Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemony Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemony Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2002

      Great rice dish. I used cilantro instead of the parsely. I also used the juice of a whole lemon. I added garlic to the onions as well. Looking forward to the leftovers tonight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Very Good ... and Thank You. Learning to flavor my rice has really made even the simplist of meals an adventure. One hint I would like to offer in step # 2. Take the time to make sure each grain of rice is coated with the oil before adding the chicken stock. This step will make the pilaf light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      We really love rice, and this was so good. I forgot to buy the parsley so used lemon thyme instead. It was a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2002

      I really enjoyed this recipe. The lemon and parsley gave a really nice fresh taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      OOOOOOOOOH! We all loved this! You were the HEROINE of the day, the QUEEN of the Zaar day in my house here in Oman. Everyone ate this so enjoyably, gosh, I should've clicked snaps:) Just 2 things - I didnt use pepper at all and 2. I used 1 1/2 cups parsley and oh boy - this was a treat! We enjoyed it with mint chicken. A BIGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS MARVELLOUS RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Wonderful rice dish! I'm not usually a big fan of rice but this was absolutely great. I served it along side of Oven Baked Maine Fish (#21553) and some steamed baby carrots. Great Meal! Will do this one again and again. Didn't change a thing except to use veggie broth instead of chicken. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Made this dish with short grain organic brown rice instead of long grain white rice with nice results. Nutty, lemony, light... quite well received. Added a little salt for a bit more flavor. This also worked VERY well reheated with the addition of some grated parmesan cheese; flavor is more intense the 2nd time around and makes me wonder about prepping this a day before I intend to serve it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      Very good versatile rice dish. I think this would also be delicious subbing fresh chopped mint for the parsley. I had this with garlic shrimp last night and it was really well received. I would recommend this as a good staple for your recipe files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      Loved the lemon flavour in this rice dish, quick and easy to prepare too. Will make it again. Thanks for another great one Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      Something different from the ordinary. I like the lemon flavor in this dish. I used Basmati rice, reduced sodium chicken broth and dried parley. After the first step, I cooked mine in a rice cooker and it was done in 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Good rice. The parsley and lemon flavors really came through in this rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      The lemon is a great addition to this rice dish. Even my picky husband approved. I used dried parsley and added it along with the stock. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      This was very good. I served it with a parmesan broiled tilapia and green beans. Delish! Next time I need to cook it a few minutes longer but I think that is because of the rice I used. Very easy and a nice change from plain rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This is a great recipe to brighten up rice. I added a minced serrano pepper to the onion while sauteing and some frozen peas at the end of cooking. This recipe would be the perfect compliment to a Greek meal. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      The best rice ever! I love lemons! I had 3 helpings. My 3 yr old loved it too. He said it was the best. My husband found it a bit bland and added ranch dressing but he adds ranch dressing to everything so we will just ignore that haha. Thanks so much, I'll be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      This was a very nice alternative to the more labor intensive risotto....easy, labor free and would go great with fish. It was a great side for rosemary pork chops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Great compliment for white fish and butter sauce. I used dried marjoram.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Nice way to spice up regular ol' rice. I love lemon flavor on anything, and this went very nicely with fish. I like the idea of trying cilantro instead of parsley, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Very tasty. I stirred a few times toward the end of cooking and used a short grain rice. It turned out sort of creamy like a risotto. I did add a little salt because I used a low sodium chicken broth. I also stirred in a dab of butter at the end. Yummy served with fish. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was very nice! I cut back to 1 c rice and 2 c chicken stock with good success. Everyone liked the lemon flavor, even the picky eight year old. Was a nice side dish to grilled steak. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemony Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.0
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    10%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 138.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, rind of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites