14 Reviews

I made these in the crock pot as posted, and loved the way they held together cooked that way. The presentation is beautiful. But the flavors didn't really get into the potato because of the skin, and I think it might enhance the taste of the potatoes to dice them up before pouring the butter on them. Next time I'll try that. Served these with fish and they were thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 28, 2010

I didn't know what it meant to cut a strip of peel from the middle, now looking at the other photos I know. I just cut through the middle of the potato for the knife to appear at the other end. I thought this will allow the dressing to soak through, didn't really matter as it tasted wonderful. We all really enjoyed this recipe and will be making it again. Thank you weekend cooker.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer January 09, 2011

These were really creamy and cooked well, I didn't know potatoes would turn out so well in a crockpot!! I used dried chives and parsley and added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. The lemon is a nice addition that does not overpower the potatoes. Made for Everyday Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 22, 2010

Just loved these potatoes!! Great combination of lemon and butter flavors along with the slight onion flavor from the chives. I only made it to serve one, I also cooked the potatoes (2 of them) in the microwave on high for 3 minutes and then let them rest(still covered) for several minutes. I then added the butter, lemon, salt and pepper and sprinkled on the chives. I served it with 1/4 of a rotisserie for a great lunch. Made for Went to the Market Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 03, 2010

Very tasty, the lemon makes them. Like another reviewer, I made these in the microwave. We chopped them before tossing with the dressing so it would be well absorbed, and it worked very well. I used Meyer lemons from our tree, 2-3 times the amount after reading the reviews, and thought it was the right amount. And then just sprinkled on the salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 12, 2013

Cut this recipe in half for just the 2 of us, then followed the recipe right on down, & we had wonderfully tasty potatoes, along with a few leftover for snacks! Another time I'll definitely make the whole batch, because we thoroughly enjoyed them the 2nd time around! Thanks for posting another great recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 19, 2011

This is a fabulous recipe and the way I have always prepared my red potatoes. The potatoes are always tender and flavor perfect. Very simple and a compliment to just about any meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev August 22, 2011

Great dish! I love how tender the potatoes became and the butter/lemon/parsley/chive flavors really complimented. Thanks, weekend cooker! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees May 06, 2011

Wonderful recipe. I loved the fact that they cook on their own with no need to keep watch. Like Mikekey and BakinBaby said, this will be a great RV recipe. It's a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 29, 2011

Great recipe! Loved doing these in the small crockpot, which meant not having to use a burner. Also, the low-water, slow cooking keeps the skins from falling off. The lemon is subtle, and I think I might add some lemon juice to the cooking water also, just to add a bit more zing. And as stated by BakinBaby, this will be great for use in the RV. Thanks, Doug, for this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here April 24, 2011
Lemon Red Potatoes