12 Reviews

VERY NICE bread with a mild lemon flavor. I made 1 loaf using: 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup Splenda granular, 1oz sugar-free instant lemon pudding, 1% milk, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and all else the same. I think it adapted well, perhaps a little heartier and it doesn't taste lighter. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 11, 2008

Very good zucchini bread. Love all the lemon flavor in this. I added the juice of one lemon. I only used about 1/2 the poppy seeds and it was just right for our tastes. Mine baked up in 60 minutes. I froze one of the loaves for later, thanks so much for sharing this recipe Lainey its a tasty way to use up fresh garden zucchini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee August 17, 2007

Delicious! Really fresh-flavoured, with a fluffy texture. I made muffins, because they're more functional for my family (although I've made the recipe in loaf form as well). I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat. I baked my 30 standard sized muffins for 23 minutes plus my 36 mini muffins for 14 minutes. My children love these too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alison J. June 12, 2015

This was easy to make and it is very good. I halved the poppy seeds as one other reviewer suggested. I also made a lemon glaze for the top of the loaf from icing sugar and a little limoncello. Thanks for this Lainey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith August 18, 2013

YUM! This bread was so good, it is the third time I am making it this summer. Thanks for sharing :) This time I am going to skip the poppy seeds and add blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmie_0110 July 22, 2013

Great lemony taste. I added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract. I did not put poppy seeds in only because I was out. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Bread was very moist. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita July 14, 2013

Excellent bread that incorporates summer flavors of lemon and zucchini. I've made this now twice and like that it produces 2 loaves. The first time I baked it, I followed the recipe to a 'T' and the second time I made a few changes/additions. I didn't have any lemons around, so I made it without the juice, but I did have dried lemon peel. I also added a tsp of ground ginger and 2 tsp of cinnamon just to give her a full body flavor. I love the lemon pudding in the recipe because it makes the bread nice and moist. I plan on making this again this summer and will add a lemon glaze to the top AND substitute blueberries for the zucchini. Thank you for this delicious bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 August 14, 2012

Loved this recipe!!!! What a great way to make something using the ever so plentiful zucchini. This made a big batch, but it was well worth it. I plan to make this again when I want some lemon poppy seed bread. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe Lainey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef yummy yum yum! September 07, 2011

This recipe is a winner, just loved it! Not your typical zucchini bread recipe. I made it exactly as written, and then added a thin lemon glaze just after taking it out of the oven. Yum!! This is a great addition to my sweet breads. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky August 16, 2011

LOVE THE TASTE OF LEMON, & this bread is full of it! Easy to put together, & the reward is very enjoyable! Even sent a loaf home with my son, & I've also silpped this recipe into my Holiday Gifts Cookbook! This might just be my favorite from now on! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Please Review My Recipe tag game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 18, 2008
Lemony Zucchini Bread