8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed these light, tender and oh so flavorful pancakes Maito. They were quick and easy to make with terrific results. I made them exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. They were so good. Made FYC Tag Game 2015.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 14, 2015

Wow! What a treat! These were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly with 2 exceptions - I used milk and lemon juice instead of buttermilk (a common substitution), and I used real butter instead of margarine (I couldn't resist!). I topped my pancakes with some homemade strawberry rhubarb jam I had in the fridge, and my husband used maple syrup. We both absolutely LOVED these!! Thank you so much Maito!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 January 04, 2009

Very, very nice pancakes! I like eveything about these tasty treats! The taste provided by the cheese, sour cream & buttermilk is wonderful! I served them with a choice of syrup or curd, but I much preferred the flavor of the lemon curd! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 11, 2008

This recipe made it into our Book #179627. I have always heard of pancakes with ricotta, but never had them until this. Wow, these are so light, yummy, and full of flavor. I said I'de be making these quite often, and have. I made them again as my first meal of 2008 and this time garnished them with orange slices and warm maple syrup. Thanks again Maito!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu January 02, 2008

Mmmm...these are worth the extra work! The beaten egg whites make them SO fluffy! I omitted the butter all together and used fat free ricotta and these still tasted FANTASTIC, delicate like a refined crepe in pancake's clothing; though they are light, they are plentiful and the recipe could serve 4-5 people. Using fat free lemon cooking spray and a few drops of lemon oil in addition to the zest, mine had a fantastic lemon flavor and I complemented it with fresh blueberries smashed and melted in a saucepan until they became like a syrup...no sugar needed. The flavors were so good together. Thanks Maito!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen November 10, 2007

oh my...these are at LEAST as good as the original, and i actually prefer this one. Maito you deserve a day at the spa for lightning these :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba October 27, 2007

I've never been a fan of pancakes and have never made them before, but decided to make these for brunch today. I followed the recipe exactly. They were more work than I expected, but were absolutely awesome. So light & tasty, but very filling. We had these with ~Leslie~'s home made maple syrup for a fantastic meal. Thanks Maito for sharing this winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl April 24, 2010

Well, I totally jacked up this recipe, so I don't want to rate it. I accidentally put 1.5 cups of milk instead of 0.75...whoops. Anyway, I didn't realize this until I got around to actually making the pancakes and the first batch was horrible. (oddly they weren't soupy like you would think with all that extra milk, they were too fluffy - I guess I didn't want to deflate those egg whites) So, I had this huge bowl of batter and I was MAD about how crappily this was going; undeterred, I added another handful of flour and stirred down the egg whites a little. The second batch was much better...the third batch was GOLD. OMG Maito - amazing. So, I imagine I would give these about 8 stars if I actually made them correctly. Thank you so much. I will make again and again. EDIT: I had leftovers (this does make a LOT) and left it in the fridge overnight. Was still great the next day. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea January 15, 2009
Lemon, Ricotta and Sour Cream Pancakes (Light Version)