29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is a KEEPER! The Avo butter esp. was so immensely easy and tasty, wicked smooth, and my new fave. Given the way it cuts the sat. fat it is going to be my "go to" holiday butter from here on in. Made a double batch to freeze for the upcoming festives.

I am definetly going to try the exact recipe when I have the proper ingredients on hand! Used lime, and lime zest. Olive oil, coarse dijon mustard, and Cod instead of Swordfish...rebel brat am I.

Personal P.S. I wasn't looking esp. for YOUR recipes (I still say Ree Cypes in my head; thanks for THAT!) only for good fish recipes. I was halfway through the marinade (don't tell my mom her laptop was on the kitchen counter.) when I saw Freddie Cat! A marked testament, I feel, to your contribution. How cool is that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSdaCat November 18, 2011

This has become my go-to recipe for entertaining. It is flawless and so delicious. My only comment is that the avocado butter makes too much to use for only one meal - I would cut the portion in half.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panks July 18, 2010

This was so good! Even after reading the reviews we decided to make the whole butter recipe because it was our first time making this however they were right way too much butter, next time-and there will be a next time, I will make 1/2 of the butter recipe. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar January 04, 2015

Loved this with the avocado butter. Hadn't had swordfish in a long time, it was so good marinated and grilled. Served with Mexican Kale salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 03, 2014

WOW!! made this tonight with one filet of swordfish and three chicken breasts (marinated in separate bags) I figure anything this tastes good on fish translates well to chicken. As the non fish eater in our family this is what works for us. I will be making this again for both and making this avocado butter as a staple. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heymo16 May 20, 2014

Wow. SO good. The avocado butter is to die for, and that coupled with the marinade is incredible. I want to put avocado butter on everything I eat now. Everyone here gives this 5 stars! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon July 09, 2013

This is a delicious recipe!!!! My husband says it is ****** stars!!!!! Marinade is delicious and avocado butter goes perfect with the fish. This is good enough for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon V. Holmes February 24, 2011

This was my first try of swordfish and it was fantastic. Cut the recipe down for 2 and instead of salad oil i used sesame oil as another reviewer suggested. Loved the flavor of the lemon and soy sauce and the Avocado Butter was an added pleasure. Very tasty fish. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy July 01, 2010

We loved the marinade and the avacoda butter is great on the fish and makes enough to try on other dishes, like crab cakes and lobster (great on both by the way) Seared our fish for about 3 minutes per side on a super-heated grill. Looked great, tasted fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gamtnmike May 07, 2010

I loved this dish even without the avocado butter (hubby won't eat it). The marinade didn't overpower the fish...it was just right. I let the fish defrost in the marinade and cooked it in a saute pan with a bit of butter and olive oil. Served with brown rice casserole and spinach it was a delicious meal. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagsMeals March 23, 2010
Lemon Soy Swordfish With Avocado Butter