103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe didn't state what flour to use, so I used Plain flour. It also said to use 2/3 of a cup. This is wrong. I used 2 cups after checking on similar recipes. The dough is crumbly to work with, so the overall effect on the cookies after they are baked, are rough to say the least. I baked the cookies for at least 5 minutes more than stated, as they were not cooked in the middle. I have a fan assisted too, so it wasn't my cooker. The sauce filling tastes quite good, but the cookie itself is dry, tasteless and boring. You have to make these small as stated, as the cookies would be too cloying if they were made bigger. The overall impression of these isn't fantastic. The photo looks great, but mine don't look anywhere near the representation. I have been baking for over 17 years, and I know my way round a recipe. I won't make these again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesie May 13, 2008

These were delicious. The cookie was tender and light; the filling sweet and tart. I must have made them too big because I only got about 20 cookies. To avoid scrambling the egg like others did, I tempered the egg by heating up the other ingred. and adding one at a time 3 T of hot mixture to the beaten egg and stirring in, then adding it all back to the pot. No scrambling. Also, some here complained of dry cookies.. don't bake til golden brown like recipe says...only the bottoms of mine were golden, the tops still white-I only baked them for 7 minutes!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann_marie_kelly September 20, 2010

I love these cookies I make them every christmas and they are gone in the blink of an eye, my family can't get enough of them

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belva S. December 14, 2011

I have to question the 25 minutes it says to stir the filling - really? Traditional lemon curd does not take that long and as much as I love to bake that is too labor intensive for a cookie with mixed reviews. Also, the calories says 1100.2 - it would be nice to have that broken down to actual "per cookie" values; I divided the total recipes calorie amount given by total yield and it came out to 22.9 cal per cookie - that would be nice, but highly unlikely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toobzymom February 01, 2011

The cookie itself is bland without the filling. Together, they are pretty good, though. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ November 30, 2010

These are great cookies. I did have to add more flour (a little more than a cup) to make it not so sticky and more like cookie dough. I didn't refrigerate either and used my cookie press. I could have stood by the stove and just eaten the filling-spoon by spoon. It is wonderful!! And I like how the cookies seem to be more delicate than others. True winner of a lemon cookie!! Thank you for sharing-made for ZWT6 as an Xtra Hot Dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris July 02, 2010

Delicious and light! The cookies are a bit crumbly/dry, but that's not a bad thing when you add in the lemon filling. My husband even dropped a few off to his friend who works in the ER and the cookies are getting rave reviews from everyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CryPixie83 June 20, 2010

Holy Mother is this cookie amazing! I made them bigger thus only got 17 cookies but they are AMAZING! I was worried about under or over cooking and the way my lemon filling would turn out but I can't complain. Delicious, easy and an absolute keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adely May 27, 2010

Delicious! Very tender cookie topped with the tart topping that's just perfect. I didn't want to bother with the time involved in making the lemon filling, so I brought the mixture to a boil over medium heat (taking about 5 minutes), let it boil for 1 minute, and then removed it from the heat. I stirred rapidly the entire time. I then stirred in 1 1/2 t. lemon juice and that really helped bring out the lemon flavor. I began filling the cookies immediately because after a while the mixture became too stiff to work with easily. I'll definitely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun May 07, 2010

These cookies are excellent, especially the filling. They are bite size combinations of shortbread cookies and lemon bars. The filing has such a great sweet lemon taste to it that it can be hard to resist. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cakey Hamburger April 08, 2010
Lemon Tea Cookies