sharing! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Wonderful, Lennie! There's not much more I can add to what's already been said about this shortbread! I followed the recipe exactly as posted, and the results were a light, buttery, melt in your mouth cookie! I added a few "Christmas" sprinkles to each cookie and they look great! Just one problem...... I can't stop eating them! I made a double batch and am going to put them in the freezer.. RIGHT NOW! If I don't, there will be none left for Christmas! Thanks for this tasty recipe, Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lennie's Special Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (541 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.3
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    59%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 29.2 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 407.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites