16 Reviews

DELICIOUS! Moist, dense, soft, sweet, and super lemony. However, I feel that the recipe alone doesn't make enough or rise enough. Mine came out pretty then but just as they should flavor and texture wise. I would make again for sure but double the recipe. Mine were done in like 15 minutes no joke. I think it's bc the lemon juice started cooking the eggs(weird). Batter looked very curdled and separated but brownies still came out fine. I followed the directions completely and I have my own dessert business. I don't agree with the way and order the ingredients were mixed together bc it caused cooked eggs and curdling. I'll stick with creaming the butter and sugar together, then the eggs, etc like usual..not the method stated in the instructions. Lovely recipe though, thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEB84 December 06, 2014

Wonderful!! I made a double batch of these sweeties for a Mother's Day brunch. Had never tried them before - they were a definite hit!! Not only were people scarfing them up at the brunch, they were taking them home wrapped in napkins.<br/><br/>Really tart with a wonderful sweetness. I much prefer them to the ordinary lemon bars.<br/><br/>I'm so glad you posted this recipe. I saw it originally on Facebook but could not get it to print out in it's entirety.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NannyMarvel May 15, 2013

Very lemony indeed!! They got rave reviews from everyone who loves lemon at the potluck meal I took them to. People who weren't big lemon fans claimed they were a "bit strong" though. I loved them! The only thing I would change is to only start with 2 Tbls. of juice in the glaze. The 4 Tbls. made the glaze very thin and runny. I kept having to add confectioner's sugar to thicken it up a bit. Even then, it was still pretty runny when I went to cut the bars the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) May 21, 2015

this recipe is one of my favorites! I have made it many times, & I have a couple tips: firstly, double the recipe! I can almost guarantee that you will need it! Secondly, if you want it to be lighter and more fluffy, put it in a KitchenAid mixer and wait until it is fluffy in the bowl before you put it in the pan. This time, I did that, and it is the best it ever turned out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jerusha C. April 26, 2015

Any lemon treat is always a hit in our house. After reading the recipe and reviews, I knew that a few alterations were in order if it was going to work well here. The word brownie implicates thick moist and superb texture. I doubled the recipe and followed some previous reviews , creaming butter and sugar then adding eggs. I also substituted one of the 3/4 cups of flour for SR flour, and took the lemon juice quantity up to 1 cup. I baked it for 35 mins at 160 degrees c in a large slice tin (my usual choc fudge brownie tin). The result was a big hit. Thick moist just right density, it walked out of the tin just as fast as my famous choc fudge brownie (secret recipe). I glazed it with lemon glaze again substituting quantities and sprinkled with toasted coconut flakes. ???

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vivienne C. April 11, 2015

Has anyone tried doubling this recipe and baking a bit longer? These are very, very thin. If I had given it any thought I would have realized from the list of ingredients it wasn't going to be much batter for an 8 x 8 pan. I just took them out of the oven and they haven't even cooled enough to glaze, but I'm disappointed already. Don't call them "brownies" if they're not going to look like brownies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mehulse January 17, 2015

These are really good and very lemony. Be careful with cooking them, however. If cooked too long, they are dry, but if not cooked long enough, you just have a gooey mess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds May 19, 2013

These are lovely & lemony. Struggled with cups being in the UK. They came out very thin, so maybe doubling the recipe would have been better or adding baking powder. Zest of 2 lemons is not enough for cake & topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachv29 March 10, 2016

Delicious tart brownies. Love the lemony flavor. Do be careful not to overtake. I recently tried the recipe with limes instead of lemons and it was also delicious. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Stolte Sievers April 21, 2015

Super puckery and refreshingly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in MA May 26, 2014
Lemony Lemon Brownies