Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Rice With Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Rice With Herbs

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2003

      Chia, this rice is sooooo good, loved the flavors of the herbs and lemon zest. Adding to our delicious recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      Another excellent rice dish that paired very well with salmon & broccoli! I followed the instructions exactly - other than scaling for 2 people & it was ready in 15 minutes. Thanx Chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      This was excellent! I made this as a sidedish for a vip dinner of leg of lamb with garlic & rosemary, balsamic green beans (#60855), Mediterranean vegetables(#24235), and cheese bread(#58496) and plain white rice for my son. Thank you Chia for 2 of these recipes for a most impressive dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      What an amazingly tasty dish! "More-ish" is what we call this...we just want more and more! Didn't have mint on hand. Loved the flavour combination of lemon and cilantro.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      Very, very good. It took me much less time to cook this than indicated, only about 15 minutes for the rice to become tender. I adjusted the herbs to what I had on hand, using fresh chives, thyme and parsley. I particularly liked the nice yellow colour the chicken stock gave the rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      We really liked this rice Chia! I used fresh chives and mint and left off the parsley, cilantro, and marjoram. (Just didn't have them). Served with grilled vegetables and bbq'ed chicken thighs. What a great meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was very good. I served it with chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, basil, and sun-dried tomato and I thought the lemon flavour complemented the chicken really nicely. I used brown basmati rice and of course increased the cooking time. For herbs I used parsley. marjoram, and thyme. I used 5 cloves of garlic, and unlike other reviewers I thought that was about right. 12 would be too many for me, I think, and I love garlic. I may have added extra lemon juice and zest (didn't measure) and it was very lemon-y. A little less might have been better, but you couldn't accuse the dish of being whimpy (which I think many rice dishes are!) This recipe will definitely go in the "make again" file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Very tasteful!!!, first time making it, i used 8 garlic cloves, I also added a little of butter at the end. There will be definitly a next time, although this time i;m using the 12 garlic cloves, THX for this easy and great recipe 5 STARZ!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Real fresh and tastes good with fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Excellent rice dish, chia. I was a wimp and only used 5 cloves of garlic. Next time, I will go full throttle and use the 12. The flavor was refreshing and pleasantly lemony. I served this with fish and thought that was a nice pairing. My kids and husband thought it was delicious too. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Oh!!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could. Everybody has GOT to try this one. YUUUMMMs. The first time I cooked it as is, the second time I added butter to the process cause I luv butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      A refreshing rice dish. To make this vegetarian I used veggie broth for the chicken. Stirring in the fresh herbs last minute for me at least makes the rice taste better and fresher than if the herbs were added in before cooking. I didn't measure any of the herb ingredients rather snipped off a handful of herbs including mint, thyme, tarragon, cilantro, marjoram, lovage, oregano and fresh basil. A subtle lemon juice flavor although next time I might add more lemon juice. I realized I forgot to add the lemon zest! Thanks CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I subbed fresh oregano for the marjoram, and was afraid to add more than 6 cloves of garlic, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I served this with a fish recipe, and the lemon flavor was perfect. It wasn't too garlicky, and next time, I'll go for the full 12 cloves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      This was a very tasty dish. It was simple to prepare and had alot of flavor. I didn't have marjarom , so I subbed with oregano. Since it was just DH and myself I cut the recipe in half and it worked fine. It's a nice change of pace side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Delicious! I really enjoyed it, but like the others, I had to make a few changes to the recipe. Sadly, I forgot to downsize it and my husband and I will be eating it for quite a while! lol Seriously, very good flavour and interesting mixture of herbs. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Wow, what a fantastic recipe you got here!! Made this for lunch this afternoon and my family and our friends enjoyed it to the last grain. Not a grain remained!! My picky eater bro. too said that this must be a regular on our table;) I did substitute the chicken stock with 'Maggi vegetable broth with onions' that I prepared by dissolving 2 cubes of the same in 4 cups of water and brought it to boil, then used as stated in the recipe. I did not have cilantro or parsley at home, unfortunately, so I used fresh corriander leaves and fresh celery instead. I used oregano(dried) for marjoram(as when I clicked on "marjoram", Zaar said that it's actually oregano! I was thrilled to read that because I had oregano on hand). My house is smelling of garlic from one end to the other, and mmm, boy it smells incredible! I did not use any salt(as broth contains salt already) or pepper. This rice "has to" be served hot to be enjoyed best. I "love" the taste of the garlic and oregano the most in this. "It is a meal on its own and a great one at that" is what my family and our guests commented. A definite keeper! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Rice With Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 267.4
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    24%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 178.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites