18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hi Domestic Goddess, made your lemon cake this weekend, it was simply too yummy, very moist and very lemony, I took Theresa's advice, and added lemon rind (lot's of it), probably the rind of one half of a lemon, then I squeezed about 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice into the batter...it was delicious, I took it over to a get-together this weekend, and I believe that there was nothing left, everyone just loved it, the frosting was great also. Thanks so much Goddess for posting such a wonderful cake recipe, I will be making this again....KC :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 19, 2004

I took Christy's advice and used the Luscious Lemon Frosting (#54666) instead. What a great combination! The cake was so moist and delicious, and the frosting was just the perfect touch. I, too, added some fresh lemon zest and juice to the cake. If you're a lemon lover, this recipe will not disappoint. I will be making this one again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beaner #2 March 27, 2010

We are a family of lemon lovers so you can imagine how this cake went over. Compliments to the chef - it's wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NannyMarvel October 07, 2006

This made a nice moist cake that had nice flavor with the cream cheese icing . I will be adding some lemon rind to the icing next time I try this recipe , to boost the sunny lemon taste ! Thanks .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P September 13, 2003

this cake had a wonderful flavor, and the icing was delish...the only prob i had with it (and i'm sure it was me as nobody else had this problem) was that i couldn't get the icing to firm up...even after being in the fridge overnight. i'm still giving it 5 stars tho because regardless, the flavor was outstanding!! i too added lemon zest and fresh juice to both the cake and the icing...also couldn't find the lemon pie filling, but i ended up making a small package of lemon instant pudding and adding that to the mix...it was flavorful and moist. i'll definitely make this cake again...except i'll use butter instead of margarine...maybe that was the problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancy-pants January 17, 2010

Wow! I wish I could give this recipe MORE stars! I made this for a church dinner and it was the ONLY cake that was gone at the end!! I made the cake as directed, but did add a bit of fresh lemon juice and baked for a bit longer, as it didn't seem quite done in the center at 20 minutes. For the frosting, I used **POPPY**'s Luscious Lemon Frosting as written. This was the most wonderful combo!!! It was so dense and moist with an abundance of lemon tang! For lemon lovers, I suggest replacing the vanilla extract with fresh lemon juice or lemon extract. I made this as a sheet cake and it was puuurrrrfect!!!!! Thanks for a terrific recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy Sowers April 30, 2009

This was excellent. I added a few drops of fresh lemon juice to the cake batter and I also added about 1 tsp. of lemon juice to the frosting. I did what another reviewer did, I added lemon rind to the frosting and it made it even more special. Baked it in a 9x13 pyrex for 30 minutes at 350. Perfect!!! I've made it again and I wanted to add that I, too, couldn't find the 22 oz can of lemon pie filling, I could only find the brand "Comstock" and the can was 15 1/2 oz. Also, I bake it in a 13x9x2 glass pyrex as thats what I have! Cake batter is quite thick but I do add more like 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice to it and it works out just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover April 26, 2009

Well, I followed the recipe exactly. I should've paid more attention to the previous reviewer (quikgourmet) and added the oil and water indicated on the cake mix box. The finished cake made with only the mix, eggs, and pie filling is dense and dry. The icing is terrific! I added some lemon juice and doubled the vanilla. It's a wonderful consistancy, and the recipe made the perfect amount for the cake. It also spreads beautifully! I'll try the cake again in the future with the oil and water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessezigg March 10, 2009

I couldn't find Lemon Pie filling (clue me in, everyone, if you know where to buy this as I'd love to try the recipe with it!) so I used 1 small package of lemon instant pudding and pie filling mix, 1 cup water, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, and the 4 eggs. I baked it in a 13x9 pan for 25 minutes. What I loved about this cake is the icing. Absolutely delicious! A delightfully refreshing dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quikgourmet October 19, 2008

Absolutely delicious!!! Very easy. Perfect to serve company. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. M May 03, 2008
Lemon Sheet Cake