12 Reviews

I had been searching for such a sauce since the heb chineese kitchen in my neighborhood closed. I followed it exactly and it was AWESOME!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azrapsej June 22, 2013

This was so good that I had to hunt down my password just to post this review! It was much brighter than the sauce at my local restaurant, and not so sickeningly sweet. I took the advice of a reviewer and added a slice of ginger. Also, I made this in the microwave, and it still turned out great! Now I need something else to spoon it over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SACOOK February 01, 2014

The sauce as made lacked the depth of flavor I was looking for. I added an 1/8tsp of black pepper, and 1/4tsb each of ground garlic, ginger, and parsley flakes. It really turned this basic sauce into something spectacular. Switch out the ginger for dill and this would go great with fish. Next time I'll try adding a pinch of cayenne pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JayDubWill March 20, 2013

Yum, this is a great lemon sauce. I love the Chinese lemon chicken and I had some pre-breaded chicken breasts to use up so I decided to try to make some. This sauce worked great! It is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks so much for the tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnpj January 17, 2009

I made this to go with last night's leftover chicken. I used splenda instead of sugar. DH didn't really like dinner last night but with a little rice and this sauce, he gave it five stars. Thanks...we'll be using this with other recipes in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 June 08, 2006

Great lemon sauce - just like in the Chinese restaurant down the street. I have made this twice now and I really like the use of chicken broth instead of just water. It adds more depth and somehow eliminates the syrupy taste that some lemon sauces have. We served this with chicken and stir-fried baby bok choy both times and it was wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha April 19, 2005

This sauce was so good, my 2 teenage daughters, my 2 year old son & my husband all adored it! A rarity in our house. I served it over a sliced chicken escalope laid on a bed of fried vegetable rice. It was very quick & easy to prepare. I did add a tiny slice of grated ginger whilst cooking....delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stirring4theluvofit September 11, 2014

Very good! Just what I was looking to make for my Chinese fried chicken. I didn't follow exactly (never do) ...I didn't have lemons or zest so I subbed it with lemon juice from fridge and guesstimated measurements. Also added a drop of yellow food coloring. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebjustice February 17, 2012

This was easy and quick. Worked just fine for our smoked chicken breast. Added flavor to corn as well. Will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lakotamoon1 August 10, 2011

Yu-cky! This sauce was reminicent of the junk I had to drink for my colonoscopy. It was too thick, not flavorful enough, and generally not good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missdye September 14, 2009
Lemon Sauce for Chicken