10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful combination of flavors for a roasted chicken. We brined a whole, 7-lb chicken, and roasted it for about 1 hour, 15 minutes, and it was absolutely to die for (as was the chicken stock we made from the bones). Made the recipe exactly as directed, and it was absolutely superb. We'll make this often - thanks, Barb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette October 20, 2003

An excellent recipe for chicken breast. The lemon slices and skin keep the meat moist. The lemon and sage are a wonderful compliment to the flavor of the meat. I used the rubbed sage as it was what I had. Served with garlic green beans, this was a delicious meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta February 03, 2003

Great recipe! The chicken was tender and full of flavor. I took the recommendation of another reviewer, and cooked for 30 minutes at 400, then 45 minutes longer at 350. I also put the chopped garlic under the skin, along with the sage and lemon. Definately a keeper for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sugar Dumplin October 04, 2006

Delicious garlic flavor and juicy chicken. I, too, used a whole chicken and inserted garlic slices into slits in the flesh since we don't eat the skin. The lemon flavor did permeate the flesh just by laying the slices between the skin and flesh. Next time I'll add more sage - I used small leaves and it could have been more strongly flavored. I didn't make the sauce as the pan juices from a whole chicken were quite greasy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea June 10, 2006

Was the best roast chicken I've even cooked! Made with a whole chicken instead, and drizzled oil on top of the chicken using it to rub the garlic over the skin. Also cooked at 410 degrees (210C)for the first 1/2 hr, then redueced to 350 (180C) for another 45 mins or so, with the breast down for the first 15 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
businesswriter2000 November 17, 2005

Made this with a whole chicken cut up and it was moist and tender with a lovely fragrance and taste. I have lots of sage in the garden now and added more than called for in the recipe. An extra clove of garlic for good measure as well. A real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni October 17, 2004

Although this recipe was really easy and the flavor was great, the chicken wasn't as tender as I like. I also thickened the juice in the end and it made fantastic gravy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzi from Jersey October 11, 2004

I really loved this flavor combination. I used 3 very large, whole cloves of garlic and next time, might add another! I will be trying this on a whole roasted chicken as well. I did add salt & pepper and I also added paprika for a little bit of color. I used fresh sage from the garden and served with rice. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! August 16, 2004

This was excellent. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, so I just put the lemon and sage on top instead of under the skin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy August 10, 2004

Absolutely delish! I love the combo of garlic and lemon. We used chicken parts and placed the sage leaves and lemon slices on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay March 05, 2004
Lemon, Sage and Garlic Roast Chicken