Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Squares

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      I had company for Sunday dinner and this recipe was a star!! Bev, you are right, it is so easy to make and has a wonderful lemon flavor. I followed the directions exactly, and everything was perfect. I did make them on Saturday and they kept very well.................well, there were a few pieces missing when dinner time came, but I put the dessert on individual plates, so guests couldn't see the gaping hole!!! Very good, and this will definately go in m T&T book. Thanks Bev, for posting one of your family favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      I had a craving for something other than chocolate for a change. I picked a winner in making your Lemon Squares! I loved the coconut added to the crust, it added a little bit more texture. While I was at it, I added some to the filling. As it cooked, the coconut formed a thin chewey layer on top. Best of all, it wasn't overly sweet like some others I have tasted. Didn't even miss the chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2002

      To: Bev My oh My, these Lemon Squares are delicious! They have just the right touch of lemon and coconut. Easy, easy to put together, as well. I took the liberty of adding lemon zest to the filling. They're a 5-star keeper!! Thanks for posting. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      Bev: Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I was looking for recipes to convert for a low-sodium diet, and this just fit the bill! All I had to do was substitute no-sodium baking powder for regular. Using a 13x9x2 baking pan,the recipe is easy to cut into 36 squares at ONLY 15 MG SODIUM FOR EACH SQUARE! My poor, half-starved step-mother had an absolute field day. She splurged and devoured four pieces! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Can I rate it twice with 5 stars? They are exceptional, addictive and easy to make. It was my first Zaar recipe, and it was, is and will be, a hit! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I made this for a special event and they were very well recieved. The coconust in the bottom is inspired! However, I found the amount of sugar rather daunting so I reduced to 1.5 cups. Next time I will reduce it further. I also increased the flour for the topping to a 1/3 cup, and added lemon rind because the batter was not lemony enough for me. Will make again. Note: used 70% whole wheat flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      Very good and not too sweet. Next time I will add a bit of lemon rind to make it even more lemony. My mom loves these. I used the recipe for her birthday. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Hi Bev, I'm 16 and i'll be using your recipe for my practical exam video for french class.<br/>Hopefully it turns out well! Seeing all of the reviews here i'm thinking that it is promisingly going to turn out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

    • on June 24, 2010

      I would definitely say this one's a keeper! I did my crust with a mixer but I love the shortbread with a coconut taste - makes it so decadent. Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      A lovely slice...that cuts and presents well. The shortbread style base compliments the lemon flavour perfectly. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      excellent...first attempt at it and was a success...had trouble with oven temp coz as is common knowledge each oven has it's own temp range...otherwise all was smooth sailing...thank u bev for an easy accurate recipe...Cheers!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This were really fabulous!! I love lemon and lemon squares are definitely a favorite. I read another post that said they did not taste enough lemon and they were too sweet, but we found them to be just tart enough and not too sweet at all. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Wow! These are as good as they look! :) I admit - I'm usually timid when it comes to baking, but I had a TON of lemons in my fridge from another recipe that didn't work for me. I thought, why not give this a try? It was super easy and super yummy. They are addictive. I think I'm going to take Susang's advice and freeze the rest so I don't eat them all today. :) lol Thanks for sharing Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      These were wonderful, Easy to make and worth it. I may add just a bit more coconut next time, it didn't stand out enough for me. We only ate a couple and then I froze the rest to take to my son's house this weekend. They are remodeling their kitchen, so I'm taking several zaar recipes there to share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

    • on July 05, 2009

      just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This is one of our family's favorite desserts, and this recipe sure didn't disappoint! Definitely worth getting the food processor out for - I will be making this one all Summer long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      With over 50 reviews I am sure this won't make a difference but wow, YUMMY!! The crust was was unbelievably good as was the rest of the squares. It lasted just one dinner party and every last square was gone. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      AWESOME! I need to use up a bunch of lemons so searched. normally my husband and I are not be lemon fans but we couldn't stop eating these! The girls at my bible study loved them said they were perfect and not to sweet! I will keep this recipe for future!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (1341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    40%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 22.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites