9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I did make a few changes. First, I only used 1 tablespoon butter and it was plenty. I also used fat-free low sodium chicken broth just for dietary reasons. I found it took a little longer than 50 minutes, but maybe my lid wasn't tight enough at first (I was a little hesistant of the tea-towel trick because I didn't want anything igniting in flames..lol) but I eventually did put the tea towel on and turned it up a little. I also added 1/4 cup of toasted walnuts and it tasted great. Thanks gingernut!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenKelly December 07, 2007

This rice dish is great. I made it in a rice cooker instead of a pan with a lid. I used olive oil instead of butter to saute the onion and rice, then added it to the rice cooker with vegetable broth (didn't have any chicken broth on hand) and lemon juice. When it was done, I added the lemon zest and it was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobynS May 23, 2007

Really fantastic! I also added some chopped, toasted almonds and dried cranberries at the end, and it tasted wonderful! Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChocolateFreak August 10, 2009

Lemon is our thing, so we really enjoyed this. I used half a tablespoon of Smart Balance to caramelize the onion. Agree with another reviewer, this serves more like 2-3 people, unless your meal includes a number of side dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 03, 2014

Changed it a bit - used your seasoning ideas with whole wheat couscous - so yummy and delicious with our grilled chicken pitas. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSingARMYmom February 25, 2011

Very tasty!! I used quick-cooking brown rice instead of long grain, but I did stir in some sauteed onions with the lemon juice & zest. I served this with Lemon Garlic Broccoli (#132765). Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug December 05, 2007

So easy and so much flavor, such a nice change from plain brown rice with very little effort. I used the Uncle Ben's version which cooks up in 12 minutes but with the same directions here. Went perfectly with Pork Chops Alla Pizzaiola as the lemon accentuated the herbs de Provence in that dish. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 31, 2007

Excellent and easy to make. Like another reviewer, I prepared the rice in my rice cooker. I then added the rice and lemon zest to the butter, onions and lemon juice in the saucepan. I also added a little salt and pepper to taste. There was only one complaint from the peanut gallery -- I didn't make enough. I used this recipe as a side dish to go with Lemon Chicken Souvlaki #169357 (also very good)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gadgetman0404 July 17, 2007

Exceptional rice! Hubby (DH) said it was the best brown rice he has ever had, I agree. I really enjoyed the fact that it was a easy recipe to put together and the flavour was truly outstanding. Take the tip on covering the rice very tightly as it will make or break the dish. Thank you Gingernut

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer March 30, 2007
Lemony Brown Rice Pilaf