Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2004

      We liked these very much. They do have a melt-in-your-mouth texture, which I love - and I'm a sucker for lemon in anything and loved the light lemony taste in these. I made cookie sandwiches with some of these, filling with raspberry jam, and that was delicious, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      I love this type of cookie! So tender! Mine did crumble a bit, but hey, that's what napkins are for. lol Such a good flavor, and so easy to make. I put these in my Christmas Cookie basket this year. Made for KK's 24 Days of Cookies event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      These were definitely melt in your mouth! A very good cookie with a pretty strong lemon flavor. I didn't do cookie cutters but rather just rolled the dough into a log and cut. I think my dough was far to sticky to actually roll out anyways. Made very flat cookie, but they were still good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      wow! spectacular. i didn't think i was much of a lemon cookie person but these set me straight! the texture is definitely melt in your mouth ad the smell of the dough was intoxicating! i used a gluten-free flour, so was unable to roll, just dropped dough down and patted into 1/4 thickness, which worked just fine, they baked up perfectly flat and round. so easy! thanks derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      These were melt in your mouth GOOD! I mixed everything together, and following another reviewer's suggestion, I added the juice from 1 lemon (2 tbsp.) to expedite mixing. I then rolled mine in a log, and put it in the fridge, to chill. I baked for 20 minutes, and used my sil-pats, for ease of removal. I may have sliced mine a bit thin, as my yield was closer to 50, but more cookies is NOT a problem :D ! These were so tender; I think they would be perfect with a dab of lemon curd, or even some raspberry jam! Thanks so much for sharing, Derf! Made for Fall PAC '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Gorgeously lemony and definitely melt in the mouth. I made these after a rather traumatic job interview. Working the dough did the trick to calm me down, and the bright flavour perked me right up. Had some trouble getting my cut out cookies off the worksurface, so changed technique and rolled the dough into cylinders, zapped them in the freezer, then sliced the firm dough thinly. Sprinkled them with a little caster sugar before baking, just for a little sparkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Wow, they were really short and lemony and buttery. I followed Mascha's example and added lemon juice. Very delicious. I have a problem - very crumbly. Could it be the juice I added? I don't know but as I will be baking this recipe very often I will find out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I was craving cookies but didn't want to make a huge batch. I changed the number to 10 cookies. I changed the recipe a little, I used the rind of an entire lemon, plus the dough was very hard to form a ball with so I added the juice of half the lemon. I also didn't have powdered sugar so I used regular white sugar. They came out AMAZIG lemony!!!! LOVE them. Will make this more often! Btw, it turned out to be more like 20 cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      These are little gems! What a wonderful, subtle lemon flavour! I just loved these....only problem is that I only made 1 batch....sure wish I had doubled the recipe ! Thanks so much....I've added these to my Christmas cookie tray !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      AFter reading the prior reviews, I knew I had to try these!! Everyone mentioned 'melt in your mouth' and that's exactly what I was looking for! I used an addtitional tbls of lime zest (along with the 2 tbls lemon zest) What a lovely shortbread! They aren't too sweet, it's just how we like them! Thank you Derf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      Hey there Derf! I made these yesterday and even added a bit of lemon extract but still really couldnt taste the lemon. They DO melt in your mouth though and my son liked them so that makes them OK by me and earns them an extra star! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      These were okay. I tried it with poppyseeds. The texture was good- really melts in your mouth. However I didn't like lemon flavor. It wasn't very clean tasting and had a strange aftertaste. I don't really know how to describe it any better. Overall, it would be fine in an assortment of different cookies but I wouldn't serve them alone. Just not that fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 59.9
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    58%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 27.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites