23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband made this for me for my birthday. Excellent cake!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette Rognerud February 19, 2003

This cake is simply awesome!! SO moist and easy to make! I'll definitely make it again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAJoyner March 09, 2003

If I could give this 10 stars, I would do so. This is absolutly wonderful. Instead of a glaze I made an actual lemon flavored frosting. DH really raved about this, and he will only politly comment if he is not overwhelmed by something. This is a real keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in California February 23, 2003

very easy, simple cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 October 06, 2003

I need a quick lemon poppy seed cake for a brunch. Since I had gotten a lemon cake mix on clearance for 50¢, I decided to give this recipe a try. The flavor was good even though it wasn't as lemony as we like. Also, it is too light and spongy to be a 'pound cake' in my opinion. It wasn't as good as one from scratch, which is a lot richer and denser, but definitely a good opinion if you are in a pinch. I added about 2 Tbls. of poppy seeds to the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) March 01, 2014

Very nice and very easy lemon snack cake. I used a tube pan as I like the natural ridges and the lovely & light-colored crust instead of the all-brown crust of a bundt pan. So pretty and moist that it didn't need any glaze or frosting - my husband loved it just as is! (submitted a photo). Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxies_Rule June 30, 2013

Truly a simple cake when you don't have a lot of time to make from scratch. Very moist and lemony. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom September 21, 2011

One word: YUM! Don't skip the glaze...it's worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bread lover in WA July 03, 2011

We enjoyed this lemon cake. I used a lemon cake mix with pudding and added a teaspoon of lemon extract, for a little more lemon flavor. I didn't have powered sugar so I used 1/2 cup white sugar and the juice from two lemons and melted the sugar in the juice on the stove before I put it on the cake. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita April 07, 2011

Fantastic! I'm not much of a baker so this was super simple even for me. My DGD made most of it and the whole family and some neighbors really enjoyed it. We didn't get quite the lemon flavor that we wanted in the glaze, so used Honey-Lemon Glaze instead. Thanks for sharing Sherri35. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 11, 2010
Lemon Supreme Pound Cake