Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2003

      Pound cakes have always been a point of difficulty for me, but this recipe was a winner. I waited until all my ingredients were room temp and then followed the instructions carefully. I used two loaf pans and baked until a wooden skewer came out without crumbs, but not completely dry. (I started checking at about 45 minutes.) The lemon flavor is present but not overbearing, and the cake is moist and buttery. We all liked the very simple glaze. The hardest part...keeping everybody's mitts off this until it gets to overnight in the refrigerator. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This is great. I thought it would be helpful to say I baked it in one large bundt pan for 65 to 70 mins at 350. Super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Yum!!! Made this cake, just because it sounded delicious. And I was right. This turned out to be a great tasting, moist, pound cake. The lemon is not overwhelming, just enought to know its in there. I glazed one, the second one I cut in cubes and froze. But, I had to rescue it from the freezer within a day. Company came, I made a bitter sweet chocolate fondue and we dipped the cubes in the fondue. Needless to say, there were no leftovers of either version. I will make this again and soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Made this for a baby shower at work, was not let down, plate was bare when over.... Thanks MC

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This turned out fairly well. I halved the recipe, using just 2 eggs, regular milk instead of buttermilk, and a Tbsp or two of sour cream to make sure it was moist (since I didn't have buttermilk). Since there was no baking time listed in the instructions I read other reviews to get an idea. Then I read the other review that said they halved it and it didn't work out --crusty on the edges and crumbly in the middle--so I was a little worried. I baked it in a large loaf pan, for about 1 hour 20 minutes--and it probably could have used an extra 5 minutes even though the toothpick tested clean...it ended up just a tiny bit underdone but that could have also been due to the fact that I didn't give it time to cool before I cut it. Anyway, while it was baking I checked it at 35 minutes and it looked a little funky...like it wasn't rising well but the edges and part of the top were getting all brown-- so I put foil over the top for 20 minutes, then removed the foil once the cake rose a little more in the middle --then the middle browned too and it was fine. In the end it tasted good and worked for my needs. It didn't crumble either, but the edges were crunchy--if you are adding the lemon topping, I would think that would be a good thing though...then it won't get all soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I have never been successful at baking pound cakes. My mom bakes them every week from old family recipes and they are superb. I wanted to give it one last try. This Recipe was Awesome! I used slightly more lemon juice in batter for zestier taste. Baked all batter in regular pound cake pan for 2 hours. 90 mins into baking I cut a square of foil. Cut an X in the middle. Placed it over top of the round tower of the cake pan so the crust would not brown further. Removed from oven when inserted butter knife came out clean. Every year for 14 years one of my company's customers gives us pound cakes at Christmas made by a poplular bakery. After tasting my cake, all of my co-workers confirmed that this receipe was better than the one from the popular bakery. I will be making smaller versions of this for Christmas presents this year!! Thanks to all of the tips from all of the reviews listed here...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      A wonderful pound cake and can even add more lemon rind. I do not (and will not) use lemon flavoring. If you rub the lemon rind into the sugar to extract the oils it will have a more potent flavor. The finished product is a delight. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Great recipe, but it wouldn't come out of the bundt pan. I think my pan should have been a totally smooth bundt pan. I didn't want the ingredients ( my Myer lemons ) to be wasted so I basically smushed all together and refrigerated it. We just grabbed some pieces of cake and put fudge sauce over it and it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Lovely! I've become hooked on lemon pound cake from a local coffee place and wanted to make one. I made this last night for the first time and served it today to RAVE reviews. I am so pleased with it. The flavor is delicate and the texture is divine, which was of utmost importance to me. It's solid and dense yet so smooth!! Other than using regular, instead of cake, flour, I followed the recipe exactly. Will add this to my recipe box, for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was really fantastic! I made for DH's birthday and all were impressed. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      great recipe easy to follow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This turned out great for me! I made the cake in 2 9x13 sheet pans, because I was using the cake for Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake. I was able to cut the cake into blocks (layered 2 pieces to make a block) and the they were really cute (see Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake for pics!). I didn't use the glaze and the flavor was still good - light and lemony. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      My rating is for this recipe only SPLIT IN HALF to make ONE pound cake. I did not need to make 2 pound cakes but did not want to waste unused batter either. The cake came out hard crusted and the cakey middle just crumbled. I do not recommend splitting the particular recipe. I had to throw the whole thing away! I did taste some of the crumbles and it did have good flavor. Some recipes are just not good split. I am a seasoned cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      A lovely cake! Wonderful texture and easy to make! We added 1 tsp lemon extract for additional lemon flavour as previous reviewer suggested. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This cake was just amazing. It's moist with just the right flavour, and also makes great cupcakes. It kept really well (ok, it only lasted for like three days because it tasted so good) and had a really nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      This is a very tasty example of lemon pound cake. Dense and flavourful, I highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This is a perfect lemon pound cake. The lemon isn’t overpowering (in fact, I might add a bit more juice next time) and the texture after refrigeration is like velvet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Yum! A new family favorite! Amazing taste and texture - and yes, it is best refrigerated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is one of the nicest cakes Ive ever tasted, I love the texture of pound cake and with the lemon flavour this is first class. I used 2 loaf tins, refrigerated overnight iced in the morning and took away with us on a few days holiday..delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      Excellent. I used lime instead. It was sooo good. Great flavor, great texture.. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.9
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    39%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 69.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 35.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.6 g
    102%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites