Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Soy Swordfish With Avocado Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Soy Swordfish With Avocado Butter

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2011

      This recipe is a KEEPER! The Avo butter esp. was so immensely easy and tasty, wicked smooth, and my new fave. Given the way it cuts the sat. fat it is going to be my "go to" holiday butter from here on in. Made a double batch to freeze for the upcoming festives.

      I am definetly going to try the exact recipe when I have the proper ingredients on hand! Used lime, and lime zest. Olive oil, coarse dijon mustard, and Cod instead of Swordfish...rebel brat am I.

      Personal P.S. I wasn't looking esp. for YOUR recipes (I still say Ree Cypes in my head; thanks for THAT!) only for good fish recipes. I was halfway through the marinade (don't tell my mom her laptop was on the kitchen counter.) when I saw Freddie Cat! A marked testament, I feel, to your contribution. How cool is that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This has become my go-to recipe for entertaining. It is flawless and so delicious. My only comment is that the avocado butter makes too much to use for only one meal - I would cut the portion in half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      Loved this with the avocado butter. Hadn't had swordfish in a long time, it was so good marinated and grilled. Served with Mexican Kale salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      WOW!! made this tonight with one filet of swordfish and three chicken breasts (marinated in separate bags) I figure anything this tastes good on fish translates well to chicken. As the non fish eater in our family this is what works for us. I will be making this again for both and making this avocado butter as a staple. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Wow. SO good. The avocado butter is to die for, and that coupled with the marinade is incredible. I want to put avocado butter on everything I eat now. Everyone here gives this 5 stars! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      This is a delicious recipe!!!! My husband says it is ****** stars!!!!! Marinade is delicious and avocado butter goes perfect with the fish. This is good enough for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This was my first try of swordfish and it was fantastic. Cut the recipe down for 2 and instead of salad oil i used sesame oil as another reviewer suggested. Loved the flavor of the lemon and soy sauce and the Avocado Butter was an added pleasure. Very tasty fish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      We loved the marinade and the avacoda butter is great on the fish and makes enough to try on other dishes, like crab cakes and lobster (great on both by the way) Seared our fish for about 3 minutes per side on a super-heated grill. Looked great, tasted fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I loved this dish even without the avocado butter (hubby won't eat it). The marinade didn't overpower the fish...it was just right. I let the fish defrost in the marinade and cooked it in a saute pan with a bit of butter and olive oil. Served with brown rice casserole and spinach it was a delicious meal. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      So, this was the centerpiece to an incredible valentines dinner. The marinade and avocado butter were a perfect compliment. I Bbq the fish and basted liberally through the process. I did make a few changes based on things that i had on hand. I cut the recipe by more than half and only marinaded the fish for about 1/2 hour. i used cilantro rather than parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Fantastic recipe! It tasted like a fine-dining restaurant meal. The marinade enhanced the swordfish, didn't overpower it--came out soooo delicately delicious. I doubled the avocado in the butter recipe to make it healthier and it rocked! I grilled some asparagus along with the fish and added to butter to it too -- mmmmm, wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Excellent! So glad we tried it. The marinade is good enough to stand alone, but the avocado butter was nothing short of incredible. We also used the butter on some jasmine rice as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This is a great marinade for swordfish. I had never had swordfish before and this made a great first impression! The flavors work really well together and compliment the fish nicely. The picture I posted doesn't have the avocado butter because we forgot about it until we were almost done with the meal! Whoops! Make sure you don't substitute a tub spread for the butter--it will turn out way too salty. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Fantastic! I defrosted the swordfish in the marinade and it was sooo tender. The avocado butter was delicious and went wonderfully with both the fish and the asparagus we served it with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      How funny - I've had this excellent cookbook for 30 years, and never noticed this recipe. The fish is excellent. My family normally isn't fond of fish, but we ate this all up! A very nice blend of seasonings in the marinade. The butter was good too, but the concensus was that the fish didn't need the topping, and it wasn't worth the extra effort. Thanks for sharing - now to pull out the book and see what else I've overlooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Yum and wow! I used sesame oil as a substitution for the salad oil, and also did not use the avacado butter b/c I did not have the necessary ingredients. I look forward to trying that next time.... but the swordfish was delicious with this marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This marinade was fantastic. I did omit the lemon peel as I was using bottled lemon juice, but the lemon flavor was still present. I used the broiling method and it came out perfect. I'm not a fan of avocado so I can't speak for the butter, but the fish was delicious. My first time making (and eating) swordfish! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This was really excellent. I almost didn't make the avocado butter but glad I did as it was a nice complement. I didn't actually have any parsley so I added a small amount of fresh basil instead. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Yum! This was an excellent way to prepare swordfish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Delicious marinade! Didn't even make the butter, and it didn't need it. Compliments the fish without overpowering. We grilled these swordfish, about 8-10 minutes per side over medium heat. I poured the remaining marinade over the fish after I flipped them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Soy Swordfish With Avocado Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.4
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    71%
    Total Fat 35.5 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 120.2 mg
    40%
    Sodium 904.0 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 28.5 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes