Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemony Black-Eyed Pea and Cilantro Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemony Black-Eyed Pea and Cilantro Salad

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2008

      Delicious. I am cooking very low-sodium right now, so I soaked and cooked dried black-eyed peas. While they were cooking, I made the dressing with just a pinch of salt. I also used fresh oregano from the garden and did not seed the tomato after watching an America's Test Kitchen episode which concluded that the flavor is carried by the jelly around the seeds. I tossed the warm beans with the dressing - let me tell you, I could not resist "tasting" them repeatedly. Black eyed peas cook up pretty quickly, so if you watching sodium, try doing that intead of using the canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Delicious, sure to become a regular. I sauteed the onion and garlic though as I don't like them raw. Made me think, how about serving this as a side to a mess of roasted veggies such as peppers, onion slabs, a couple of varieties of potatoes. Then add some cornbread or rice and voila! Mmmm...can't wait til tommorrow night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      Absolutely YUM! Everyone should try this. I used lime juice, and it took me exactly 5 minutes to throw it together. Very good over fresh greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Just what i was looking for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      My new favorite salad!! Couldn't be simpler to make, and so flavorful. Thanks a ton for sharing!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      DELICIOUS!!! I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS! Wonderful fresh salad that packs a great FIBER punch! I did not peel or seed the tomato and tripled the amount of cilantro. Make sure you use freshly squeezed lemon juice as it DOES make a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I am finding that I really enjoy bean salads! I would have never thought cilantro & black eyed peas would go together but they definitely do! Thanks for an easy lunch! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      The perfect one dish meal for a hot summer evening. This is a lively, healthy and colorful combination of flavors. I used the juice from one lemon, green onions and approximately 1 tsp of dried cilantro, which were the only changes I made. Thanks, EdsgirlAngie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Absolutely and perfectly wonderful!! I followed the directions exactly, and the result was even yummier than I hoped. Such a great part of a summer meal because it's so cool and refreshing. I had this with Turkish Chicken Thighs, but it would be wonderful next to any chicken or steak or even just alone for a healthy vegetarian meal. Wow. Thanks for sharing a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This is so good. I used a small shallot for the onion and halved grape tomatoes. I also squeezed on extra lemon juice. As much as I love lime, I think this salad is great with lemon and wouldn't be quite as good with lime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      Delicious!!!! This is a easy great tasting salad. I used lime juice and did not peel or seed my tomatoes either. Fabulous taste!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I LOVE this salad!!! It is so quick and easy to make (I didn't peel or seed the tomato because I'm not into that...I feel like it just takes up extra time, and I like the tomato seediness) and it is sooooo good! I used red onion, and two cloves of garlic. I would recommend doubling the recipe, because it's so good you'll wish you had more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      As soon as I see 'lemon' I'm hooked....add 'cilantro' and I'm really gone!!! What a great little salad! Easy and great tasting! Just realized on re-reading the recipe, I should've peeled and seeded the tomatoes. Oops....didn't do that, but it didn't matter. We really enjoyed it....it will be made often. Thanks EGA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Wow. This is fabulous! What a great combination of flavors... Creamy black eyed peas, fruity olive oil, sharp cilantro. YUM. Great lunch salad. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This was delicious! It looked too good to be true, but it really is as simple as it looks and as tasty as it claims! I scooped up the salad on tortilla chips one day & had it as a light but satisfying lunch. Sometimes the simpler the recipe is the better the results taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      YUMMY! This is a fantastic recipe! I didn't peel the tomato I just seeded it and chopped it up cold. I didn't have lemon juice so I used lime juice and it was still yummy! I used more onion than and cilantro than called for because I love them both. I will make this again! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Very tasty, easy, and pretty. A great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      Just heavenly whether it is cold or at room temp!! I also did not take the time to peel the tomatoes. I added the zest of the lemon and added some chopped serrano chilies for some heat!! Will make again!! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Mmmm. This is food that feels good! Used lime juice and I'm not fussy enough to peel my tomatoes. Delicious! We'll be making this one often, I can tell! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemony Black-Eyed Pea and Cilantro Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.9
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    30%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1470.8 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites