23 Reviews

I had read all the reviews first and then decided to add 1 extra TBS of lemon Juice and 1 tsp of lemon zest and 2 tsp of Allspice. I had gone with the lemon glaze on top instead of the icing sugar. The flavor of these bars were delicious, which I am sure the lemon glaze makes a difference. Very moist bars, a wonderful balance with the lemon and zucchini. Delicious.....Thanks for sharing your recipe Calee

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny February 23, 2011

We like these, especially for packing in lunch boxes. I do sub applesauce for half of the oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB May 11, 2008

OK...I really, really don't like to give bad reviews. I made this and took it to work and it was not even half eaten. Normally it disappears very quickly. I liked the lemon flavor (I used the glaze instead of confectioners' sugar). It was moist as well, but to me it was just way too oily. Some of the people liked it, but most did not. I am glad that I tried the recipe and I am alway trying new things, but I don't think I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 August 12, 2007

With my Meyer Lemon tree producing well and my fall zucchini plants producing at the same time, I had to try this recipe. It's SO much better than I expected! Delightful. I used less oil and more zucchini, and less sugar and more lemon juice. (Meyer lemons are pretty sweet.) I used the glaze, but didn't bother poking holes in the cake. It rose well and was definitely more like cake than bars! NOTE: REDUCE YOUR OVEN TEMP TO 325 IF YOU USE A GLASS PAN!
Also, I made this in the food processor, emulsifying the sugar, eggs and oil, grating in the zucchini, the pulsing in the rest. Easy peasy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson November 03, 2012

I followed the recipe with the powdered sugar on top. They were really moist and very good, but I thought they were missing something. I will try next time using more lemon juice, like others have suggested, and I will use the lemon glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
planegirl July 27, 2008

This is really more cake-like and as such is beautifully moist and has a lovely texture. However, I found it fairly bland and would add much more lemon - perhaps more lemon rind. I think that a dash of mixed spice might be nice too. I will try it again later with these revisions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide February 08, 2008

A wonderful combination. I, too, made the glaze and I think that just makes this bread. It's moist and tastey on it's own, but the glaze puts it over the top. Definitely one of the best zucchini bread/bars recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change a thing. One of the ladies at my card party 'had' to have the recipe. This is a definite keeper and I'm glad I have some zucchini in the freezer to make this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. August 09, 2007

This is really lovely. Lemony, very soft and moist, cakey, just yummy. I added the glaze and feel it really made the slice special. Instead of heating the glaze on the stove top I used my pyrex jug and zapped it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. If you decide to use this method please be careful as it does tend to boil over. Thank you for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 28, 2007

Couldn't be any more moist and lemony. I used the glaze and glad I did. Liked it as it was not the usual "autumn spice variety of bread" Calee I'll make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey June 29, 2007

Moist, delicious and fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigmused May 02, 2007
Lemon Zucchini Bars