11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful! I have been making this same exact recipe for years and it is a family favorite. I have successfully substituted yogurt, buttermilk or milk for the half-n-half in this, depending upon what I had on hand at the time. I always keep a bag of frozen raspberries in the freezer specifically to make these muffins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather April 15, 2003

These were so easy to put together and lovely to eat. I used the sour cream/milk combo and subbed lemon essance for lemon use. Also added a dash of vanilla essence and some chia seeds to use them up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne March 15, 2014

Delicious! Love lemon and raspberry. Made these for the freezer to pull out for quick breakfast or snack for my toddler. He likes them! I used his whole milk in place of half and half, but otherwise made as is using fresh raspberries. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 18, 2013

I was going through my recipes to see some that I could post but you already beat me to it. These are great muffins! Will make them again and again! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 26, 2009

These are phoenominal! One of my favorite muffin recipes. i sprinkled granulated sugar on top of each muffin before popping them in te oven, and it added a sweet, flaky, crisp shell topping on top. Don't fill the cups too much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elspaghetti July 01, 2009

I enjoyed these muffins and was able to successfully make them with just a couple of dietary changes for DH's lactose intolerance. I didn't have lemon extract so I didn't replace that at all. I used a soy sour cream and 2% milk and found the recipe to be WAY to thick, which may be because soy sour cream is thicker than real so I added about 1/2 cup extra milk. Tasty overall. I added only 3/4c sugar and found them to be sweet enough and added 2 cups raspberries. I'll make these again. Updated June 22/09: Now rated 5 stars. I used 1/2 cup lactose free milk and 1/2 cup water. Instead of the lemon extract I used the juice of 1/2 lemon and added the zest as well. Still super tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev June 22, 2009

This recipe was great. I made them for my daughter's brithday to serve her breakfast in bed! I used 1 c. heavy cream and omitted the oil, and they still turned out great. I also brushed the tops with butter when they came out of the oven, and then sprinkled some sugar on top. They would be great with any kind of berry. They also puffed up very nice...no flat-top muffins here. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weefaith June 03, 2006

Very good muffins, loved the lemon and raspberry flavors together. I did use fresh respberries and also the sour cream and skim milk for the half and half. Will be making this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 March 23, 2006

Made these just this morning. Used frozen raspberries, 1 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract, and sprinkled turbinado sugar on tops before baking. Good muffins, not extraordinary. The raspberries are pretty tart, I think that I'll try blueberries next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Green February 24, 2005

Easy and Tasty! Also made them with bluberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maudielou January 22, 2004
Lemon Raspberry Muffins