Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Tea Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Tea Cookies

    Average Rating:

    101 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 101

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2008

      The recipe didn't state what flour to use, so I used Plain flour. It also said to use 2/3 of a cup. This is wrong. I used 2 cups after checking on similar recipes. The dough is crumbly to work with, so the overall effect on the cookies after they are baked, are rough to say the least. I baked the cookies for at least 5 minutes more than stated, as they were not cooked in the middle. I have a fan assisted too, so it wasn't my cooker. The sauce filling tastes quite good, but the cookie itself is dry, tasteless and boring. You have to make these small as stated, as the cookies would be too cloying if they were made bigger. The overall impression of these isn't fantastic. The photo looks great, but mine don't look anywhere near the representation. I have been baking for over 17 years, and I know my way round a recipe. I won't make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      These were delicious. The cookie was tender and light; the filling sweet and tart. I must have made them too big because I only got about 20 cookies. To avoid scrambling the egg like others did, I tempered the egg by heating up the other ingred. and adding one at a time 3 T of hot mixture to the beaten egg and stirring in, then adding it all back to the pot. No scrambling. Also, some here complained of dry cookies.. don't bake til golden brown like recipe says...only the bottoms of mine were golden, the tops still white-I only baked them for 7 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I love these cookies I make them every christmas and they are gone in the blink of an eye, my family can't get enough of them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I have to question the 25 minutes it says to stir the filling - really? Traditional lemon curd does not take that long and as much as I love to bake that is too labor intensive for a cookie with mixed reviews. Also, the calories says 1100.2 - it would be nice to have that broken down to actual "per cookie" values; I divided the total recipes calorie amount given by total yield and it came out to 22.9 cal per cookie - that would be nice, but highly unlikely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      The cookie itself is bland without the filling. Together, they are pretty good, though. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      These are great cookies. I did have to add more flour (a little more than a cup) to make it not so sticky and more like cookie dough. I didn't refrigerate either and used my cookie press. I could have stood by the stove and just eaten the filling-spoon by spoon. It is wonderful!! And I like how the cookies seem to be more delicate than others. True winner of a lemon cookie!! Thank you for sharing-made for ZWT6 as an Xtra Hot Dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Delicious and light! The cookies are a bit crumbly/dry, but that's not a bad thing when you add in the lemon filling. My husband even dropped a few off to his friend who works in the ER and the cookies are getting rave reviews from everyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Holy Mother is this cookie amazing! I made them bigger thus only got 17 cookies but they are AMAZING! I was worried about under or over cooking and the way my lemon filling would turn out but I can't complain. Delicious, easy and an absolute keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Delicious! Very tender cookie topped with the tart topping that's just perfect. I didn't want to bother with the time involved in making the lemon filling, so I brought the mixture to a boil over medium heat (taking about 5 minutes), let it boil for 1 minute, and then removed it from the heat. I stirred rapidly the entire time. I then stirred in 1 1/2 t. lemon juice and that really helped bring out the lemon flavor. I began filling the cookies immediately because after a while the mixture became too stiff to work with easily. I'll definitely make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      These cookies are excellent, especially the filling. They are bite size combinations of shortbread cookies and lemon bars. The filing has such a great sweet lemon taste to it that it can be hard to resist. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      These are asbsolutely delightful! I'd never made cookies like this (tender, delicious, beautiful)lol. I can't get over how tender these are! My hubby said they were great, but a little to feminine for him! Really, they are just delicious! I made 3 dozen of them, and took them to my neighbors for Easter. Thank you so much for sharing!I think I made them a little bit larger than called for, so it took about another minute of baking. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper, and they were just delicately brown on the bottoms, just barely with color. I must've given them a good push with my thumb, because I didn't need to re-imprint them after baking.Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I also ended up with scrambled egg and was very worried that it would not taste good, but I strained out the egg and to my surprise these cookies were wonderful! I only had about 2 dozen ( wish I would of doubled the recipe) I had to cook about 12 minutes and they were perfectly crumbly :) I did have to make the indent after I pulled them out of the oven, but it was not a problem. I will make these cookies again, everyone loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I am soooo sorry for leaving a bad review, but I didn't read all of the reviews before making my cookies based on number of reviews and total stars. Well, after my cookies were a flop, I went back and read all the reviews and noticed that some of the "bad" reviews didn't rate with stars at all which leaves an inaccurate rating. I will say that I probably did something wrong (although I'm not sure what it was.) Maybe I should have let the dough chill longer or my butter should have been softer, but the cookies fell to pieces...to the point that it is almost impossible to eat them. They tast good.....what pieces I can crumble together, but for me, if I am going to spend this much time in preparation and eat this many calories, then it needs to hold together so I can really enjoy it. Once again, sorry for the bad review, if you have any advice to what I did wrong, I'm definitely open to hearing it so that I can learn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      These were amazing! I did have to chill them for about an hour. My butter may have been too soft though. I drizzled some chocolate on mine after they were completely cooled. Soooo good! I used a wine cork to make the imprint on top, i did it before and just a little, after they came out of the oven! Thanks for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      i love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      i give this 7stars it is soooooooooooooooooo good i love them

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      The shortbread base is light and crisp and the filling tart and fresh, I love that they don't taste like lollipop lemon. My youngest DD is going to love these. Thanks Lynn this one's a keeper! Made for the Comfort Cafe July 05

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      The filling on these cookies is about the best lemon flavor ever. The cookies themselves are very delicate. It does take 25 minutes of constant stirring while the filling is cooking so that is kind of a pain but apart from that they're wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      These are very good, very tart. The reason I give this 4 stars and not 5 is mostly because the lemon glaze is really hard to keep control of. If I made these again I would add a bit more cornstarch I think, because the glaze ran out of the holes that were a pain to make as the dough kept sticking to my fingers and disfiguring the cookies. But here I am just giving my mom a hard time. xD Don't listen to me. Great cookies. Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Oh my god....so good. They melt in your mouth! 3 dozen made the cookies small but it's better to have them like that (they get crispier). I used homegrown lemons which made them taste really good. Worth their calories! I would definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Tea Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (741 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1099.1
     
    Calories from Fat 607
    55%
    Total Fat 67.5 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 41.9 g
    209%
    Cholesterol 234.8 mg
    78%
    Sodium 794.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.9 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 60.9 g
    243%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites