8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is really good and it smells and taste good too love it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roopali October 05, 2006

I love this recipe!! It is dilicious and healthy (because of the daals) and the lemon rinds is what does the trick.It looks pretty and adds flavor.This is different from the traditional recipe and I am definately sticking with this one!!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenchef March 24, 2006

Been meaning to make this for an Indian dinner forever, and finally got around to it. I served it with SueL's Palak Paneer and it went so well I think I may just fall in love with Indian food. Loved the contrasty texture of the lentils with the rice and amazing flavor too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeTsarina September 28, 2005

Sorry for giving a low rating among all the 5 stars, but this did not go down well with my family. It was a variation of the usual lemon rice, but was not that good as I expected it to be. Neither did it gain much of an approval from my BF. Will not be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sangeetha September 27, 2005

Absolutely delicious! I made a couple of slight changes: I didn't have any Masoor dal, so I substituted Moong dal. I didn't bother soaking either the Moong or the Channa dal, and found that they became soft and tender after simmering 20 to 25 minutes.I was out of cashew nuts so I tossed in some roasted flaked almonds instead. I added the finely grated zest of one of the lemons, and strips of the rind of the other. Finely, I used ghee rather than butter. This was one of the tastiest rice dishes I have ever eaten, and it won't be long before I cook it again. I served it with South Indian Vegetable Korma (which I am posting), and they complemented each other perfectly. Keep the recipes coming Varsha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream May 24, 2005

Varsha this rice recipe was delicious and easy - as you said, don't be out off ny the list of ingredients as the recipe is actually very simple to put together. I'll definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba May 16, 2005

WOW! I made this for lunch today and it is the best lemon rice I've had in my life! Your proportions and instructions were absolutely perfect. This is the first time I've made lemon rice with dal and lemon rind and it was really flavorful - cannot go back to using just lemon juice again! The color of this dish is wonderfully enticing and the dry spices made it so delicately fragrant and aromatic. I can't wait to make it again soon and invite some friends over! Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
199949 March 03, 2005

I had my eye set on this recipe since the last 10 days or so, but for some reason I couldn't give it a try, until this afternoon. Why do I have to give this recipe only 5 stars? Why not the whole cosmos of stars!?! This is just so so good that words fail me to describe how much I have relished every spoonful of this today. I halved this recipe, made it and had it for lunch this afternoon. It was OUT OF THE WORLD! Your instructions for the recipe are perfect, and you are right that it is alot simpler to make than what it appears to be. This rice had the prettiest lemon colour that I have ever seen and when garnished with fresh green corriander leaves and served alongside Indian Cabbage And Carrots{recipe 84445}, it was sooooo pretty that I think I overate some;-). LOL..But, it was just great to finally be able to try this and I want to thank you for sharing this on Zaar. The only one suggestion I thought I should post is that the chef should garnish the rice either with parsley{fresh} or fresh corriander leaves, NOT WITH BOTH because then that would make the rice too over-flavourful, IMO. The lemon juice simply makes this rice such a delight to dig into! I think that this rice would make a nice dish to take to a picnic party or as a snack to work/college/school. Thank you ever so much for the best lunch that I've had in a long long time:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani May 28, 2004
Lemon Rice with Dals