23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one fantastic recipe. I am alkilising so substituted almonds for the cashews, which was fine and agave syrup for the honey. It was especially nice when frozen overnight and my family ate it with organic lemon curd on top, fabulous! As I explained the lack of dairy, sugar, wheat, etc, etc to my guests my 8yr old stated, "that defies all the laws of cheesecake!" These "laws" are ready to be broken!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula.thorn August 22, 2010

I just made the cheese part of this (I never liked raw crusts with dates in and I always just liked the cheese part anyway). I soaked the cashews 8 hours, (to deactivate enzyme inhibitors), so I put in just a little water. I just dumped everything in to my blender without melting the oil. I also used agave nectar since honey is overpowering to me with a light taste of lemon. After tasting I added 1/2 tsp lemon extract and after tasting the completed dish this morning next time I make it I will put in 1 tsp because I wanted a little more lemony taste. (I might also put in some zest and see how that works). Alone, it takes a few spoonfuls to get use to the flavor. So I added frozen raspberries to the bowl before putting it in the freezer and wow, the combination of the two was really good. I enjoyed this. Letting it sit overnight lets the flavors meld, and I grew up eating frozen cheesecake, so thumbs up! I will be making this again. Thanks. Update - I made this again but only 1/3 of the recipe since I'm the only raw foodist in my house and the whole recipe here makes a lot. That being said, here's how I make it now. To 1/3 of the recipe I use 1 tsp lemon extract, 1/2-1 cup raspberries, and the zest of 2 of the three lemons gives it a zing that's nice. I have also used a mixture of lemon and lime juice. Also, I have made a blueberry cheesecake which was awesome. To the 1/3 of the recipe again I added 1 tsp blueberry extract (Watkins carries this) instead of the lemon, replace the lemon juice with 1 lime juiced and 1/2 cup blueberries when you blend, then I put in 1/2-1 cup whole wild blueberries and folded them in. I made a crust out of pecans, oats, agave nectar, oil, cinnamon and salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow November 28, 2009

This was a great little recipe, I did do some last minute changes, though. I used a vegan gram cracker base instead of using almonds and dates mainly due to the fact they are both expensive. I was dubious at the start, but it tasted fantastic! There was an actual argument between my flatmates and my guests about who was allowed the 4 remaining pieces for seconds. NEXT TIME I'M MAKING TWO!! also I would recommend defrosting it early because it did take over 2 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairyamykins June 08, 2010

Wow. Just wow. I was NOT expecting this to be so good! It has the EXACT teacher of a high-end New York cheesecake, and it was hard not to feel guilty eating it, since that's usually the feel that accompanies cheesecake-eating. No one would guess that this is healthy for you! The ONLY criticism I have, (and it's a very minor one), is that I found the coconut oil to be slightly overwhelming, considering this is supposed to be a lemon cheesecake. I easily fixed that by grating the zest of a few lemons into the batter. The only other variation I did was to use about 1/2 cup raw honey instead of 3/4 cup, and I used liquid stevia to achieve the rest of the desired sweetness. Thank you sooooo much for this, I'll definitely be making it again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosima December 22, 2009

Thanks Debra. This is so very delicious! This vegan cheese cake is simply the best I have eaten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganNaz January 30, 2015

It's not a vegan recipe since it contains honey! Raw maybe but not vegan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShandraJade August 02, 2013

Just made this for easter lunch and it was a hit with the whole family. I'm now in charge to make this cheesecake for all future celebrations.<br/>I dont know if it would have made any difference to use a blender instead of a food processor, as I dont have a food processor.<br/>I also added zest from one lemon. My sister would have preferred a little more tang, so maybe next time I will use zest from two lemons and see how that goes.<br/>Thanks for the recipe. This cheesecake is so much more delicious than regular cheesecakes and doesnt leave you feeling sick after indulging in a large slice. I feel energised!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisathx March 31, 2013

Having never made any "Raw" dessert ...ever, this one takes the cake. Even my ultra picky, chocolate loving hubby & kids loved it. Definitely recommend letting it set over night. Tastes better the longer it sits. I lined a glass baking dish with non bleached parchment paper for easy cutting and clean up. Wrap tightly to prevent freezer burn. I then moved it to the fridge before serving. Want to experiment with more combinations! I pretty much followed this recipe exactly with the exception of raw honey (used agave nectar). Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissFitMama January 25, 2012

I am happy to have found this recipe. Thanks for sharing it. I just have to say though that frozen food is not raw food! Extreme cold, just like extreme heat can change the chemical properties of food and kill healthy bacteria. It may be convenient to freeze this cake but it defeats the purpose of eating raw. Besides when something is delicious a little extra effort is worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko June 29, 2011

Not to insult anyone, but, honey is not Vegan, That being said this recipe works really well with agave nectar or maple syrup :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganGrbicGirl May 30, 2011
Lemony Cheesecake With Berry Sauce (Raw Vegan)