107 Reviews

I actually have just made this a second time exactly as written. I love lemon. For some reason, this recipe just doesn't do it for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriannryland February 21, 2010

I think this recipe totally depends on the type of rice you use. I used a short grain rice (as that was what I had on hand) and the rice came out a little sticky (my bad!!) We loved the flavor, so I would do this rice again....with the proper rice. I cut the recipe in half as it was just my DH and myself, but one thing that I really liked was that you can get the ingredients together before cooking and have it ready for when you need it...cutting down on precious last minute cooking. Thanks for the posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl February 05, 2010

Wonderful flavor. I made this rice to serve with salmon, and it is the perfect accompaniment to seafood/fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn January 31, 2010

Very tasty! Next time I think I'll use just 1/8 of the zest as I felt the lemon flavor was just a touch too strong when I used 1/4 teaspoon. Thank you for this easy, light side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mid-Mo Bakerette December 23, 2009

Very nice variation to plain ol' rice. We loved the addition of the lemon pepper but we cut it back abit so it didn't compete with the main dish we were serving. Quick, easy & tasty recipe worthy of 5 stars. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 November 30, 2009

This is now my standby recipe to use as a side dish with fish. I love it! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajboyer222 October 25, 2009

The only thing I liked it with was fish. The lemon taste was too overpowering, even though I love lemon. Maybe the combination of rice and lemon was not for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia October 15, 2009

I have made this several times and enjoyed it every time. I make it with brown basmati rice and this last time, I added a couple tablespoons of slivered almonds which added crunch. A great, reliable side dish. I served it with greek seasoned, grilled chicken breasts this last time but it goes with chicken well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ October 03, 2009

My family absolutely LOVES this rice. It is easy and delicious. It pairs well with pretty much any meal. The lemon flavor is not overpowering at all. I cant even remember the last time we had plain white rice! Awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanne1218 September 27, 2009

First of all I want to say that I think one star reviews are really unfair. If you don't like a recipe that so many others enjoyed, it's got nothing to do with the recipe, it's just that it's not right for your palette. Having said that, we thought this rice was really good. I did cut back a bit on the lemon because the fish I was serving it with had a lot of lemon in it already, so the result was quite mild. I added a little salt and with a little steamed asparagus it was a perfect side dish for the very tangy rock cod we had with it. Thanks for posting! I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GiddyUpGo September 15, 2009
Lemon Rice