66 Reviews

I had company for Sunday dinner and this recipe was a star!! Bev, you are right, it is so easy to make and has a wonderful lemon flavor. I followed the directions exactly, and everything was perfect. I did make them on Saturday and they kept very well.................well, there were a few pieces missing when dinner time came, but I put the dessert on individual plates, so guests couldn't see the gaping hole!!! Very good, and this will definately go in m T&T book. Thanks Bev, for posting one of your family favorites.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie April 29, 2002

I had a craving for something other than chocolate for a change. I picked a winner in making your Lemon Squares! I loved the coconut added to the crust, it added a little bit more texture. While I was at it, I added some to the filling. As it cooked, the coconut formed a thin chewey layer on top. Best of all, it wasn't overly sweet like some others I have tasted. Didn't even miss the chocolate!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac May 02, 2002

To: Bev My oh My, these Lemon Squares are delicious! They have just the right touch of lemon and coconut. Easy, easy to put together, as well. I took the liberty of adding lemon zest to the filling. They're a 5-star keeper!! Thanks for posting. Laudee C.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee August 17, 2002

Bev: Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I was looking for recipes to convert for a low-sodium diet, and this just fit the bill! All I had to do was substitute no-sodium baking powder for regular. Using a 13x9x2 baking pan,the recipe is easy to cut into 36 squares at ONLY 15 MG SODIUM FOR EACH SQUARE! My poor, half-starved step-mother had an absolute field day. She splurged and devoured four pieces! Thanks again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RUTH CARRAWAY January 23, 2003

Can I rate it twice with 5 stars? They are exceptional, addictive and easy to make. It was my first Zaar recipe, and it was, is and will be, a hit! Thanks for posting it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tantza September 02, 2002

I made this for a special event and they were very well recieved. The coconust in the bottom is inspired! However, I found the amount of sugar rather daunting so I reduced to 1.5 cups. Next time I will reduce it further. I also increased the flour for the topping to a 1/3 cup, and added lemon rind because the batter was not lemony enough for me. Will make again. Note: used 70% whole wheat flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElishevaH February 12, 2010

I made these the same day as a meeting and they were so delicious when warm. They did fall apart some, a expected, but no one complained. Quite the opposite, they asked for the recipe. Made another batch for my family later that night and after being the fridge, still so amazingly delish. Keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberry Shortcake's February 27, 2016

Very good and not too sweet. Next time I will add a bit of lemon rind to make it even more lemony. My mom loves these. I used the recipe for her birthday. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shortcake August 05, 2014

Hi Bev, I'm 16 and i'll be using your recipe for my practical exam video for french class.<br/>Hopefully it turns out well! Seeing all of the reviews here i'm thinking that it is promisingly going to turn out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrynaJade May 28, 2013
Lemon Squares