Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Zucchini Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Zucchini Bars

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2011

      I had read all the reviews first and then decided to add 1 extra TBS of lemon Juice and 1 tsp of lemon zest and 2 tsp of Allspice. I had gone with the lemon glaze on top instead of the icing sugar. The flavor of these bars were delicious, which I am sure the lemon glaze makes a difference. Very moist bars, a wonderful balance with the lemon and zucchini. Delicious.....Thanks for sharing your recipe Calee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      With my Meyer Lemon tree producing well and my fall zucchini plants producing at the same time, I had to try this recipe. It's SO much better than I expected! Delightful. I used less oil and more zucchini, and less sugar and more lemon juice. (Meyer lemons are pretty sweet.) I used the glaze, but didn't bother poking holes in the cake. It rose well and was definitely more like cake than bars! NOTE: REDUCE YOUR OVEN TEMP TO 325 IF YOU USE A GLASS PAN!
      Also, I made this in the food processor, emulsifying the sugar, eggs and oil, grating in the zucchini, the pulsing in the rest. Easy peasy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I followed the recipe with the powdered sugar on top. They were really moist and very good, but I thought they were missing something. I will try next time using more lemon juice, like others have suggested, and I will use the lemon glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      We like these, especially for packing in lunch boxes. I do sub applesauce for half of the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is really more cake-like and as such is beautifully moist and has a lovely texture. However, I found it fairly bland and would add much more lemon - perhaps more lemon rind. I think that a dash of mixed spice might be nice too. I will try it again later with these revisions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      OK...I really, really don't like to give bad reviews. I made this and took it to work and it was not even half eaten. Normally it disappears very quickly. I liked the lemon flavor (I used the glaze instead of confectioners' sugar). It was moist as well, but to me it was just way too oily. Some of the people liked it, but most did not. I am glad that I tried the recipe and I am alway trying new things, but I don't think I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      A wonderful combination. I, too, made the glaze and I think that just makes this bread. It's moist and tastey on it's own, but the glaze puts it over the top. Definitely one of the best zucchini bread/bars recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change a thing. One of the ladies at my card party 'had' to have the recipe. This is a definite keeper and I'm glad I have some zucchini in the freezer to make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      This is really lovely. Lemony, very soft and moist, cakey, just yummy. I added the glaze and feel it really made the slice special. Instead of heating the glaze on the stove top I used my pyrex jug and zapped it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. If you decide to use this method please be careful as it does tend to boil over. Thank you for a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Couldn't be any more moist and lemony. I used the glaze and glad I did. Liked it as it was not the usual "autumn spice variety of bread" Calee I'll make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      Moist, delicious and fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This went over like you wouldn't believe this morning at church (coffee hour)! Loved the lemon flavor and so different from the usual "chocolate" cake treatment with zucchini. More like a cake than bars (which I always think are more dense and rise shorter in the pan). So. that said--guess what? I didn't use zucchini! We had tons of yellow crookneck squash when our garden exploded last summer---so I grated and froze them in one- or two-cup portions in baggies---so that's what I used in this recipe. Everyone loved it! The recipe--however--does NOT need to bake for the full 45 minutes! I checked it at 35 minutes and it was ready to come out then---so I would advise future Zaar'sters to keep a close watch on the time and the "done-ness" of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is my new favorite bar recipe. I made it exactly to recipe, using the glaze rather than the sugar, and I think I'll always make them that way. The glaze was what took them over the top. I left the peels on the zucchini and everyone commented on how pretty they looked with the flecks of green. Tender, moist, light, and lemony. Couldn't be any better in my book. (I did reduce the baking time, as mine tested done at 35 minutes, but I'm pretty sure that's my oven.) Thanks so much, calee, for such a wonderful recipe. I'll be making these many, many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I, too, used all the juice from one lemon, I did peel the zucchini first to avoid the little green flecks. They are now a part of my harvest-time recipe collections. Thanks so very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      This is a very good cake. The texture was nice, even though I replaced half the oil with vanilla yogurt. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. I think I would've really loved this cake with some sort of frosting...a lemon cream cheese frosting would be fantastic, and would probably bump this up to a 5-star recipe (imho). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Everyone who tried these liked them. They are ultra moist. I did put a lemony cream cheese frosting on the cake which probably helped the flavor some. I would definitely recommend putting the entire lemon glaze on the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      These are amazing. I work for a school system and the Superientendent brought in some zucchini from her garden, so to thank her, I made a batch of these and brought them in for her. She was having a meeting and shared with everyone. I got an email from one of her secretaries asking for the recipe. I did top them with the glaze, but I just added lemon juice to confectioners sugar. One thing I would like to point out is that mine didn't look cake like, they were about half as tall as the picture that is posted. I don't know why, because my soda and baking powder are new. But know one knows that. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Sorry, this was just so-so for me. It took 10 minutes less time to bake than the recipe said, and the texture and flavor were sort of blah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      I made this at work yesterday(an assited living facility for the elderly) for dinner and it was very well received. The residents especially liked the lemon glaze. Very easy and quick to make. Will add some chopped pecans next time for a texture contrast. Also considering using orange zest and orange juice in place of the lemon. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      I too baked this in a bundt pan and it worked out very well. Sprinkled with powdered sugar and it was a hit! Love hiding zucchini in things. Thank you calee for a nice treat that uses up those prolific zucchini. :)shirley(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      I can't say enough nice things about this recipe! I baked it in a bundt pan so it appeared as a cake, not bars. It was so delicious just plain that we never bothered with confectioner's sugar or the glaze. The texture is lovely; the cake is moist and stays moist (it lasted two and a half days -- only because there were other cakes as well). The lemon flavor is just right. I will make this again and again. Thanks, Calee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Zucchini Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.2
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    50%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 431.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    99%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites