Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemony Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemony Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2007

      Easy to make, and the pre-cooking keeps them a little on the "al dente" side (which is great!!) Fresh tast, great for any time of the year. Also, it's easy to adjust the size, making it a terrific side for one or two, or four or eight. I served them with blackened fish and au gratin potatoes... Yummmmmmmmy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This recipe is a classic treatment of fresh green beans...one we enjoyed. I didn't have a red onion, so used a sweet onion instead. I had some small grape tomatoes and tossed those in at the last minute, and I think they were a good addition to a delicious recipe we will make often in the memory of Amy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I loved these green beans, makes a very nice change of pace. I love the lemony flavor, perfect for summer. Highly recommended! Added to my cookbook, tribute to Amy for ZWT3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      As a tribute to Amy I made these wordeful green beans. I loved them, easy and so tasty. Its hard when someone so young passed away,but I'm sure Amy is at that special place where all the kind and good people go.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      These were a wonderful change of pace instead of the regular green beans that we normally cook. I used frozen green beans and I found the lemon to be a nice addition but I think I will cut back next time as it overpowered the dish. I might also try to just add more green beans. Otherwise it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Excellent green beans. Loved the addition of lemon and zest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I made the Lemony Green Beans along with Amy's Spiral Ham made w/Mountain Dew in a Crock Pot for my Saturday night dinner last week. My boyfriend and both my kids loved the way the green beans tasted as well as the ham. I am always looking for different ways to cook green beans. The ingredients were simple and I had all of them in my kitchen. I was glad to try these and the Ham out as a tribute to Amy. Melody A.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      A very good, quick fix for green beans. I used about 1/2 an onion. Other than reducing the amount of onion, the only other change I might make would be to reduce the amount of lemon juice as it was a little strong for my taste. Over all a quick and delicious side. Loved the idea of pre-cooking the beans in the microwave prior to adding to the cooked onions and garic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

    • on March 03, 2008

    • on December 26, 2007

      This was the perfect addition to our sweet Christmas Plum-Glazed Gingered Ham. The tangy flavor of lemon was perfect, but not too strong for us. Our lemon produced much more than two tablespoons, but we tossed it into the pan as the onions carmelized, adding the green beans for just the last few minutes. Will definitely make these often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Reviewed for ZWT3. Great summer recipe -- the combination of lemon and garlic really set off the fresh green beans. Glad I tried this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      A wonderfully simple recipe with great flavour. Easy enough for every day but presents and tastes good enough for special occassions and company

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Excellent and extremely tasty. Loved the zip of the lemon. Very easy to cook and went wonderfully well with our roast lamb. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      I made this for supper and it was easy to do and the lemon gave it such a nice taste. I left my zest in strips and tossed it in a few min before serving. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Absolutely excellent! I would never have thought of cooking the beans in the microwave--Chia has encouraged me--and this recipe was a wonderful way to start to use the microwave for more than m elting things. The beans are crisp, fresh tasting; the lemon is just right--all the beans got gobbled right up! Wish I could thank Amy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Anything involving a vegetable that my husband eats every last little bit of is a big winner in my book. I used a Vidalia onion, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It's so quick to put together - a perfect, healthy side for "busy day" dinners. We'll have this again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemony Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.9
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    55%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 589.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites