10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a DELICIOUS! cake. I shared it with friends at the lake and everyone loved it. I made a glaze to put over the top. The juice of 2 fresh small lemons, 2 caps full of lemon extract, 2 cups confectioner sugar, 1/3c regular sugar and mixed together than drizzled over top of cake. This will be a keeper! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 19, 2009

I used butter and took it out of the oven after smelling and checking it with a toothpick, about one hour to be exact. An hour and a half would have been no bueno. Perfect recipe, just keep an eye on the baking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookee doe April 26, 2013

WOW! My entire family is in agreement that this was the best cake they've ever tasted. It was perfect! Didn't have lemon extract so i used some rind and 1/4 cup of juice. I also made a glaze out of 1/4 cup lemon juice, 4 tbsp melted butter and 2 cups confectioners sugar. Thanks so much for posting! I'm looking forward to making this often

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassandraLynne11 July 14, 2010

Best pound cake I have ever had, hands down. It made 2 big loaf sized cakes, and it froze beautifully. Also, I didn't alter from the recipe at all except the cooking time. A little over an hour was sufficient in my oven. I am making this beauty for an art sale this weekend. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StandsOnHands May 05, 2010

The only change I made, used butter and 2 tsp. lemon extract. Checked at 1 hr. and it was really done. Had a good taste but oh so dry. With all the great reviews, guess I did something wrong. Probley my Dacor oven, hate that thing LOL. Thanks, tgirl for the post. may try again at a shorter cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise October 31, 2009

This is THE most AMAZING pound cake recipe out there! I've made it twice now- once with lemon extract, and the second time with orange extract! They were both DELICIOUS! I used a bundt pan, and makes a great size cake! This has become my most requested recipe. I make a glaze to go on top (powdered sugar and lemon juice) it adds a lot! The first time I used butter, second time margarine...either one works great! I have also used lite sour cream (just happened to be what I had in the house) and regular, cant even tell a difference! Stop searching for that "famous-tasting" pound cake...this is it! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 November 27, 2008

This cake is the BEST Pound Cake! I chose this recipe because I needed to use up some sour cream and lemons before they went bad. I made a lemon glaze for this cake. I used no stick spray then sugared the bundt pan. The cake came out easily (I get nervous when I flip cakes as I have had cakes completely fall apart). This cake is super moist and amazingly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 February 01, 2008

AWESOME! A VERY DELICIOUS, MOIST SIMPLE LEMON POUND CAKE! I followed recipe exactly, (USED MARGARINE!) and it tasted OUT OF THIS WORLD!This recipe made TWO (10X5) LOAF PANS FOR ME~ PLUS left over batter! Next time, I will definitely half recipe! A KEEPER for us~ THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLuv2cook 2 January 18, 2006

I don't know what to say. This cake is soooo yummy! My husband gives it the five stars and a big thumbs up. I also used butter as we're not crazy about margarine. I'm so glad I check the pics thread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama April 04, 2005

YUM says it all! This pound cake is like sunshine and summertime in one bite! It is so light and lemony, tingles the tastebuds! I made one medium loaf cake and 4 small ones from one recipe! DH really loved it and I brought the medium loaf to work and all the co-workers praised it highly! I used butter instead of margarine, but other than that prepared it as directed! This is definitely a winner! Thanks TGirl, RN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail April 04, 2005
Lemon Sour Cream Pound Cake