Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemony Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemony Brown Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2009

      Really fantastic! I also added some chopped, toasted almonds and dried cranberries at the end, and it tasted wonderful! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Very good! I did make a few changes. First, I only used 1 tablespoon butter and it was plenty. I also used fat-free low sodium chicken broth just for dietary reasons. I found it took a little longer than 50 minutes, but maybe my lid wasn't tight enough at first (I was a little hesistant of the tea-towel trick because I didn't want anything igniting in flames..lol) but I eventually did put the tea towel on and turned it up a little. I also added 1/4 cup of toasted walnuts and it tasted great. Thanks gingernut!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      This rice dish is great. I made it in a rice cooker instead of a pan with a lid. I used olive oil instead of butter to saute the onion and rice, then added it to the rice cooker with vegetable broth (didn't have any chicken broth on hand) and lemon juice. When it was done, I added the lemon zest and it was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Changed it a bit - used your seasoning ideas with whole wheat couscous - so yummy and delicious with our grilled chicken pitas. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Very tasty!! I used quick-cooking brown rice instead of long grain, but I did stir in some sauteed onions with the lemon juice & zest. I served this with Lemon Garlic Broccoli (#132765). Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      So easy and so much flavor, such a nice change from plain brown rice with very little effort. I used the Uncle Ben's version which cooks up in 12 minutes but with the same directions here. Went perfectly with Pork Chops Alla Pizzaiola as the lemon accentuated the herbs de Provence in that dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Excellent and easy to make. Like another reviewer, I prepared the rice in my rice cooker. I then added the rice and lemon zest to the butter, onions and lemon juice in the saucepan. I also added a little salt and pepper to taste. There was only one complaint from the peanut gallery -- I didn't make enough. I used this recipe as a side dish to go with Lemon Chicken Souvlaki #169357 (also very good)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Exceptional rice! Hubby (DH) said it was the best brown rice he has ever had, I agree. I really enjoyed the fact that it was a easy recipe to put together and the flavour was truly outstanding. Take the tip on covering the rice very tightly as it will make or break the dish. Thank you Gingernut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemony Brown Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.4
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    24%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 213.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites