103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the cookies but just used canned lemon pie filling. DH and I both really liked these. First batch, I made little wells before cooking, which puffed up and sort of blossomed over the edges. I had a really hard time getting these out of pan, as the edges kept breaking off. For the rest, I just used a mini scoop to put the balls in the pan, then put the wells in them after they came out of the oven. These turned out perfectly. Next time I'll use the filling recipe. Very tasty and cute little dessert! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM February 21, 2009

I made the dough and followed all the directions but it was too dry so I added 1/4 cup of water, and it worked perfectly. Also........ I was string the filling on the stove for about 15 minutes then it smelt like it was burning and the color what used to be yellow was a brown. I think it was burnt. So I took it off the heat. When they were finished they tasted DELICIOUS!!! They are the best tasting cookies I ever made but also the longest time make cookie I ever made. Thanks for posting!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
familyof6 January 02, 2009

These are really good! They just melt in your mouth. I did fit more filling in after they settled because I love lemon. Beware, these are evil! Can't eat just one! lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy2day December 02, 2008

I was so happy with how these came out. I love the lemon filling, and next time I will try raspberry and chocolate versions, too. It only took the filling about 20 minutes to thicken, and it was delicious. I reformed the thumbprints with the cap from my vanilla extract, and I did not dust them with extra powdered sugar. The cookie recipe itself was so easy and delicious. I can't wait for my next excuse to bake cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasTeacher2 September 28, 2008

My first batch was gone within minutes! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwissItalian September 14, 2008

Love-Love-Love Lemon Tea Cookies! Will go perfect in my Melt-away cookie trays for Christmas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Umami August 09, 2008

Great cookies! I made them for my husband's snack day at work and they were extremely good. I sent all but 4 to work with my husband and he didn't bring back any! Hubs said that he didn't even make it to his floor before people were devouring them -- apparently several folks in the elevator got to enjoy them. Excellent cookies, great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
landofoz July 23, 2008

These cookies are awesome, especially since I'm a sucker for lemons. I thought that 1 cup butter would be too much for 1 2/3 cups flour, so I reduced it to half a cup and 2 tablespoons, and it turned out fine. The dough was really easy to work with and the indentations only needed a slight touch up when they came out. The filling was superb, except that the recipe was enough for 2 batches of cookies. All in all, an awesome recipe! Kudos to you (:

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDonut July 03, 2008

What delicious little gems! They not only look great and would be a wonderful addition to any table, but they taste amazing! I love the soft buttery cookie, and didn't find them to be too crumbly at all. They were a little crumbly, but in a good way! I was amazed at how easy the dough for the cookies was! And without there being any egg in it, I could have eaten the dough as it was, but I controled myself lol. The filling is outstanding. Reminds me of some lemon bars I love. I didn't need 25 minutes to thicken my filling, and I really only let it cool for a couple minutes before filling the cookies since I was worried if I let it cool too long it would harden and be tricky to handle. I also had to reform the thumb prints on the cookies when they came out, but I was ready after reading the other reviews. We also left off the powder sugar on top since it wasn't necessary. I did get exactly 3dz. cookies out of this, though keep in mind they are small cookies. I used butter instead of margarine as well. I agree these deserve more than 5 stars! A little time consuming, but so worth the effort!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer May 19, 2008

this was realllllly good! I'm not much of a measurer when it comes to cooking, so I the fact that they worked beautifully even when not measuring correctly makes them more impressive. I used limes instead of lemons so I didn't use quite as much juice and peel. The only thing was I added more cornstarch because the filling wasn't thick enough. I loved these and would make them again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellenmarie01 May 15, 2008
Lemon Tea Cookies