Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemony Cheesecake With Berry Sauce (Raw Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemony Cheesecake With Berry Sauce (Raw Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2010

      This is one fantastic recipe. I am alkilising so substituted almonds for the cashews, which was fine and agave syrup for the honey. It was especially nice when frozen overnight and my family ate it with organic lemon curd on top, fabulous! As I explained the lack of dairy, sugar, wheat, etc, etc to my guests my 8yr old stated, "that defies all the laws of cheesecake!" These "laws" are ready to be broken!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I just made the cheese part of this (I never liked raw crusts with dates in and I always just liked the cheese part anyway). I soaked the cashews 8 hours, (to deactivate enzyme inhibitors), so I put in just a little water. I just dumped everything in to my blender without melting the oil. I also used agave nectar since honey is overpowering to me with a light taste of lemon. After tasting I added 1/2 tsp lemon extract and after tasting the completed dish this morning next time I make it I will put in 1 tsp because I wanted a little more lemony taste. (I might also put in some zest and see how that works). Alone, it takes a few spoonfuls to get use to the flavor. So I added frozen raspberries to the bowl before putting it in the freezer and wow, the combination of the two was really good. I enjoyed this. Letting it sit overnight lets the flavors meld, and I grew up eating frozen cheesecake, so thumbs up! I will be making this again. Thanks. Update - I made this again but only 1/3 of the recipe since I'm the only raw foodist in my house and the whole recipe here makes a lot. That being said, here's how I make it now. To 1/3 of the recipe I use 1 tsp lemon extract, 1/2-1 cup raspberries, and the zest of 2 of the three lemons gives it a zing that's nice. I have also used a mixture of lemon and lime juice. Also, I have made a blueberry cheesecake which was awesome. To the 1/3 of the recipe again I added 1 tsp blueberry extract (Watkins carries this) instead of the lemon, replace the lemon juice with 1 lime juiced and 1/2 cup blueberries when you blend, then I put in 1/2-1 cup whole wild blueberries and folded them in. I made a crust out of pecans, oats, agave nectar, oil, cinnamon and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This was a great little recipe, I did do some last minute changes, though. I used a vegan gram cracker base instead of using almonds and dates mainly due to the fact they are both expensive. I was dubious at the start, but it tasted fantastic! There was an actual argument between my flatmates and my guests about who was allowed the 4 remaining pieces for seconds. NEXT TIME I'M MAKING TWO!! also I would recommend defrosting it early because it did take over 2 hours.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Wow. Just wow. I was NOT expecting this to be so good! It has the EXACT teacher of a high-end New York cheesecake, and it was hard not to feel guilty eating it, since that's usually the feel that accompanies cheesecake-eating. No one would guess that this is healthy for you! The ONLY criticism I have, (and it's a very minor one), is that I found the coconut oil to be slightly overwhelming, considering this is supposed to be a lemon cheesecake. I easily fixed that by grating the zest of a few lemons into the batter. The only other variation I did was to use about 1/2 cup raw honey instead of 3/4 cup, and I used liquid stevia to achieve the rest of the desired sweetness. Thank you sooooo much for this, I'll definitely be making it again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      It's not a vegan recipe since it contains honey! Raw maybe but not vegan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Just made this for easter lunch and it was a hit with the whole family. I'm now in charge to make this cheesecake for all future celebrations.<br/>I dont know if it would have made any difference to use a blender instead of a food processor, as I dont have a food processor.<br/>I also added zest from one lemon. My sister would have preferred a little more tang, so maybe next time I will use zest from two lemons and see how that goes.<br/>Thanks for the recipe. This cheesecake is so much more delicious than regular cheesecakes and doesnt leave you feeling sick after indulging in a large slice. I feel energised!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Having never made any "Raw" dessert ...ever, this one takes the cake. Even my ultra picky, chocolate loving hubby & kids loved it. Definitely recommend letting it set over night. Tastes better the longer it sits. I lined a glass baking dish with non bleached parchment paper for easy cutting and clean up. Wrap tightly to prevent freezer burn. I then moved it to the fridge before serving. Want to experiment with more combinations! I pretty much followed this recipe exactly with the exception of raw honey (used agave nectar). Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I am happy to have found this recipe. Thanks for sharing it. I just have to say though that frozen food is not raw food! Extreme cold, just like extreme heat can change the chemical properties of food and kill healthy bacteria. It may be convenient to freeze this cake but it defeats the purpose of eating raw. Besides when something is delicious a little extra effort is worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Not to insult anyone, but, honey is not Vegan, That being said this recipe works really well with agave nectar or maple syrup :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I made this and used a few tables of raw honey and some agave syrup instead of all the honey. It taste great and looks pretty. But why do they call it cheesecake ? tastes like coconut pie with lemmon. Very good and healthy but nothing like cheesecake??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Wow! I was very skeptical but this is brilliant! Who know cashews could be so creamy! My kids loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Due to outrageous prices I substitued walnuts for almonds and raisins for dates. I also used a muffin pan to make 16 individual mini cheesecakes. They were such a hit with my cooking/meat eating family and I thought the recipe was so simple and easy to follow for being a raw recipe I will make this again and again. Much more economic than buying raw desserts and there is just something so healing not only about eating raw foods but making them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Really like it, I added cinnamon to the crust but couldn't really taste it. I also used agave instead of honey and added in some lemon zest and juice into the berries sauce. My roommate really like it and couldn't tell what's in it. But my meat eater bf doesn't like it as much because it just doesn't taste like real cheese. But to me it tastes really good and really does remind me of the cheesecake i used to eat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Turned out perfect! I love the texture and taste of the "cheesecake." I used agave nectar in place of honey and added lemon juice to the berry sauce as well. Loved it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I made this yesterday for my brothers 10th birthday and it came out GREAT! The texture of the cashews is nice and smooth. It very similar to a "cheesecake" we buy at our local natural food store, and a lot cheaper to make at home. I am definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I was quite surprised as to how good my raw cheesecake came out. I almost live on Earth Cafe's raw cheesecakes so it was sort of fun making my own. I prefer the texture of Earth Cafe's and their crust but I was still very pleased with my end result. Many thanks for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Just made this last night aaaaannnnnnnnd, It is FANTASTIC! I did not make the sauce. ALSO, i did not use the honey, instead i used 3/4 cup agave nectar. SO Good! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      deeeelicious! i'm reviewing now as i prepare to make it a second time. the ingredients are a little costly, but the result is worth every cent. i fell in love with raw cheesecakes at the Chicago Diner *sigh* and wanted to make my own. this was easy and and indulgent. i recommend soaking the cashews overnight to get them good & creamy. i added a little toasted coconut to the crust, too. my lactose-intolerant friend enjoyed it. her mother found the doggy-bag a little too healthy-tasting, but she might have eaten it too frozen. all of us at dinner ate seconds. ...i ate some for breakfast the next day. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      WOW! This cake is DELICIOUS!! I wasn't too keen on the sauce but still - total yuM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      This is sooooo good! And if I had a bigger food processor, I'm sure I could say "so easy". As it was, I had to divide everything into two batches and then mix together. The filling was lick-the-batter-bowl clean yummy and I could hardly wait to try it all together. I couldn't decide between blueberry and strawberry sauce, so I made both (dividing in two batches. I just had to do it, I guess!) This was very good, creamy and yummy...and I want to go eat some more! Thank you for posting this recipe! Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemony Cheesecake With Berry Sauce (Raw Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.2
     
    Calories from Fat 280
    65%
    Total Fat 31.1 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 296.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites