Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Poppy Seed Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Poppy Seed Scones

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      This one rates 10*!!! I made these for breakfast this morning and WOWWEEEEEE! The texture is incredible and the flavor is almost unbearably good! As I sit here nibbling and waiting for the coffee to brew, it is all I can do to contain myself and not scarf the whole thing down! Thanks so much for this recipe, Bev...I have been making scones for years and they have NEVER come out like this :) P.S. Made them by hand instead of food processor, and also used salted butter and skim milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      These scones were fabulous! They were not dry like a lot of scones tend to be, but they were tender. I made these for Thanksgiving breakfast, and made them the day before serving. They do keep well. I reheated them in the oven for about 10 minutes at low temperature. Thanks very much, Bev, for sharing these wonderful breakfast scones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      Very nice! You have done my family a service by posting this. I always thought scones were somewhat fragile and had to be done by hand, which knocks them off my list - I do all my mixing in the KitchenAid. Then I saw this ... I had the courage to try it in the KitchenAid, and now I know that it can be done (I don't own a food processor). Now, not only can I make this recipe again, as I really like the lemon, I can also try other scones. Thank you, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      LOVE this recipe...served it to a group of really good cooks...they, too, loved it. I added more lemon zest, as well as more lemon juice but otherwise followed the directions. Nice to know you can use the food processor and still get tender scones. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      Delicious! DO NOT use cake & pastry flour! I did this on my first try, and while still tasty, the scones were so crumbly half the scone fell out of my hand before I could take a bite.<br/>Like some other reviewers, I did not really taste the lemon. Recommend increasing lemon juice and peel to get that flavour poppin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

    • on November 01, 2012

      This recipe is really good! Scones turn out really delicious and I highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Excellent recipe! Made just as stated and did not have to add extra fluid. They were done after exactly 25 minutes and came out golden brown, smelling heavenly. I love the poppy seeds in the dough (mostly poppy seeds are just sprinkled on top of the baked goods),
      No problem to form the dough even if I made it by hand (my food processor was "busy" with other stuff).
      All in all, a great recipe which will be made many times.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Very good. Nice lemon-y flavor and I added extra poppy seeds. I had to bake them a little longer, since I used my scone pan and it was very full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      made these for a baby shower and everyone loved them thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      These were absolutely delicious! I only put them in the oven for about 16 minutes and they still turned out fine. I also had to add milk and I topped them off with lemon glaze (3pts sugar 1pt lemon juice).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      My experience with scones are the rock hard ones I always get when I purchase them. I made these as directed and they were very soft and good. I was very pleased with the results. I had to use 1/4 C additional milk to get the dough just right. I served these with Lemon Curd Recipe 37890 also found on this site. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      These were great! I ditched the poppy seeds, and added 5 tablespoons of thawed frozen blueberries, by folding them in gently after removing the dough from the food processor. Perhaps this addition is what made my dough ball seem huge, but I divided it into TWO balls, flattened, and cut each into 8 wedges, for a total of 16. They were perfect. I let my kiddos drizzle them with a simple lemon icing, and they were all gone in two days. Will make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I made these scones almond poppy seed. I left out the lemon rind and juice and used 2 t. almond extract. These were really good and I found that you do need extra milk to make it come together. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      very good. made in my kitchen aid stand mixer and couln't have been easier. i glazed with a little powdered sugar, lemon juice, and a tiny milk. thanks for another good one bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This scone recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made these last week, and I'm going to try these again today and I can't wait until they come out of the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This is an amazing recipe! One of our family favorites now. I agree it would be good with a really light glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      very delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Will try with a lemon frosting next time. Using the food processor was an excellent idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Excellent recipe! I used to spend quite a bit of money on Whole Foods' Two Bite Lemon Poppy Seed Scones -- not anymore! These are better! The entire batch disappeared at breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Poppy Seed Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (940 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.1
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    35%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 444.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 27.4 g
    109%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes