26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice cookie.. easy to make and tasty, too. Thanks for posting. I'm going to add it to my cookie file. I used the fresh lemon juice and the zest of one lemon. I left some of the cookies plain..and some of them I put 2 chocolate chips on the middle of the cookie as soon as they came out of the oven. Then when the chips melted I spread the chocolate down the middle.. It sure saved melting and dipping!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge May 13, 2002

I like this recipie but I found the cookies were much better when I changed up some things. I would use 3 tsp lemon juice (extract or just zest don't have that needed acid note) an additional tsp vanilla and a 1/4 tsp nutmeg & salt to round out the flavor. I also rolled out the dough to 1/3 inch thick square and cut out the cookies. Make sure to space them out because the spread a bit more. A dusting of powdered sugar or lemon glaze is really required to make these cookies 5 star material.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingWithKerr March 14, 2009

My family and I really loved this recipe. I too increased the lemon zest as well as added a bit more lemon juice, a bit of lemon oil and even a bit of vanilla extract. They came out incredible; very lemony and the bit of vanilla extract gave them a...richer flavor. Definately something I will make over and over again. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LanyceSuddeth January 01, 2009

I used the zest of 4 medium/large lemons and these came out perfectly lemony. I did use the fresh lemon juice and not the extract. They were crisp and buttery just like shortbread should be. Just the right amount of sweetness. Our family absolutely loved them. Thanks for such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koryshar May 26, 2008

WWWOOOWWW!!! DEFINATELY A KEEPER. These cookies were so great that I ate 4 as they came out. I did add an extra teaspoon of lemon juice because when i tasted the dough it wasnt tangy enough for me. I am a lemon lover. I loved these. I ate them plain but my next batch I will add the powdered sugar on top. THANK YOU SOOOO much for this recipe. Its to die for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms.Liza January 17, 2004

Made your lemon shortbread cookies the other day, and they are great! Wonderful flavor and very easy to make. I wasn't sure about the amount of lemon zest to add, so I used 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice, and 3 teaspoons of zest....think next time I'll use 4 teaspoons of zest. Like Susan, I made a powdered sugar & lemon juice frosting, which I drizzled down the length of the cookie in a zig-zag pattern. They looked soooo pretty! Some I sprinkled lightly with powdered sugar, the rest I left plain. They will definitely become a permanent addition to my holiday cookie tray!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 December 23, 2002

Easy and delicious. I made a lemon buttercream filling and made sandwiches out of them, which were great! They were scrumptious by themselves, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdrienneMac March 09, 2014

Delicious, easy, and just the right amount for two people! Appreciate the kind person who posted what the resident lemon-lover puts right at the top of his favorite cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Carolyn H. December 13, 2012

Excellent recipe! I suggest sprinkling them with cardamom, nice twist. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sartreana November 26, 2009

3/24/06 I'm not sure what I did wrong. The texture was too gummy and doughy, as opposed to flaky or crumbly which I normally think shortbread should be. Also, even though I added extra lemon juice, the flavor was very muted and didn't really come through. However, given the success that people have had with this recipe, I will try it again and re-review it. *EDIT* 12/6/08 The first time I made this recipe I was a novice, so I made the mistake of making the cookies too big and therefore they did not cook up properly. This second time the texture was perfect, however I still had the same issue with the muted flavor. I really want a very lemony cookie, and as written this recipe is not it. I'm going to try it a third time, this time using lemon extract and more of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoydaP December 07, 2008
Lemon Shortbread Cookies