65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first attempt at risotto and it turned out delicious. Everyone at the table of 8 enjoyed it. It takes a lot of attention, so I would not recommend trying to make this while you are making anything else that requires your attention or make sure you have a good helper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Bowman December 18, 2010

This was really good! Like some other reviewers, next time I wouldn't use so much parmesan - it overpowered the lemon. I used all chicken broth with no water and it did take me about 45 minutes over the stove to finish, but totally worth it! Served it with roast chicken and a salad...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl September 04, 2011

Sooooo good! I love risotto and this was great! I didn't put in the lemon zest because my lemons skin didn't look good, but it was lemony enough without it. I also couldn't help myself and put some garlic in ! I'd make this again. I served with fish but it would be good with chicken too. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 09, 2003

This risotto has two benefits over other recipes I've tried: it doesn't call for wine and water is added as a last resort. The chicken stock is fully absorbed before you add any water, if it's needed at all. Very flavourful and a big hit at my table!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Lester Mulridge December 03, 2012

This was my first attempt at making risotto. It was quite delicious and even my picky brother in law enjoyed it! I will reiterate what others have said: it takes a while to make and a lot of attention. My risotto took closer to 45 minutes to cook, not the 20 stated here. Additionally, I only used 1 cup of water, not the 2 in the recipe. I would definitely make it again. I served it with the Lemon Panko Crusted Scrod recipe on this website and the risotto complimented it very nicely!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacqui2584 September 10, 2012

My first risotto, cooked this to have with a breaded white fish. Great flavour and easy to cook, although yes it does take some time. Will definitely make this again. I omitted the parmesan after reading the reviews and deciding I just wanted the lemon taste rather than cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna in the Philippines November 09, 2011

Great recipe. I tried it for a dinner party, I had made a lamb dish and a chicken dish and wanted a light but flavorful rice that could accompany it. This was really really good. I doubled the recipe, I had 8 adults and it was the perfect amount. I don't know that I used all the water, I did go through 4 cups of broth (double recipe) but I lost count with the water. I just kept adding until the rice was cooked through. I liked the parmesan, don't know if I would add that next time though, made it a little too cheesy. LOVED the lemon flavor. The nice thing about it is that it is very versatile, you can add chunks of chicken to this and some mixed veggies and it would be delicious. It did take a while since I doubled my recipe, almost an hour of literally standing over the rice and stirring, etc. I would highly recommend this. If you've never tried to make risotto this is a great starting point.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hamm561011 August 26, 2010

Great recipe! I was glad to find a risotto recipe that didn't call for wine, as I don't often cook with it. I did not put any lemon zest in mine, as I wanted a more subtle lemon flavor. Instead, I doubled the fresh lemon juice. I also didn't end up needing the second cup of water or salt (the broth and parmesan added enough saltiness). I probably only ended up using half a cup (at the most) of cheese (it was a parmesan cheese blend), and that was plenty. I served this with salmon baked with lemon juice, garlic and fennel, so instead of the parsley, I put in some chopped up fennel fronds. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma November 10, 2009

This was very good. It takes a while to make, but it is well worth the time. Slow cooking is the answer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat McCardle September 18, 2003

This was outstanding. I have no idea how much water I used, or how long the risotto cooked--I just kept stirring it and adding water until it was done. Also, I only used the parmesan as a garnish--this risotto doesn't need much cheese at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman March 07, 2014
Lemon Risotto