20 Reviews

Really was excellent. I used about 2 Tbl brown sugar and it was plenty. Will be my "go to" recipe from now on. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel March 17, 2010

This was GREAT! I made it twice in one week. We loved all the different veggies. Not just cabbage and carrots. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon March 26, 2006

2014, another SPD with Lennie's fantastic corned beef recipe!<br/>2012 update<br/>This is still the ultimate corned beef recipe. Have made it every St. Patty's day since 2008, and pass it on to others each year. Don't change a thing. This is the best!<br/><br/>2008 review<br/>Okay, it's 2008 and I just made this for St. Patrick's Day dinner. Oustanding! Everyone at the table, from 10 to 80, loved it. I will be making it this way always.<br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyze Sky March 15, 2014

Excellent!!! My husband LOVED the broth that it made. I didn't have mustard seed and I didn't use any pepper or salt. I did put in the spice packet that came with the corned beef. I also left out the rutabagas and used reconstituted frozen apple juice from a can. My kids LOVED it and were ASKING for more of the vegetables!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen M. March 15, 2010

This was great! I have never been able to make the perfect corned beef dinner, but now I can, thanks! I did not have the mustard seed on hand, so i omitted that, and left out the rutabagas as well. Turned out wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snewman2117 March 05, 2010

This was my first time doing a corned beef on the oven instead of a crockpot, and I was not dissapointed. I didn't have apple juice, so I used cider instead, and the flavor it gave the beef was amazing. My husband gobbled it up! I will definitely be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LolaBugge December 13, 2009

I made this for St. Patrick’s Day. It was enough to feed an army. I don’t have an army, but I did get two dinners, and a lunch. This was my first corned beef, as well as my first time cooking and eating cabbage, turnips and parsnips. My husband and I enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaPearla March 19, 2009

Yesterday was "Lennie day", I made this wonderful corned beef dinner and your fabulous better than cash brownies! I give the corned beef dinner five stars because it was different and delicious. I added freshly chopped parsley at the end for a little zip. Great, thanks for sharing! **This was saved in my Top 2008 Recipes Cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets January 06, 2009

Absolutely outstanding! I made this as written, very fun with Lennie's commentary! This is the first, and last, Corned Beef recipe I"ll try. We loved it and it got rave reviews from ages 3 to 63. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe and I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama2boys March 18, 2008

I have been making corned beef for over 20 years and this is the best recipe I ever used. The apple juice and brown sugar really make this recipe one of a kind. Made this last year and forgot to review it. This is the only recipe for corned beef I will ever make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Ellie 48 March 11, 2008
Lennie's Corned Beef Dinner