33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A demanding dinner guest requested a non-coffee tiramisu for dinner here last night. I remembered I've had this in my cookbook for years so dragged it out and made it. What a lovely treat it is and I wish I'd been making it all the years in between once I tasted it. I like a very thick marscarpone layer, so only used one packet of sponge fingers. I made my own lemon curd and used slightly more than 5 tablespoons but that didn't matter. This is an easy to make, gorgeous sweet/tartish dessert posted by an equally gorgeous lady xox

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 13, 2010

I doubled the recipe and got more than enough for hearty portions for a wine n dine club. Delicious- very rich- very easy although there were lots of steps- it was my first tiramisu- everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Music-Chef January 15, 2010

Made for gals bunko nite- to follow Italian soup and bread.. Very good. I agree with doubling the dipping sauce.. I used lemon bacardi..The twinkie idea is interesting.. and I really see no need for the springform pan. Next time I'll make it in a 9 X 11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora October 27, 2009

Very tasty. I made this according to directions posted, but 1/2 recipe. Also, I made it in a 9x9 pan and layered it, with the top layer being the mascarpone mixture. I used the savoiardi biscuits as well and made lemon curd from one of the recipes on this site. Very pleased with the outcome of this one. As usual, I'm going to change this recipe a little ( make a little more "dipping stuff", lighten-up the filling a little with another egg white and add a little more lemon curd.) Overall, a lovely summer dessert! Thanks for posting this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QL7 June 30, 2009

So good! I had to stop myself from eating all of the lemon marscapone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmarie March 28, 2009

Wonderfully refreshing. First time I made exactly as stated with huge success. I just baked up a couple of vanilla genoise that I'll use instead of ladyfingers this time. Again, can't give this a high enough rating. I love the brandy! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Savory Truffle June 27, 2008

Mmmmmmm...this was yummy. Made it for Easter - it was one of three - and while not the favorite of the bunch it was still very well received.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker April 21, 2008

This was GREAT! Made it with Lemon Curd also first rate! Mini TWINKIES in Australia did arrive! How we managed previously or survived :) Substituted mascapone for light cream cheese, This recipe SURELY did please! THANKS NOTE Seeing used the Madeira type cake, the lemon mixture soaked in and needed to make more...would also use mascapone cheese next time, the store ran out of it and the cream cheese was nice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder September 22, 2007

OMG! This is sooooo unbelievably good! I made this b/c DF hates coffee (what's WRONG with her?) & I wanted an unctuous cool summery dessert (can't handle the extreme cold of ice cream or sorbert right now). I used Dickens Lemon Curd (lazy lazy me) & slices of angel food cake as no sponge cake to be found at local market. Came together quickly & easily - served after dinner - AMAZING flavor & texture - opted for white rum! Will be making this again with my own lemon curd - it is delish, elegant & worthy of "fancy" company. Thank you Pets'R'us for this yummo keeper of a recipe! Thinking of trying with limes & white rum - Mmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend September 11, 2007

This dessert is SO great. I made several small changes out of necessity: I used only 16 oz of mascarpone, I used regular sugar instead of caster (there was no caster/superfine sugar at my grocery store), I used ladyfingers instead of sponge cake, and I used vodka, the only alcohol I had. This recipe is very forgiving of modifications. I noticed too late that it needed to sit overnight and had to serve it 5 hours after preparing it; it was still delicious. Despite my many oversights/modifications, this dessert couldn't be more delicious. One of my dinner guests said it was better than traditional tiramisu! Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie August 12, 2007
Lemon Tiramisu